Fiction » Historical » USA

Jesusita
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 96,600. Language: English. Published: May 15, 2015 by Amika Press. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Hispanic & Latino
Jesusita is the story of immigrants—legal and illegal—trying to survive in California in the years after World War II. The interrelated lives of these people provide a complex, sometimes violent, and often tragic image of American poverty within the nation’s postwar boom.
Two Psychics in a Typhus Epidemic
Price: Free! Words: 700. Language: English. Published: May 13, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories, Fiction » Historical » USA
Three minute read. Two psychics experience a Typhus epidemic in Philadelphia, 1837.
The Outlaw, Billy Starbuck
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 60,420. Language: English. Published: May 13, 2015 by Prairie Rose Publications. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier, Fiction » Historical » USA
When Will Simpson decides to turn outlaw, he does it up right! Robbing trains will bring him the fame and wealth he craves—and will also ensure he’ll end up with the girl he loves. But his first train robbery goes awry and he makes a lifelong enemy of payroll guard Kyle Lassiter, who loses his arm in the heist. THE OUTLAW, BILLY STARBUCK, as Will calls himself now, is born.
The Metronome
Price: Free! Words: 87,210. Language: English. Published: May 12, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense, Fiction » Historical » USA
When investigating his father's death, a man uncovers a web of money, murder, revenge and evidence of a plot involving the world's superpowers.
1812
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 10,800. Language: English. Published: May 11, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
A suspenseful historical fiction about the war of 1812 where a frontiersman changes his mind about the war after seeing the aftermath of a massacre.
Aunt Ketty's Voice
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 10,490. Language: English. Published: May 10, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational, Fiction » Historical » USA
We join a story in progress after our unknown journal author finds a treasure trove of hand-made books that had belonged to a much-loved aunt. This short story is a charming tale about lost love, families, discovery, and carrying the past forward into the future.
Eureka Valley - Grandfathers' Grandfathers
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 94,320. Language: English. Published: May 6, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
Who won America’s Civil War? Lycurgus Bell and the 100,000 Southern soldiers who fought for Abraham Lincoln thought they knew. They were wrong. Eureka Valley – Grandfathers' Grandfathers tells their story. Dozens of informative hyperlinks enrich this eBook. Readers who love Jane Smiley, E.L. Doctorow or Geraldine Brooks will feel right at home with this magical telling of American history.
Enlisting Redemption
Series: Sutherland Saga, Book 3. Price: Free! Words: 82,730. Language: English. Published: May 5, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Mystery & detective » International crime
When twenty-one year old college student Trevor Sutherland enlists Rebecca Carey in a birthday party performance, it leads to a heinous crime. Her subsequent disappearance will ultimately send Trevor on a decade long quest for redemption, one fraught with intrigue, deception, and ultimately murder.
Literature Help: Yonnondio: From the Thirties
Series: A Quick Guide ยท Study Gudes: English Literature. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 8,750. Language: English. Published: May 2, 2015 by Raja Sharma. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Study guides, Fiction » Historical » USA
The novel revolves around the struggles faced by the Holbrook family during the 1920s. The story is basically about the life of the working-class family. It also deals with the themes such as socioeconomic order, motherhood, and the pre-depression era.
Floating the Balloon Bombs
Price: Free! Words: 16,040. Language: English. Published: April 26, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Historical » USA
Sheriff Conrad looks upon the deflated oddity discovered behind a compound of mobile homes and fears the bombs connected to that fallen and decayed balloon will force his community to reappear on the road map. He convenes his neighbors, and the villagers decide the best plan in coping with the bombs' dangers is restoring that balloon so their village might simply return the oddity to the wind.
My Father the God
Price: Free! Words: 81,290. Language: English. Published: April 25, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical
Having completed his first year at Hanford University, Scotsman Sloan Stewart begins the summer of 1941 working at The Orchard Inn with his friends James, Isolde and Sabrina. But entanglements inevitably lead to a shocking event, one that will transform each of them irrevocably through war, peace, and ultimately, the remainder of their lives. Can they ever surmount the errors of their youth?
Jackie O: On The Couch
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 93,940. Language: English. Published: April 22, 2015 by Bancroft Press. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Biographical, Fiction » Historical » USA
Jackie O: On the Couch is the story of Jackie Kennedy Onassis as she might have written it. This is not just another biography. For the first time, Jackie O: On the Couch highlights Jackie’s life from her own perspective, as imagined by author Dr. Alma Bond, a psychoanalyst and long-time student of Jackie lore.
The Tides of War
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 128,010. Language: English. Published: April 21, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
A young marine escorting his best friends body home… A young woman running from her past… A long over night flight … A beach house… Two weeks alone together … Torn apart by war they meet again twenty years later…
Songbird
Price: $3.95 USD. Words: 99,960. Language: English. Published: April 20, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Christian » Historical
Can those left behind endure? When the travesties and social changes of World War II confront a small southern town, faith, family, and love sustain the lives of one young woman and her family.
The Hawk: Part One
Price: Free! Words: 67,610. Language: English. Published: April 17, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Historical » USA
Painter Eric Snyder harbors a secret known only to his wife, Lynne. When Eric’s latest disappearance raises the suspicions of best friends Sam and Renee Ahern, Lynne can no longer keep the truth under wraps. While the Aherns ponder this phenomenon, Eric embarks upon a search for his father, once again taking him far from the woman he loves.
The Victory That Wasn't--An Alternate History of Secrets That Changed America’s Destiny
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 68,360. Language: English. Published: April 17, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Ancient, Fiction » Historical » USA
“The Victory That Wasn't” begins with people in Hawaii who unknowingly change the course of the Vietnam War. The story is based on real behind-the-scenes events. Could minor changes in their actions have resulted in a different kind of America? In “The Victory That Wasn't” a few subtle shifts trigger a cascade of actions that change everything.
The Park Place Rangers - A Series of Short Stories
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 23,700. Language: English. Published: April 15, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Adventure » General
A book of short-stories about policing in Houston, Texas' rough and tumble East End during the 1960's and 70's.
Episode 5 - Calum's Fort
Series: Clan - Season 2. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 11,760. Language: English. Published: April 13, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Historical » USA
Clan: Season 2, Episode 5. Calum’s Fort A Bitesize 1-hour Read. Calum’s first meeting with the Shawnee nation was a disaster. But his new friendship with the shaman Catahecassa gives hope that they might not be slaughtered by the enraged Indians. They might yet reach Fort Massachusetts before the French battalion.
Blossom
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 90,140. Language: English. Published: April 13, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Historical » USA
Irresistibly drawn to each other, fortune-cookie maker Blossom Sun and silver-fortune heir Brock St. Clair find love at first sight. They also find that every secret has a price. The problem: He’s about to be married and she’s engaged. The bigger problem: It’s April 18, 1906, and a catastrophic earthquake and inferno are about to bring San Francisco to its knees.
Unmask My Heart (A Halloween Historical Romance Novella)
Series: Love's Great War (Historical Romance), Book 3. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 30,950. Language: English. Published: April 12, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Holiday » Halloween, Fiction » Historical » USA
Her heart can't give him up. Her head can't trust him. This Halloween, he'll use every trick he can to win back Phoebe's heart. Will she keep her true feelings covered, or will she let Gabe unmask her heart?