Fiction » Themes & motifs

Sub-categories: Psychological | Spiritual & metaphysical | Family sagas | Political | Crime | Medical | Religious | Technological | Legal | Media tie-in 
The First Fish
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 22,960. Language: British English. Published: October 9, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological, Fiction » Adventure » Men’s adventure
Tales from an angler, by turns funny, moving and mysterious, but always fishy: "You don't have to know one end of a fishing rod from the other to enjoy these evocative, leanly written stories. Though the solitary pursuit of hidden rivers and the silvery fish that swim in them are vividly represented, the rituals of angling serve as a spyhole for observations of equally obscured human lives."
How The Heart Finds Its Form: Stories
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 51,540. Language: American English. Published: October 7, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
Twelve psychologically-oriented stories explore the choices, doubts, wishes and secrets of the human heart. In a range of story tones, from suspenseful to comical to emotionally-wrenching, men and women grapple with questions of love, attachment, flirtation, memory, anxiety, truthfulness, grief and the courage to live fully from the heart.
Statesman: Origin 2
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,050. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
The second segment of the forthcoming novel. Stephen Graham Sumner tells his interviewer about the event that showed him that there is a virtue that eclipses the one his father had taught him to venerate -- indeed, one without which the other virtues cannot be summoned and will not be practiced. From the Realm of Essences series.
Price: Free! Words: 2,800. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime, Fiction » Literature » Literary
Write what you know, they say, but was this fictional story just a little too close to the truth? An accountant enters a short story competition with unexpected consequences. File under Fiction ... or maybe not? "Bust" is a short story within a short story by the prize winning author of "Resolution".
Found The Lost Ones
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 63,960. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
An alien species find their lost descendants only to be horrified by their changes. Two humans along for the ride help out.
The Do-Over
Price: Free! Words: 14,600. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
Death is not the end--however badly Jeanette Winters wishes it was. Accompanied by Rupert, her angelic guide, Jeanette must journey through her past to correct mistakes and preserve her eternal soul. From Evan Fuller, author of Mutt & Stray, comes a scathingly scathing satirical novelette that will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams & Terry Pratchett.
Price: Free! Words: 1,160. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Women's fiction » Feminist, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
(4.00 from 1 review)
Self-improvements should have limits. If you want to be perfect, you must first define what perfect is. And for one woman, the goal is always moving.
The X-Cure
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 72,670. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2015 by Open Books. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Medical, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
Will the cure for cancer become known? Not if Tando Pharmaceuticals has its way...
Tomorrow is August 12th
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 64,780. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2015 by Fountain Blue Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
Chad Owens is an Alcohol and Drug Counselor and a successful author who is about to retire. His life started in a dysfunctional family full of drugs, alcohol, and abuse. He spent four decades helping people, seeing things that cannot be unseen. He made mistakes along the way. On the eve of his retirement, he finds himself trying to make sense of his life, his choices, and his future.
Anatomy of a Darkened Heart
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 59,500. Language: American English. Published: October 1, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Victorian, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
Father’s wretched secret coincides with Abigail Delilah’s birth. Mother will make Abigail suffer because someone must take the blame. But do these cruelties breed a shadowed soul or is redemption within reach? Multi-layered and rife with psychological depth, this riveting novel appeals to the literary reader and the leisure reader alike, combining key facets of several popular genres.
Series: The Rollins Pack. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 80,190. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Paranormal, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
Andrew, second eldest Rollins, takes up the mantle of Alpha heir to the Pittsburgh werewolf pack with grace and obedience. But soon the Great Recession, his mother's indiscretions, and a brother's mess threaten the Rollins' position. With the help of brothers and friends, Andrew learns what it means to be a Rollins and Alpha, for better or for worse.
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 84,490. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2015 by Salted Rose Press. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political, Fiction » Literature » Literary
A shadowy eco-saboteur proposes an attack in the heart of genetically-modified corn country. A San Francisco activist, losing faith in the impact of non-violent protest, is ripe to be drawn into a more dangerous game.
The Angel's Lounge
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 107,240. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2015 by Black Rose Writing. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
Billionaire mogul Breck Archangel 'Angel' Stewart built his magnificent music and fashion empires from the smoldering ashes of his impoverished and abusive Scottish upbringing, taking by storm the elite gentry of Chicago's Gold Coast and adoring global throngs.
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 98,120. Language: English. Published: September 25, 2015 by The Zharmae Publishing Press. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
Filled with encouraging insights and an open optimism, Freak delivers an uplifting and empowering message about how our actions can lead to recaptured innocence and a recovered life. How our choices, not our circumstances, determine our destiny.
Living Companion
Price: Free! Words: 72,450. Language: English. Published: September 24, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
A man obsessed with his work, tormented by inability to produce it and imprisoned with devotion to the cause of his madness. Struggling with anxiety, he shares a lodging with a painter, a free-spirited woman, who could just be his ruin. Burdened with perpetual observations, one thing surfaces as inevitable - he is compelled to ceaselessly think, awaiting for the end of his life work, or his own.
Ordained: Part I Denmark
Series: Ordained - a novel. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 82,950. Language: American English. Published: September 20, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Spies & espionage, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
A software engineer becomes a religious teacher in Sweden and finds himself using shamanic powers, as well as an app that can crack any password on earth, to fight against the very church he was ordained in.
Beyond the Willow Brook
Series: Willowbrook Saga. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 30,370. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
It's 1960, and high-school age Esther Rawlins, seduced by a traveling poet and secretly hiding a pregnancy while planning to leave town for college, has her Aunt Theresa Tarson try to force other plans on her. In a repeated cycle through the 1970s, Esther tries using Willowbrook's expectations as a ticket out of town, only to be drawn home over and over again in this novella.
Waking Under Water
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 67,060. Language: English. Published: September 17, 2015 by vinspirepublishing. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Medical, Fiction » Romance » Contemporary
Send to boarding school and trying to make sense of her new world, Mia fights to survive the wicked ways of the rich, spoiled kids at Galt Academy, especially when her tendency is to run away. But she's is a fighter, and when she befriends junior Lucas Dunlap, the cute coffee shop guy, and his friend, Natalie, things start to look up for her—until the betrayal.
The Great Divide a novelette
Price: Free! Words: 17,390. Language: English. Published: September 17, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
Dacey Theroux’s life takes a turn for the worst when her unstable ex-husband shows up at her job making a scene and threatening her in front of coworkers. She entertains an unlikely messenger. What he tells her becomes the basis of her new life and inevitably leads her to face her past… and her shocking present.
Breaking Free From the Eye
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 46,230. Language: English. Published: September 15, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
This book is not only a journey into darkness of both the eye and mind, but also a journey into the light of hope and reason. Walk with newly-blind Brett, as he learns to move beyond the eye and to save Earth in the process. Eyesight, blindness, meaning, value, beauty, ethics and ultimate reality are all on the agenda and he finds out that all will be lost unless he can “Break Free from the Eye.”