Michael Griffith

Books

This member has not published any books.

Smashwords book reviews by Michael Griffith

  • The Fossegrimen Folly on April 25, 2012
    (no rating)
    First of, WOW. I just want to say that this a really good book. I felt that I wanted to be transported to this world and become Shy, even though he was being bullied and found something that he shouldn't have. Maybe it is just because I am a guy but I really enjoyed living through Shy this entire book, I enjoyed the comradely that was developed through the camp, and even the maturation of Shy through the novel. I think the author spent adequate amounts of time on each topic, none where ran through the mud while none left you wondering about what actually happened. Also there was just enough of the Fantasy to make this a realistic story but still have that air of a fairy tale about it. I think this will set the rest of the novels in the series up well. I truly cannot wait until the next book comes out because I want to see what happens next. Probably the only thing that I did not like about this book was Claire, she was just too stuck up for me, but I understand that there has to be that character that has their own view of how things should be done, and I think that she is done very well. I guess it is just the scenes that the author uses her in don't portray her in the best of lights. My favorite character would have to be Tad, he just seems like the cool college guy that all of the little kids look up to. He just seems like someone I would enjoy hanging around, even at the age I am now, or I would have loved to have him as a camp councilor. He really does serve as the big brother figure to Shy throughout the novel, which is needed because Shy does not seem to have a good male figure in his life until then. So I highly recommend this book, especially to guys who want to reconnect to their childhoods. This would be a great book to get guys interested in reading, at least imo.
  • The Fossegrimen Folly on April 25, 2012

    First of, WOW. I just want to say that this a really good book. I felt that I wanted to be transported to this world and become Shy, even though he was being bullied and found something that he shouldn't have. Maybe it is just because I am a guy but I really enjoyed living through Shy this entire book, I enjoyed the comradely that was developed through the camp, and even the maturation of Shy through the novel. I think the author spent adequate amounts of time on each topic, none where ran through the mud while none left you wondering about what actually happened. Also there was just enough of the Fantasy to make this a realistic story but still have that air of a fairy tale about it. I think this will set the rest of the novels in the series up well. I truly cannot wait until the next book comes out because I want to see what happens next. Probably the only thing that I did not like about this book was Claire, she was just too stuck up for me, but I understand that there has to be that character that has their own view of how things should be done, and I think that she is done very well. I guess it is just the scenes that the author uses her in don't portray her in the best of lights. My favorite character would have to be Tad, he just seems like the cool college guy that all of the little kids look up to. He just seems like someone I would enjoy hanging around, even at the age I am now, or I would have loved to have him as a camp councilor. He really does serve as the big brother figure to Shy throughout the novel, which is needed because Shy does not seem to have a good male figure in his life until then. So I highly recommend this book, especially to guys who want to reconnect to their childhoods. This would be a great book to get guys interested in reading, at least imo.
  • Angel Evolution on May 01, 2012

    If you like YA paranormal/Fantasy Romance YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK, PERIOD. But DO NOT read this book from a Christian perspective of angels and demons or you will be mad or offended. Ok now that that is out of my system. This is one of the better books I have read in a long long time. It does stars four college freshmen that are pivotal in the war between a new breed of angels and demons. No love triangles in this book folks, but there is a little bit of angst, so take it as it comes. The story is amazing, with plenty of plot twists that you see and some that you don't. I enjoy reading about each and every character present. The author utilizes different POVs very very well to get the story across, and for readers who have shorter attention spans, the longest chapter in the book is maybe 20 pages, probably more like fifteen. Just all in all a really good book for fans of Angels and Demons novels, even though they are not your typical ones. And I will say this, it isn't Fallen Angels vs Angels, and there are no Nephilim, it is pure angels versus demons. All I can say is read this book and see what you think, I believe you will be pleasantly surprised with the reading it. My favorite have to be Chris and Sam though, not because of who they are but because of their actual character. I was rooting for them since the start of the novel and I was so happy when they finally said that they loved each other. Taylor is a really good character also, she is smart and very observant, when she is able to be. The only thing I wish was different about her is that she wasn't so naive at the beginning but I think that the author did it well enough that it isn't annoying and it is done in a very realistic manner. For Gabriel, I had questions about him at the beginning, which made me question the entire novel in the first place, but it fits so well with the overall story. So again, Love this book and if you get a chance you have to read it.
  • Children of the Gods - A Chosen Novel on May 02, 2012

    This book started off a little weird but in the end I found that I didn't want it to end. The concept of the book is a little different then other things that I have read, but once I was able to understand the thoughts and who was speaking I found that the book was very very good and well written. I enjoyed the fact that there was not a heavy emphasis on the love triangle that was present at the beginning and that the author allowed her character to overcome her previous love in order to help he family survive. She then found that she does fall in love with her new "husband". I enjoyed the plot twists that occurred throughout the novel that helped keep me guessing and kept my attention wrapped in the story. I did think the author did the duality of the main character was very well done. She showed the two sides clearly, my only problem was that I was not used to the concept at the beginning but I was able to pick it up very easily. I found that I really did like Reka and Jaxson, I wanted them to be able to actually fall in love, and I wish that they were going to be able to live with each other once they realized that the love was real and not a cause of the gift that Reka has. I do feel that the end is a little disappointing but you will have to read to determine why, but there is a bit of hope for the future. If there is going to be another I cannot wait to read it, if not then I think this book would be a great stand alone novel
  • Amalgam on May 15, 2012

    This book is 4.75, but I still would consider this a must read for Sci-Fi fans. I can't remember if it is posted in the synopsis so I will say it here, Do not read this book if you are not comfortable with adult scenes. With that said the scene is done as well as it could be considering. But for my review, I really enjoyed this book. I felt that the changing of perspectives worked very well to give the reader a total view of what was going on. The author provided enough information to allow the reader to follow the series of events and provide adequate back story, but did not put so much detail and information that the book became tedious at an point. There was an adequate amount of action scenes to progress the story and keep the reader interested. There were some story lines that were brought up that were not concluded that I felt could have been wrapped up easily but those were not critical so the author may be giving the reader the ability to put in his or her own ending to that plot line. I did feel that the book was short, but considering all that is involved in this story I think the length is perfect. Now for the Sci-Fi aspect of the story. This is a very good Sci-Fi story that contains alien races, androids, and AI. Wells works all of these elements into a contrast with pre-industrial society of Redwall. I also liked that Wells allowed the advanced elements to be decaying and to allow them to have a weakness that is not seen in many Sci-Fi stories. My favorite Character is definitely Hobs. There are many reasons for that but the main is that I find that I want to be in his shoes, even though he has faced tragedy and hardship but he does make the most of what he has been given, granted he does have some secrets that allow him to do more than most other people would have been able to do. I also find that I root for Lena, and I understand why her story ended the way it did but I would have still liked it to have ended the way it appeared it would at the beginning of the book. I found that I instantly hated Roland and all that he represented. I think the author makes it easy to hate him, but that may just be because of my concepts of proper behavior. Other people may feel that Roland was in the right for what he did, and I will understand their views but I think that most people would side with me in that Roland received his just deserts. Also I felt that I severely disliked Pol, mainly because of his attitude toward the other characters, not because of his defense of some of his son's actions. I cannot fault a father for wanting to protect his son, but I do feel that there was not much that he could have done to influence his son, but there are some things. Most of those deal with Pol's own ambition and his elitist attitude that was passed onto his son. So I really liked the novel and I highly recommend it for any Sci-Fi reader. I cannot wait for the next book in the series and I can't wait to see what Hobs gets into.