Welcome to Smashwords!

[Close]

Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk

The Rimes Trilogy Boxed Set
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 336,340. Language: American English. Published: August 6, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Military, Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk
How does an honorable man survive in a corrupt world? Jack Rimes is a Commando, a special forces operator in a grim and dark future where galaxy-spanning corporations exert terrible influence over governments. Technology improves the lives of the elite, but things have never been worse for the average person. Buy The Rimes Trilogy now, and step into this intriguing universe!
The Cookie Caper
Series: The Bright Future, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 79,960. Language: English. Published: February 2, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political
When corporations have the same legal status as sovereign nations, borders are marked by elevator doors and wars are fought to keep black ink on the bottom line. When a new recipe threatens to upset the world's trillion dollar cookie market, its scientist baker is murdered, sending freelance mercenaries and corporate police officers into a scramble to recover the missing prototype batch.
Emergence
Series: Fox Meridian ยท Fox Meridian. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 89,570. Language: English. Published: July 23, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Science fiction » Hard sci-fi
Emergence: noun. 1. The process of becoming visible after being concealed. 2. The process of coming into existence or prominence. 3. In philosophy, art, and systems theory, a process where complex systems can exhibit properties none of its constituent parts possess. Sometimes, when something emerges, you’re better off not knowing.
V-War: Revolution
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 73,400. Language: English. Published: March 26, 2018 by Swordworks & Miro Books. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
Axel Ward, a former special forces soldier, has no choice but to enter a world of virtual combat to save his country. After a rescue attempt in terrorist-controlled territory creates an international incident, Ward is imprisoned, and forced to fight on a new kind of battlefield, where survival is the new game! The year is 2071. The line between soldier and civilian is no longer clear.
Citizenchip
You set the price! Words: 75,790. Language: English. Published: February 20, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Sci-Fi & fantasy
In the near future, an orphan AI must learn to navigate the complicated boundaries between human and AI behavior ... while those boundaries are being thrown into chaos. A different kind of coming-of-age story.
Adaptation - Part 5
Series: Adaptation. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 97,580. Language: American English. Published: July 1, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
Adaptation - Part 5 takes up in the aftermath of the showdown in Minneapolis: Houston is rocked by the chaos Ottavio wrought and Project Adaptation is threatened. Although Von Braun and the crabman virus have been retrieved, Ottavio must still tread carefully around those who seek his hard-won prizes. Ryan, bolstered by the news of the virus, must decide what he truly believes about humanity.
V-War: Insurgency
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 72,730. Language: English. Published: May 11, 2018 by Swordworks & Miro Books. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Science fiction » Military
Axel Ward is a former soldier who fought in the virtual arena for his nation’s freedom. He has been cheated of his hard-won victory, imprisoned, and left for dead. Yet his friends fight on to save him from the game’s creator, the ruthless Mic Zenner. A merciless oppressor, and head of a corrupt mega-corporation plotting against the American government.
Adaptation - Part 2
Series: Adaptation. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 98,950. Language: American English. Published: July 20, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
The next compelling book in the Adaptation saga. Ottavio forms an uneasy alliance with his liberators, the Vigils, after his escape from Houston Corps. Ryan is tested in his dealings with the Directors. Both are caught on different sides of the Director's plot, and the two eventually cross paths, with painful results.
End Game
Series: We Were Gods, Book 2. Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 94,130. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
Luke and Toni return in volume II of "We Were Gods". After thwarting Luke's old boss, Rob, the pair are left to recover from the violence visited upon them. But with Rob still controlling implanted players, Luke and Toni must strike back. They have an uphill battle, however, as government agencies get involved on both sides.
Peace Fire
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 123,530. Language: English. Published: October 11, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
In 2050, the world is a little denser, a little greyer, and a little more firmly under the corporate thumb. Hacker Katja and her friends set out to find the person who bombed her building and end up battling a twisted corporation, with the free will of all humanity on the line. Out-gunned and short on experience outside their computers, do they stand a chance if they stand up for humanity?
High Tide in the City
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 99,750. Language: British English. Published: August 24, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk
Bristol 2070. It’s a drowned city, caught in the rhythm of its 40 foot tide. But life still throbs there, even if most of it’s mean and dirty. When ex-cop Matt Nixon is called to a murder on the wrong side of town he thinks it’s business as usual. He couldn’t be more wrong.
The Orphans Revolt (Star Plague Journals Book 1)
Series: The Star Plague Journals. Price: $1.00 USD. Words: 200,960. Language: British English. Published: February 6, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Urban, Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk
Cat and Rivan lead a simple life of sex and drugs in one of Kharpal's infamous brothels. But the political manoeuvring of a sick old man and an insane dragon's centuries old thirst for revenge are about to put paid to that. Come join the dance, it might help stamp out the embers... Cyber-fantasy with a rock and roll twist. For fans of Morgan, Miéville and Maupin.
AFK, All of it
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 296,330. Language: English. Published: March 13, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
In the virtual world of Second Life®, Definitely Thursday is a metaverse detective. What starts off as a part-time job exposing cheating partners, however, becomes a hunt for real-life criminals as Thursday descends into the online world of murder, revenge and terrorism.
Terran Shift Anthology, Vol 2: The Bio-Tech Era
Series: Terran Shift Anthology, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 62,320. Language: English. Published: December 30, 2013 by Lost Luggage Studios, LLC. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author
Terran Shift Anthology, Volume 2: The Bio-Tech Era is the second collection of stories set exclusively in the Terran Shift universe. The collection contains seven science fiction stories from five authors, focusing entirely on stories set in the Bio-Tech Era, a plausible near-future where humanity becomes even more dependent on technology.
Nanopunk
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 86,360. Language: English. Published: February 4, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Science fiction » Adventure
In a dystopian world recovering from the Big Freeze, Alister accidentally absorbs nanobots that give him phenomenal hacking abilities. When he inadvertently links to the world's most powerful supercomputer It's not long before an international gang of cyber-activists, find out and try to recruit him. Then Secret Services, and a ruthless Private Military Corporation go after him - dead or alive.
Memnon & Themis
Price: $3.00 USD. Words: 147,900. Language: Greek. Published: November 2, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
A high-tech thriller set in a bleak and colorless future dominated by drug-lords, where a police officer and a member of the mafia will try to solve a murder mystery, only to discover that everything they knew was a lie.
Red Blossoms the Sky
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 286,740. Language: Canadian English. Published: June 30, 2017 by Lemorn Literary Works. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias, Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk
(4.67 from 3 reviews)
Among the ruins of civilization, there stands the city Berlose. Its people struggle to survive under the tyranny of the Seirath family. Uprisings are quickly quashed by Seirath's enhanced soldiers, the Lotuses, but those same Lotuses now must question their loyalty as new threats emerge: the Lady of the Storms, the Gargoyle, and a stolen weapon. The sky darkens, and the trumpet of thunder sounds.
Act of Will
Series: Andersson Dexter, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 63,870. Language: English. Published: December 27, 2010 by in potentia press. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
(5.00 from 1 review)
In a grim future where people live and work in crowded, utilitarian cities, but escape to an online virtual world, investigator Andersson Dexter is stuck in a rut. But when a gruesomely mutilated corpse is found, things heat up as Dex finds himself racing against the clock to find a killer who seems to be determined to strike him close to home.
Reclamation
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 64,930. Language: English. Published: May 22, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk, Fiction » Fantasy » Urban
The peace of the virtual world Bottle City is broken by an incursion, a cry for help from the mythical hacker enclave 4nasia. Their cry for help reaches Artemis Bridge, the fixer of 2030 Los Angeles. Enlisting the aid of Triad gangster Fong, will Bridge be able to save the hackers and the Families before Freeman destroys it all?
Metropolitan
Series: Metropolitan, Metropolitan 1. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 114,610. Language: English. Published: April 16, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Urban, Fiction » Science fiction » Cyberpunk
NEBULA AWARD NOMINEE. Walter Jon Williams’ classic science fantasy Metropolitan is once again available for a new generation. Aiah has fought her way from poverty and discovered a limitless source of plasm, the mysterious substance that powers the world-city. Her discovery soon involves her with Constantine, the charismatic, seductive revolutionary who plans to overturn the world order.