Children (ages 9-12)

The Haunted Igloo
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 49,780. Language: English. Published: April 11, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions, Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
For someone afraid of the dark, living in the Arctic is a severe test of courage. Ten-year-old Jean-Paul struggles to hide his fear and adjust to life in the NWT, where he is taunted by a group of Inuit boys because of his lameness caused by a birth defect. Forced imprisonment in a "haunted" igloo proves to be one of the most severe challenges to face Jean-Paul in the harsh Arctic environment.
Spirit Lights
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 23,360. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Adventure, Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions
Spirit Lights is the second book in my Arctic Series and is the sequel to The Haunted Igloo, a middle-grade novel first published by Houghton Mifflin Company in 1991. It’s a coming-of-age story for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark, but discovers his best Inuit friend Chinook is terrified of the Northern Lights.
Down the Memory Hole
Series: Children (ages 9-12). Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 43,640. Language: English. Published: May 29, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » Social Issues / Death & Dying, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Family
Summer vacation sucks when 12-year-old Buzz shares his room with a grandpa who has Alzheimer’s disease and his parents forbid him to associate with his best friend. The idea of giving up Mitch is bad enough. But how can he relate to an old man who wears adult diapers and thinks dog biscuits are people cookies? Someone who could die in the night and scare Buzz right out of puberty! (Ages 12 & up)
Footprints in Time: A Walk in Sacajawea's Moccasins
Series: Historical Collection · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 10,990. Language: English. Published: June 5, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » History » American, Nonfiction » Children's Books » Biography
In 1805, a young Shoshone woman named Sacajawea joined the Lewis and Clark expedition as an interpreter, and with a papoose on her back helped explore America's northwest while searching for a route to the Pacific Ocean. This time-honored true story of the hardships of the expedition, in particular that of Sacajawea and her baby, Jean-Baptist (Pomp), is retold for young readers ages 8-12.
Bridges Ahead
Series: Children (ages 9-12). Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 1,910. Language: English. Published: December 9, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Children's Books » How-it-works, Nonfiction » Art, Architecture, Photography » Architecture
From stepping stones in a creek bed to mighty steel and concrete structures, bridges have from ancient times helped people solve transportation problems. Bridges Ahead is a book for curious readers who wonder how bridges are made and what they are made of. The book contains images of different types of bridges. (Ages 8-12)
North Wind Tales
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 60,590. Language: English. Published: January 14, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » Action & Adventure / Survival Stories, Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions
Together in one edition for the first time! Two popular Arctic novels for middle-grade and young-adult readers, North Wind Tales contains the complete text of The Haunted Igloo and its sequel Spirit Lights. Follow the scary Arctic adventures of young Jean-Paul Ardoin and his best Inuit friend, Chinook.