Todd Brabander

Biography

Todd Brabander is an author, musician, and artist from Portland OR. His projects range in style from comedy, to absurdist, to horror, and usually have a Pacific Northwest flavor.
His work aims to capture a twisted and often humorous view of the normal world.
He has been in several music groups, had his writing published online, and has publicly displayed visual art.
He is a big fan of the Oxford comma.

Where to find Todd Brabander online


Books

Not For Kids
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 32,120. Language: English. Published: November 18, 2012. Category: Fiction » Horror » General
(3.80 from 5 reviews)
The world can be a frightening place, especially for children. At a circus, a forest, a book store, or a cemetery—forgotten, unlit corners hide terrible secrets and ghastly dangers, waiting for someone to stumble across them. This collection of eight short stories is Todd Brabander's most disturbing and twisted collection yet. It is definitely not for kids.
Hammerhead
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 20,110. Language: English. Published: April 6, 2012. Category: Fiction » Horror » Crime
(4.27 from 11 reviews)
Hammerhead is the charming tale of a serial killer recounting his crimes. Though his methods may be vicious and gruesome, his motives aren't all that far-removed from the thoughts that go through each of our minds.
The Trees: A Collection
By
Price: Free! Words: 12,680. Language: English. Published: October 11, 2011. Category: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
(4.00 from 13 reviews)
Monsters, legends, and things that we would rather not think about, this collection of three short stories and two pieces of flash fiction will treat readers to a strange and frightening world that lies in the shadows of the Pacific Northwest.
Stranglicious
By
Price: Free! Words: 8,990. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2011. Category: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
Two stories, seven essays, and a list. Topics range from food carts, to self grooming disasters, to granting wishes to dying children.
The Old One
By
Price: Free! Words: 18,320. Language: English. Published: June 16, 2011. Category: Fiction » Horror » General
(3.78 from 18 reviews)
A man finds himself stranded in a small Pacific Northwest town when a landslide blocks the highway. Over the next few days he meets the locals, learns about the area's history, and discovers a terrible secret in the woods. A horror story in the tradition of King and Lovecraft.

Todd Brabander’s tag cloud

absurd    astoria    bizarre    cemetery    circus    collection    comedy    crime    essay    forest    funny    ghost    horror    humor    king    legend    lovecraft    monster    murder    northwest    novella    oregon    pacific    robot    serial killer    short dark fiction    washington    woods   

Smashwords book reviews by Todd Brabander

  • Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should on Aug. 28, 2011

    This is easily the most comprehensive book on ebook publishing. I would highly recommend it to- -Readers who are curious about how the publishing industry works. -Readers who want to discover how to find new stories and authors. -Writers thinking about self publishing. The book functions both as a tool for understanding the current state of the publishing industry and a how-to for aspiring self publishers. David's writing offers a very fair opinion and good insight into the publishing world in an extremely accessible voice. I blew through this in two days. I wish I would have read this before I published my first book. It is an invaluable wealth of information that I am sure I will return to again and again.