Fiction » Themes & motifs

Sub-categories: Psychological | Spiritual & metaphysical | Family sagas | Political | Crime | Medical | Religious | Technological | Legal | Media tie-in 
Consequence
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 84,600. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2015 by Salted Rose Press. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political, Fiction » Literature » Literary
A shadowy eco-saboteur proposes an attack in the heart of genetically-modified corn country. A San Francisco activist, losing faith in the impact of non-violent protest, is ripe to be drawn into a more dangerous game.
Living Companion
Price: Free! Words: 72,450. Language: English. Published: September 24, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
A man obsessed with his work, tormented by inability to produce it and imprisoned with devotion to the cause of his madness. Struggling with anxiety, he shares a lodging with a painter, a free-spirited woman, who could just be his ruin. Burdened with perpetual observations, one thing surfaces as inevitable - he is compelled to ceaselessly think, awaiting for the end of his life work, or his own.
Waking Under Water
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 67,060. Language: English. Published: September 17, 2015 by vinspirepublishing. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Medical, Fiction » Romance » Contemporary
Send to boarding school and trying to make sense of her new world, Mia fights to survive the wicked ways of the rich, spoiled kids at Galt Academy, especially when her tendency is to run away. But she's is a fighter, and when she befriends junior Lucas Dunlap, the cute coffee shop guy, and his friend, Natalie, things start to look up for her—until the betrayal.
The Family Made of Dust: A Novel of Loss and Rebirth in the Australian Outback
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 82,570. Language: English. Published: September 16, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
WINNER OF TWO NATIONAL LITERARY AWARDS TOP SELECTION FOR A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD “One of the best novels in ten years.” Hackney Literary Awards Committee Destined to become the next The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. For fans of Small Great Things, Before We Were Yours, and Orphan Train. A gripping search for a missing friend unearths the price one boy paid for brutal adoption policies.
Breaking Free From the Eye
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 46,230. Language: English. Published: September 15, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
This book is not only a journey into darkness of both the eye and mind, but also a journey into the light of hope and reason. Walk with newly-blind Brett, as he learns to move beyond the eye and to save Earth in the process. Eyesight, blindness, meaning, value, beauty, ethics and ultimate reality are all on the agenda and he finds out that all will be lost unless he can “Break Free from the Eye.”
Simply Business/IT
Series: In Small Doses (Short Story Collections) ยท Truly Unique Books. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 30,500. Language: English. Published: September 12, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Women's fiction » Chick lit, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Technological
This second edition is a unique and imaginative offering of 17 Business and IT stories. This includes works from In Small Doses 1-3 as well as two new stories. * Severity 1 Bride (From In Small Doses #3) — IT Guys and Gals come with baggage from a dating perspective. Find out why. * The Stale Hotel (New!) This hotel will not stop at nothing until each customer gives them a perfect store
The Widow Maker
Price: $1.49 USD. Words: 59,530. Language: English. Published: September 11, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
The Widow Maker is the sequel to No Permission Needed and is the second book in The Green Mountain Dream Trilogy. If you've ever wondered about the meaning of your dreams, or what may happen after you die, or how far you would go to support someone you care about or protect someone you love, then you should read this trilogy.
Choice
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 44,570. Language: English. Published: September 5, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
Eva Clark was having a hard enough time surviving Middle School before she felt like her mind was starting to fall apart. A visit from a mysterious boy that only she could see didn't help. His promise to help her through her trials was too good to pass up, however. With his help, Eva embarks on a new path and learns about herself and many other lifelong lessons.
The Wider World
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 77,360. Language: English. Published: September 5, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
Nine short and novella length tales of speculative fiction examine the consequences of searching for, or accidentally discovering, the wider world of existence. The stories range from themes of the paranormal, Christmas, apocalyptic futures, the cost of life changes, and a journey of spiritual discovery.
The Quarterback
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 73,900. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2015 by Christopher Meeks. Categories: Fiction » Sports, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
Jimmy Jassy had been on the top for five years now, but the clock was running out. All he had left were the remnants of his incredible skills, and his snarling pride in being the man they called--The Quarterback.
Paradise Road
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 83,300. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2015 by Christopher Meeks. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime
In a fast-moving novel, "Paradise Road" brings a raw and brutal world of big-time gambling. Don Porter is out to beat Las Vegas at its own game--putting his money, his woman, and his life on the line. It is the winner of the Mark Twain Journal Award for "significant contribution to American Literature."
Old Amarillo~Amish Journeys
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 49,500. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2015 by 5 Prince Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
Poetry-wielding gunslingers. The Dalton Brothers. Epidemics of Influenza. Hydrophobia. Can Katie Knepp leave behind her gentle life in Gasthof Village, Indiana and follow her heart across the wilderness and into the wilds of west Texas, while still remaining true to her Amish roots?
Luck Is Everywhere
Series: The Avatar Series. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 28,650. Language: English. Published: August 30, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical, Fiction » Adventure » General
Helena Thompson has been the Avatar of Luck for a few years now, though all she's been doing is training. Finally, Lady Luck has given her a mission to accomplish in the real world, and it's only her Luck that's keeping her alive. Luck, and John Ashkore - the Avatar of Death. She must find out who’s trying to kill her while proving to Lady Luck that she’s a capable Avatar of Luck.
A Place in Heaven
Price: $2.00 USD. Words: 72,950. Language: English. Published: August 27, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political
After witnessing a horrible tragedy in which his beloved wife is killed, John Sanford, a veteran from the Gulf War, finds himself living in the streets of Austin, Texas as another homeless man. His fortuitous encounter with Julia Chavez, the manager of a downtown branch of the Bank of Austin, changes his entire life.
Wandering Realities: Mormonish Short Fiction
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 68,160. Language: English. Published: August 26, 2015 by Zarahemla Books. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
"Wandering Realities gathers together much of the Mormon-themed short fiction of perhaps Mormondom's best living writer," says Michael Austin. Peck's highly imaginative stories run the gamut from Mormons reverting to a medieval society on Mars to a bishop who is killing the neighborhood dogs. These stories not only entertain and delight, but they challenge and provoke as well.
The Call of Ciri
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 81,540. Language: English. Published: August 24, 2015 by Zayzee Writes. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
The Call of Ciri tells the story about the interwoven lives of four women and their relationship to the town of Ciri. One of them broke a vow which resulted in serious consequences not only for the indigenes of Ciri but also for the other three women who were oblivious of the existence of Ciri.
Enoch's Folly
Price: Free! Words: 112,130. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: August 22, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
“You know what the old timers say about Comely? They say the Devil is afraid of him.” Aldous Comely; entrepreneur, philanthropist, bon vivant, crime lord. He has his finger on every conceivable pulse, but his grip is starting to slip. Chance encounters and unexpected friendships force him to remember what it's like to be a human being - at the worst possible time: An old enemy is back in town.
Jennifer’s Magic Book 1 — Vigilante
Series: Jennifer’s Magic. Price: Free! Words: 173,000. Language: British English. Published: August 18, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
Evil mages torture to death Jennifer’s best friend. Jennifer leads a cadre of apprentices to capture Bad Souls. The cadre runs into a trap, and Jennifer’s boyfriend dies. She becomes catatonic. She recovers but gets cursed by a Bad Soul. Jennifer discovers different magic and captures all Bad Souls. She meets a girl with the same magic. They become master and apprentice and honorary sisters.
24 Hours In An Enchanted Valley
Price: Free! Words: 28,110. Language: English. Published: August 16, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
Real or Imagined? Join Whisper as she travels to a secluded valley with a friend and discovers a world of angelic beings, spiritual masters, spacecraft and space beings, rocks that speak, a dragon, an elf, a wolf, and so much more. Share her amazement when the Masters reveal hidden insights into the unseen realms of other dimensions and realities.
June’s Stolen Rose
Series: Seasons of Love and War, Book 4. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 81,490. Language: English. Published: August 6, 2015 by Melange Books, LLC. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Suspense, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
The Saga continues in book four with Kaylob and Beth Ann walking into a homecoming with one of their best friends on the floor with a gash in his head. Things are out of order in their life and someone is watching Beth Ann. She finds things vanishing and hears footsteps and shadows that spell danger. Then Kaylob comes home and nobody knows where she is.