Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled

Pale Horses
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 76,960. Language: English. Published: October 12, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
In Folk County, Indiana, a brutal murder tears away the illusions of small town serenity and reveals the secrets of its damaged residents. A respected sheriff fights to solve the crime before a tragic disease devours his mind. A traumatized war vet struggles to quell the violence he carried home from the battlefield. Death rides a Pale Horse, and no one in its path escapes unscathed.
Black Is Back
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 90,310. Language: English. Published: October 11, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Artemus Black returns, this time tackling the hard core rap scene as he races to stop a killer who's targeting his new client: Gangsta rapper B-Side. Fans of Elmore Leonard, Michael Connelly and Lawrence Block will delight in Black's second adventure, a high energy romp through Hollywood's seedy underbelly that features more twists than a silly straw and an ending you won't see coming.
Las Vegas Musician Murders
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 90,590. Language: English. Published: October 11, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
Police print mug shots of captured serial killers on the web. I recognize each face as that of a customer who entered and exited my nightclub. Reviewing security cameras outside in the parking lot, the staff and I realize the car is an exact match with the one reported by Las Vegas Metro Police. If there is a murder in California, the serial killers are found in Vegas gambling at the slot machines
Cinco días para matar al Papa
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 85,650. Language: Spanish. Published: October 3, 2013 by Editorial Amarante. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
En “Cinco días para matar al Papa” el sexo, la religión y la muerte se dan cita en Santiago de Compostela a cinco días de la llegada del Papa.
Cainer - A Detective Macaulay Homicide Case
Series: A Detective Macaulay Homicide Case, No. 6. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 34,750. Language: American English. Published: October 3, 2013 by BinnsCagneyPublishing Co. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories
Who Is Cainer? He's a ghost. Trained to disappear without a trace at will. He's an ex-Marine and Special Operations weapons and explosives expert. Now he's working with the FBI as a profiler who out-profiles their own top profilers. Han's arrival at the FBI's Washington DC Headquarters signals a seismic shift between FBI Special Agent Nick Benson and NYPD's Finkel Macaulay.
Cuando cae la oscuridad sobre Londres
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 54,400. Language: Spanish. Published: October 1, 2013 by Editorial Amarante. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
“Cuando cae la oscuridad sobre Londres” es una novela negra plagada de interesantes y siniestros personajes que discurren por las calles de Londres unos días antes de los Juegos Olímpicos de 2012.
Dark Waters
Series: The Jeff Resnick Mysteries, Book 6. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 82,710. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
For Jeff Resnick, the trouble starts with a near-death experience. Brenda's family comes to visit and one of them reminds Jeff of the thugs who mugged him. His brother has taken possession of an expensive boat. The yacht holds a deadly secret, one destined to turn his world upside down. Will Jeff solve the puzzle before his vision of near death becomes a reality?
Hunger in Blue
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 4,690. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2013 by Thunder Valley Press. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
Matthew Reynolds worked for years to become the perfect cop, and he's finally ready for his first night on the streets. He never went to the police academy. He knew he wouldn't qualify. He's not about to let a little thing like that stop him. He'll do anything to protect and serve. Anything at all. He has no other choice.
Washed Up
Series: An Anthony Carrick Mystery, Book 5. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 14,580. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Police Procedural
A leisurely morning at the Santa Monica Pier turns out to be not all Anthony Carrick had hoped for. Police arrive and start putting up tape and crowds gather like vultures. A young man has been murdered, washed up under the pier like a beached whale. What seems like a second chance has ended as a dead end for Gregg Gelvan, a kid from the wrong side of the tracks.
All In
Series: An Anthony Carrick Mystery, Book 4. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 19,010. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Police Procedural
Anthony Carrick is asked to help his friend, John Roberts, Captain of LAPD's Homicide Unit in solving a mysterious murder. A well dressed middle aged man is found with a gunshot in the middle of his forehead in a less than classy hotel. On the victim is one thousand dollars, a casino chip and a New York Giants' Super Bowl ring that obviously doesn't belong to him.
Young Blood
Series: An Accidental Vampire, Story 3. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 29,540. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Paranormal, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
In 1648 France, the young blood vampire Simone Gireaux wants only to quietly learn to live among mortals. But, by witnessing the murder of a Duchesse before she reaches the mountain town of Noir Montagne, she finds her learning curve quicker and more dangerous than she was prepared for. A 29,000 word novella.
Obama Care
Price: Free! Words: 98,350. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Obama Care insurance companies appointed death squads who sentenced millions of Americans to an early grave by refusing to give them medical treatment. Their friends and relatives avenged them. They formed open rebellion against the government and its crony insurance companies. Soon, people were being murdered by the hundreds in their office buildings, malls, stadiums, and universities. Others wer
Dog Spelled Backwards: An Unholy Mystery
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 31,950. Language: English. Published: September 21, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
Private investigator Jane Ronson goes undercover in a tightly-knit Orthodox Jewish community to infiltrate a black market kidney ring run by Russian mobsters. To stay alive, she forms an unlikely alliance with a Rabbi’s wife.
Leave Her Hanging
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 68,690. Language: English (New Zealand dialect). Published: September 19, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Mystery & Detective, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
(5.00 from 1 review)
Ella Lewis is dead. Someone must pay. In this tough-as-nails noir crime novel set in Auckland’s dark underbelly, 17-year-old Jack “Spade” Miller must traverse a web of violence, love, and illicit sex in his search for justice. Only one thing is guaranteed: no one is walking away unscathed.
My Fear Lady
Series: A Joe LaFlam Mystery, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 62,650. Language: English. Published: September 12, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Parody, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
PI Joe LaFlam descends into the bowels of One World conspirators Spelunkers Global to find his clients wayward man. Once undercover underground, earthly temptations abound, as he becomes entrenched as one of them. My Fear Lady, with its intricate plot and insightful humor, is a unique addition to the detective genre, offering an absorbing glimpse into the heart of a Christian detective.
Jennifer's Weave
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 78,940. Language: English. Published: September 11, 2013 by Red Hand Productions. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
Most of us weave the fabric of our lives with strands selected from the seven virtues and the seven deadly sins. Jennifer Murphy found another thread. She wove her life well, and when it began to unravel, she ran, leaving a man with a knife in his chest on her kitchen floor and a cry for help on Rainbow Porter's door.
Black
Series: Black, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 77,480. Language: English. Published: September 9, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Artemus Black. Perennially down-on-his-luck Hollywood PI whose Bogie fixation is as dated as his wardrobe. With an assistant who mocks him relentlessly, an obese cat that loathes him, a romantic life that's deader than Elvis, money problems, booze, nicotine, and anger management issues, how much worse can it get? When he takes a supposedly easy case, he quickly finds out. A noir detective mystery.
Murder Takes Time
Series: Friendship & Honor, Book 1. Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 112,220. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Nicky Fusco thought he knew right from wrong, living by an oath of friendship & honor with his three best friends. But life took them down separate paths, and the oath was broken. Secrets were kept. Years later they are reunited and the bonds of their friendship are brutally tested, putting them on a collision course set in motion long ago.
Angels Flight - A Noir Short Story
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,130. Language: English. Published: August 31, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
Tom Holland, dinosaur LAPD cop, is saddled with Lucy Railsback, a representative from the mayor's Community Police Action Committee. Lucy never expected to meet a dead body her first day out. And when an unidentified body is found in Echo Park Lake, Holland and Lucy have very different ideas about how to solve the case...
The Way Down
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 54,080. Language: English. Published: August 31, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
A brilliant take on the literary detective genre. Art is a down and out gambler who has been hired to kill a woman working in a bar outside San Diego. Unfortunately for both of them he can't help falling in love with her before he does it. What follows is a strange tale in which Art tries to get to the bottom of the murder he himself committed.