Marlayna Glynn Brown

Publisher info

Marlayna Glynn Brown is an American author, speaker and award winning photographer. Immediately upon publication, Marlayna's first memoir, Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas, was honored by the 2013 Next Generation Indie Book Awards with an Overcoming Adversity award.

Marlayna's published journey includes Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas, City of Angeles, Big as All Hell and Half of Texas, The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown, Rest In Places: My Father's Post-Life Journey Around The World, The Scattering of All: Tales From Extraordinary Survivors of Suicide Loss and a fiction work entitled Come Back For Me.

Her articles have been featured on Huffington Post, PBS Next Avenue, Elephant Journal, The Good Men Project and many blogs, and her work has been translated into many different languages.

As an advocate for mental health and suicide awareness, Marlayna was recently honored as the featured speaker at the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention's Annual Out Of The Darkness Walk held at the Texas State Capital.

Marlayna's diverse photography includes subjects in more than 25 countries and has won awards including Best in Show at Austin's Flatbed Press Gallery Fall Gathering of Photographers, First Place in the Austin Convention Center's Austinography Photo Contest, Photo of the Day for Los Angeles Convention Center's Discover Los Angeles, Honorable Mention in the Kutoa Travel Photo contest, and runner up in both the Emergent Artist Award Contest and KL Photoawards. Her work has been exhibited at a variety of venues.

Find Marlayna's short film People That do Something, which is based on a chapter from Overlay, on Marlayna's Youtube channel.

To contact Marlayna please visit www.marlaynaglynnbrown.com.

Where to find Marlayna Glynn Brown online


Where to buy in print


Publisher of



Seven Crucial Components of a Well Designed I.U.L. (Indexed Universal Life)
By
Price: Free! Words: 4,870. Language: English. Published: January 21, 2015 by Marlayna Glynn Brown. Category: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Business finance
Is it really possible to enjoy a tax free retirement? The answer is yes - when you utilize the Indexed Universal Life vehicle. The most crucial components to consider when designing an I.U.L. program with your professional advisor include exploring Indexing Options, Cap Rates, Minimum Rates, Living Benefit Riders and the difference between death benefit Option A and B.

Books

Come Back For Me
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 64,380. Language: English. Published: March 17, 2015. Category: Fiction » Romance » Short stories
When three souls die tragically in the 34th century BC, they make a pact to reincarnate across multiple time periods to make karmic amends to each other. Meeting again and again in a variety of lifetimes, the trio seek to learn if death is truly the end of a relationship.
One Day The Invitations Will Stop Arriving
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 66,440. Language: English. Published: January 10, 2015. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
Marlayna had been a single parent for fifteen years when she felt she had nothing left of herself to give. Drained and empty, she writes, "I'd reached a point in my life where something had to give, and it could no longer be me." Selling all she owned, Glynn Brown set out on a journey to renew herself across 14 countries.
The Hand I Was Dealt
By
Price: Free! Words: 19,580. Language: English. Published: January 5, 2015. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Part One of the award-winning memoir Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas. Anyone wanting to know what it is like to navigate the minefield that is being born into a life of poverty and addiction, a task difficult enough for adults, but harder yet for children, needs to read this book. Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this tale.
The Scattering of All: Tales From Extraordinary Survivors of Suicide Loss
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 48,500. Language: English. Published: June 8, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This collection of true stories will invite you to understand the larger implications of how suicide affects others. This book poses several questions. What happens to the people left behind when someone takes their life? How do the survivors navigate the grieving process? How do they recover from such a profound trauma?
The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown
By
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 277,340. Language: English. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Three full-length novels in one compilation! Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning collection of best-selling memoirist Marlayna Glynn Brown's three tales of survival and resilience. This collection includes three of Glynn Brown's acclaimed memoirs describing her turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood, teenage and young adult years in Los An
Big As All Hell and Half of Texas
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 87,150. Language: English. Published: January 18, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Following her wildly beloved award-winning OVERLAY and CITY OF ANGELES memoirs, BIG AS ALL HELL AND HALF OF TEXAS continues Marlayna Glynn Brown's story. This final volume candidly explores the pertinent societal question: how does an ill-equipped adult child of alcoholics navigate life after a childhood fraught with abuse, scarcity and neglect?
City of Angeles
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 88,940. Language: English. Published: January 18, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Readers: Please note that the The Trilogy contains three of the author's memoirs: Overlay, City of Angeles, and Big as All Hell and Half of Texas. This middle tale follows the award-winning memoir Overlay: A Tale Of One Girl's Life In 1970s Las Vegas, as the author continues her remarkable journey in City of Angeles, revealing the underside of a life lived in 1980s Los Angeles.
Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 110,170. Language: English. Published: January 5, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Set in glamorous 1970s Las Vegas, OVERLAY is the fighting-to-come-of-age story of a resilient child born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment. Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the fallen adults entrusted with her care.

Marlayna Glynn Brown’s tag cloud

1970s culture    aca    adult child of alcoholic    alcoholism in the family    autobiographical    bereavement    child abuse neglect    childhood    children    college fund    death    depression    divorce    divorce and aftermath    divorce and children    divorce and effect    divorce and kids    divorce complications complications of marital stress divorce and health marital status and your health    divorce family relationships dysfunctional relationships codependency postdivorce healing separation marriage interpersonal relations love romance self help personal transformation    divorce memoir    divorced mothers with children    dysfunctional family    dysfunctional family relationship    dysfunctional mother father family story    europe    family    famous best popular 1970s 1980s 1990s memoir    famous best popular 1970s 1980s memoir    grief    healing    important award winning    indexed universal life    insurance    investing for high yield    iul    las vegas    loss    love    marriage    memoir    memoir adventure relationship nonfiction family    memoir childhood    memoir family    memoirs of recovery    mental illness    mental illness depression    middle age    older woman younger man    paranormal    past lives    reincarnate    reincarnation    relationship    retirement planning    retirement saving    romance    small business    suicide    surviving divorce    surviving parent alcoholic addiction neglect    tax free    teenage abuse    teenage adventure    travel adventure   

Marlayna Glynn Brown's favorite authors on Smashwords