John Barlow

Biography

John Barlow’s prize-winning fiction and non-fiction has been published by HarperCollins/William Morrow, Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 4th Estate and various others in the UK, US, Australia, Russia, Italy, Germany, Spain and Poland.

His current project is the LS9 crime series. Set in the north of England, it follows the life of John Ray, the half-Spanish son of crime boss Antonio 'Tony' Ray. The series will eventually comprise nine novels.

***

John was born in West Yorkshire, England, in 1967. He worked as a musician before studying English Literature at Cambridge University and language acquisition at Hull University. After teaching English for several years, he moved to Spain to write full-time, and has been there ever since. He is married to Susana, with whom he has two sons. They currently live in the Galician city of A Coruña.

Apart from writing fiction, he also works as a ghost writer and journalist. He has written for the Washington Post, Slate.com, Penthouse, Departures Magazine and The Big Issue, and he is currently a feature writer for the award-winning food magazine Spain Gourmetour.

***

John’s first published work, a novella, won the Paris Review’s prestigious Discovery (Plimpton) Prize in 2002. He went on to publish a collection of novellas, EATING MAMMALS, the novel INTOXICATED, set in the late nineteenth century, and EVERYTHING BUT THE SQUEAL, a food-travelogue about Spain. He then published the off-beat noir novel WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO JERRY PICCO? under the pseudonym Joe Flores, before embarking on the LS9 series, which is scheduled to take him a decade to complete.

John has also worked with the conceptual artists goldin+enneby on their ACÉPHALE project, which has so far taken him to Nassau, Bergamo, Oslo and London, and into the company of Bahamian off-shore bankers, defamation layers, prize-winning artists, and Martina Navratilova. His writing for the project has been published variously in English, Italian, Spanish, Swedish and Portuguese, and has featured at numerous art shows/galleries in the UK, the US, Canada, Brazil, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Italy.The novel HEADLESS, based on the project, is scehduled for release in 1212.

Where to find John Barlow online


Where to buy in print


Books

Un Año en Galicia
By John Barlow
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 109,960. Language: Spanish. Published: September 16, 2013. Category: Nonfiction
Un viaje gastronómico por Galicia, y 'una de las historias más divertidas y conmovedoras de la llamada nueva España'. —La Nación (Argentina)
Father and Son (John Ray #2)
By John Barlow
Series: John Ray crime-thrillers, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 79,080. Language: English. Published: September 13, 2013. Category: Fiction
Someone wants you dead. You don’t know who. Or why... John Ray is called to the scene of a violent murder. The victim is an old associate of John’s dad, local crime boss Tony Ray. There’s no obvious motive for the crime, but everybody agrees on one thing: don’t tell the police.
Islanders
By John Barlow
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 85,210. Language: English. Published: November 9, 2012. Category: Fiction
One journey can change everything — for you and everyone else. An adventure set in a war-torn dystopia.
Everything But the Squeal (new version with images)
By John Barlow
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 106,800. Language: English. Published: July 21, 2012. Category: Nonfiction
(5.00 from 1 review)
Everything But the Squeal is a fascinating exploration of a virtually unknown region of 'green' Spain. It is also one man's gastronomic love affair with that most unassuming of animals, the pig. 'A mouthwatering adventure!' (LA Times)
Hope Road (John Ray #1)
By John Barlow
Series: John Ray crime-thrillers, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 79,450. Language: English. Published: December 18, 2011. Category: Fiction
0.5 star(4.50 from 2 reviews)
You can’t change your past. But your future? John Ray finds a dead prostitute in his car and his best friend is framed for the murder. John sets out to get the real killer, but it’ll mean confronting his own criminal past, risk destroying his future, and losing the only woman he’s ever loved. Set in Leeds. #1 in LS9 crime mystery series.
What Ever Happened to Jerry Picco? (A Jack Storm Mystery)
By John Barlow
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 61,030. Language: English. Published: March 8, 2011. Category: Fiction
For fans of Carl Hiaasen, Janet Evanovich, Elmore Leonard, Lawrence Block. Jerry P, the world’s smallest porn star, has vanished, leaving heaps of debt, a crumbling career, and a screen partner with plenty reasons to see him disappear. Jack Storm, ex-Berkeley prof and sleaze-loving PI, has one clue: a Polaroid of Jerry with six other men of small-stature.

John Barlow’s tag cloud

acid test    action    actor    actress    adult fairy tale    adultery    adventure    amateur sleuth    ano en galicia    artiste    best crime thrillers    betrayal    boogie nights    british    british crime    british fiction    broad    californication    camino de santiago    caper    cerdo    childrens fiction    cocido gallego    comedy    comida    comida gallega    contemporary crime    contract killer    contract killing    cooking    counterfeit    crazy    crime    crime boss    crime fiction    crime thril    crime thriller    deception    desertion    detective    detective fiction    detective novel    divorced    divorcee    dystopian    dystopian adventure    england    espana    europe    faith    food    fun    funny    galicia    galician    galiza    gallego    gangsters    girlfriend    great britain    hippy    hipster    humor    intelligent crime novel    john barlow    kerry wilkinson    leeds    literary crime    ls9    midget    money    movie    murder    murder mystery    murder victim    mystery    noir    north california    northern england    northern noir    performer    pi    police procedural    prince    princess    private eye    quest adventure    rick stein    royal family    royalty    santiago    santiago de compostela    santiago pilgrimage religion    screwball    sleeze    sleuth    snow white    spain    spain travel guide    spanish    spanish food    spanish travel    star    suspense    thriller    thriller suspense    travel writing    travelogue    vanish    whodunit    wife    ya    yorkshire