Welcome to Smashwords!

Check out our new interface for discovering great ebooks! Read the official announcement at the Smashwords Blog.

Please confirm your erotica preferences.

Learn more about erotica controls. You may change these settings at any time.

[Close]

Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting

Crafting the Character Arc
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 46,460. Language: English. Published: September 19, 2014 by Beating Windward Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
CRAFTING THE CHARACTER ARC offers a practical guide to character creation and development by expanding upon the concept of the character arc and creating a step-by-step guide for writers to ensure that their characters are dynamic and engaging. This is the essential guide for helping writers create an active and well-defined character arc.
Hollywood Rolodex
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 40,180. Language: English. Published: September 15, 2018 by Phoenix Rising Publications. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting, Nonfiction » Entertainment » Entertainment industry
Attention screenwriter’s: If you’ve finished your script, and/or polished your reality show pitch, this handy directory gives leads on where to submit to get your material optioned/sold, including 3,000+ listings for Industry insiders including producers, directors, agents, and actors with their own production companies.
Story Climax: How to Avoid Disappointed Audiences and Craft a Screenplay or Novel Climax That Thrills & Delights
Series: Story Structure Essentials. Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 59,260. Language: English. Published: December 25, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
To become an “auto-buy” for 1000s of readers, or to get onto Hollywood’s speed dial, the grand finale of your novel or screenplay must thrill and delight. Filled with practical tips, this writing guide will show you how to build your climax on a sturdy foundation and fulfill the 2 criteria at the climax’s core. Plus, 3 tests your climax must pass to earn audiences’ enthusiastic seal of approval.
Inciting Incident: How to Begin Your Screenplay or Novel and Captivate Audiences Right Away (While Accomplishing Your Long-Term Plotting Goals)
Series: Story Structure Essentials. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 62,170. Language: English. Published: June 9, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Creativity
(5.00 from 1 review)
Does Your Story Beginning Set You Up For Success…or Failure? The beginning of your story has to grab audiences. At the same time, it has to accomplish “slow” stuff, like establishing your premise and introducing your characters & the stakes. This is the marketing-plotting conundrum. This writing guide will show you how to solve it. Buy now and keep audiences hooked to your screenplay or novel!
Story Stakes: Your #1 Writing Skills Strategy to Produce a Page-Turner that Transforms Readers into Raving Fans of Your Screenplay or Novel
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 47,220. Language: English. Published: May 17, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Creativity
Master story stakes, and keep readers up all night! How? Stakes create tension. To relieve this tension, readers must continue turning the pages of your screenplay or novel, till they reach the end. With this guide, you will learn about 11 types of story stakes, 8 ways to elicit extra emotion from the same set of stakes…plus specific strategies to raise the stakes (even when they’re already high!)
Trough of Hell: How to Wrap Up the Middle of Your Story with Maximum Impact
Series: Story Structure Essentials. Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 80,300. Language: English. Published: January 20, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
If the middle of your screenplay or novel (ie Act Two) has ever given you trouble, this is the book for you. The key is simple. Just figure out how Act Two ends. Ideally, your choice is filled with pain, emotion, and paradox—a powerful combination which re-engages audiences just when their interest is about to evaporate. This book will show you exactly what to do. Conquer Act Two for good, today!
Midpoint Magic: How to Swing Your Screenplay or Novel in a New Direction and Say Good-Bye to Sagging Story Middles That Put Audiences to Sleep
Series: Story Structure Essentials. Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 48,360. Language: English. Published: September 1, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
Story middles. Nightmare. You’ve got a lot of pages to fill…and only 1 thing to fill them with (your hero’s repeated attempts to achieve his goal). Without a plan, you’ll end up with a monotonous snooze fest. Buy this guide, learn 8 specific ways to zap the monotony (plus, the plot point that can take your story to the next level)…and say good-bye to sagging middles that put audiences to sleep!
Screenwriting Down to the Atoms: Digging Deeper into the Craft of Cinematic Storytelling
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 85,260. Language: English. Published: February 12, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Art, Architecture, Photography » Performing arts, Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting
"Screenwriting Down to the Atoms" represents the next generation of screenwriting guides. Using fresh approaches and new discoveries, "Atoms" looks closer and digs deeper to explore concepts in greater detail while pushing thought further with new, never before seen methods. Atoms allows readers to fully grasp the art of storytelling and execute it like never before.
How to Write a Dynamite Scene Using the Snowflake Method
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 33,300. Language: American English. Published: May 18, 2018 by Ingermanson Communications, Inc.. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting
(5.00 from 1 review)
The secret to writing a dynamite novel is to first write a dynamite scene. Because if you can write one terrific scene, you can write 100. And that’s a novel. This is a short book, with just one goal—to teach you the simple principles you can use right now to design a powerful scene before you write it. If you’ve already written your novel, you can use this book to make each scene better.
16 Secrets Revealed by Professional Screenwriters
Series: Professional Screenwriting. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 34,130. Language: English. Published: June 29, 2014 by Lono Publishing. Categories: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Entertainment industry, Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting
Those who can’t do teach. And those who can’t write professionally somehow end up writing books about screenwriting. This book is DIFFERENT -- written by a PROFESSIONAL currently working in Hollywood as a Screenwriter and Film Producer. Successful Professional Screenwriters REVEAL A SECRET about what led to their SUCCESS. 34,000 words of original text!

Related Categories