Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman

Ready Reference Treatise: The Poisonwood Bible
Series: Ready Reference Treatises, Book 88 · Study Gudes: English Literature, Book 110. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,580. Language: English. Published: March 30, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Study guides, Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
First of all, the title “The Poisonwood Bible” draws the attention of the readers. It is not only appropriate but also indispensable.
Keys to My Heart
Price: $2.00 USD. Words: 11,100. Language: English. Published: March 24, 2013. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
Keys is a young lady who migrated to the United States from Kingston, Jamaica, along with her mother, sister and brother back in early 1960s. For the first time, Keys has experienced what love is all about. She embarks upon relationships with two men, causing her heart, mind and body to be in a state of confusion. Journey with Keys as she fights for her place in this new life.
Cookie Too Lyric's Song
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 59,360. Language: English. Published: March 12, 2013 by Delphine Publications. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » African American fiction » Urban life
This coming-of-age tale depicts the life of Lyric James, who grew up in a suburb division of Fort Worth, one of the fastest-growing inner cities in Texas. To her peers, she was considered ugly, the outcast, and oftentimes shut out of the cliques, but when entering high school, after dating a popular football player, her life takes an unsuspecting turn.
Love for the Joneses
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 95,670. Language: English. Published: March 10, 2013. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » African American fiction » Romance
Four successful African-American siblings in Los Angeles search for answers to their relationship dilemmas in this contemporary novel that implores romance, humor, and wit to create an exciting exploration of love in the city. (As a point of reference, this book is multi-character focused in the vein of "Soul Food" and "Waiting to Exhale.")
A Little Sumthin' Sumthin'
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 41,220. Language: English. Published: March 1, 2013 by NCM Publishing. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
Fatimah is forced to finally take charge of her life. And more than a few people aren't going to like the "new and improved" Fatimah!
Scattered Pieces
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 96,150. Language: English. Published: February 26, 2013. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » Women's fiction » Chick lit
A need for rest leads to an accidental overdose as Janet Robinson gives in to the stress of a broken marriage and nowhere to turn. Confronted with the fear of losing her children to her manipulative husband, the need to rebuild her self-esteem and character become her goal.
Laneesha
Series: Douglas T. Vale's Short Stories, Book 50. Price: $3.03 USD. Words: 2,470. Language: English. Published: February 21, 2013. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » Literature » Literary
A black girl suffering religious visions tries to reconcile her attraction to a white boy with her family and her heritage. A contemporary fantasy short story.
Their Darkest Hour
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 9,260. Language: English. Published: February 14, 2013 by Claire Aldin Publications, LLC. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Suspense, Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Desiree gets all wrapped up in outside activities, hoping to boost her sagging self-esteem by being impressive at work. In the meantime, she and Malik pass each other in the hallway, occasionally eat at the same table and sleep in separate beds. The intimacy is no longer there. Can they rebuild what was lost? What will happen in their darkest hour?
It's Not Worth It
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 27,460. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2013. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » African American fiction » Romance
This is not your ordinary romance novel. It's a story about passion, desire and lies based on situations we can all relate to. Thirty-one year old Felicia is tired of the single life.
The Suddenly Single Series: Barely Holding On
Price: $1.69 USD. Words: 11,940. Language: English. Published: February 8, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas, Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
Everything Raven knew about her life with Schayne changed in an instant. One moment her strong, handsome husband was doing what he loved and the next moment Schayne was reduced to a shell of his former self. Schayne’s very life hangs in the balance and he is barely holding on. Will Raven make the right decision or will her love for Schayne cloud her judgment?
Tears Fall at Night
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 56,470. Language: English. Published: February 7, 2013. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Christian, Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
(4.00 from 1 review)
Life was good, God was blessing and the Marshall family was riding high, until Carmella Marshall’s husband, Nelson asks for a divorce and then moves in with his girlfriend—who also happens to be her twenty-three-year-old daughter’s best friend—her son gets arrested, her daughter drops out of college, the bills go unpaid, and then Carmella has a nervous breakdown.
Ready Reference Treatise: The Bluest Eye
Series: Ready Reference Treatises, Book 68 · Study Gudes: English Literature, Book 89. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 6,280. Language: English. Published: January 24, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Study guides, Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
“The Bluest Eye” by Nobel Prize winning American author Toni Morrison was first published in 1970. While writing this novel, Toni Morrison was teaching at Howard University and raising her two sons on her own.
Silver Lining
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 20,180. Language: English. Published: January 4, 2013. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
“Silver Lining” is the last novella in the Girlfriends trilogy. While delving into her genealogy, Amanda finds proof that her great- grandfather inherited 1000 acres of land over a hundred years ago and lends credence to the stories that had been passed down in her family for generations.
Lacey's Journey part 2
Price: Free! Words: 10,920. Language: English. Published: December 25, 2012. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » African American fiction » General
Lacey continues to try and piece a life together after being asked to leave home, because she got pregnant in high school. Failing to live up to her parents expectations and a difficult relationship with the father of her child, Lacey's world keeps falling apart.
TRENT
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 17,240. Language: English. Published: December 17, 2012. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
Trent Morrison III is the kind of man dreams are made of. Tall, dark, handsome and intelligent, Trent is the total package. Trent could have any woman he wanted, and he did - whether they were willing or not. Many know him from the "Twisted Sister" series as the man who brought Holly to her knees. But who was he before that? How did Trent get to be the kind of man women who grew to know him feared
Twisted Sister III: After the Twist
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 28,400. Language: English. Published: December 17, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller, Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
In "Twisted Sister", Trent showed his true colors; brutalizing Holly and leaving her with a promise that he would return if necessary. In "Twisted Sister II: Twisted's Revenge", Trent was dealt a dastardly blow but at whose hands? In the finale, "Twisted Sister III: After the Twist, all questions are answered; leaving no stone unturned.
Amazed by her Grace, Book III
Price: $4.00 USD. Words: 95,960. Language: English. Published: December 12, 2012. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(4.00 from 1 review)
APRIL 2015 EDITION! For any teacher who’s ever had a student pet comes the story of Grace, the admired P.E. teacher and coach whose wall of fascinating aloofness and privacy begins to fall when she meets the shy, disarming, gifted student athlete Tracy. What the beautiful Miss Grace doesn't want Tracy to find out is that not everything that glitters in Grace's life is gold.
Amazed by her Grace, Book II
Price: Free! Words: 118,430. Language: English. Published: December 12, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Coming of age, Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
(5.00 from 1 review)
APRIL 2015 EDITION! For anyone who’s ever had a crush on a teacher comes the story of Tracy, a shy and abused teen from the projects who suddenly finds herself in a posh private school, and Grace, the coach who offers the girl a chance to join the school's inner circle of privileged athletes. What Tracy doesn't know about the beautiful Miss Grace is that not everything that glitters is gold.
No More Expectations
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 102,120. Language: English. Published: December 1, 2012. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
Once upon a time, Brianya Johnson was all about getting to "I do" by any means necessary. That was 206 pounds ago. Armed with a new body and a new attitude, Brianya's called off the "no dating" strike and she's back on the market! Not just one man, but four, vy for her affection, including her ex, who dumped her like yesterday's trash! Besides the ex, one of the men is anything but suitable.
Bride's Maids (A Friendship To Last A Lifetime)
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 81,440. Language: English. Published: November 13, 2012. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Contemporary woman
Is there truly a girl friend code? You know a friend would never date another friend’s ex-boyfriend. Or is it just a woman’s way of making sure that her friend doesn’t date her ex, even when they fall in love? Does your friendship end if your friend finds love with your ex? Would you be able to give them your blessings and continue to have him in your life?