Fiction » Themes & motifs

Sub-categories: Psychological | Spiritual & metaphysical | Family sagas | Political | Crime | Medical | Technological | Religious | Legal | Media tie-in
Crusher vs The Empire
Price: Free! Words: 150,050. Language: English. Published: May 20, 2017 by CWG Press. Categories: Fiction » Transgressional fiction, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political
Turn the other way today and join the revolution. Come along with the young residents of a Twin Cities group home as they go way against the grain. No money, no hope, no health care, no job security - they know why. And one day they decide they’re not going to take it any longer. Basta. They organize the CRUSHER rebellion, Geronimo’s Revenge. Because it’s about time somebody did.
The Lovers of 9/11
Series: MARTYR. Price: Free! Words: 79,880. Language: English. Published: February 26, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political
Middle East expert falls in love with Muslima journalist, but their passionate affair ends in disaster. When they meet again, she seems transformed and sends him away. Will he ever find her again and bring back her erstwhile persona? Or will he, too, succumb to the demands of the cult she has disappeared in? Book 1 of series mixing romantic suspense with politics, religion and eventually - terror
The Curl
Price: Free! Words: 80,740. Language: English. Published: January 29, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
New kid Tom stirs up a lot of questions when he becomes friends with the school's outcasts. As he tries to maneuver through complicated friendships, he is forced to hide his own secrets. Find the true bonds of friendship when put to the test against frightening truths and questionable trust.
Unconstant Love
Price: Free! Words: 184,210. Language: English. Published: December 1, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Space opera, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime
Book III of the Bad Space Trilogy, Unconstant Love finds the crew planning and attempting the single greatest heist of both their careers and galactic history.
Red Hair Rising
Price: Free! Words: 72,810. Language: English. Published: October 27, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Christian » Short stories, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
A collection of Christian Gothic Writing by Craig Davis, a new approach to the mystical and grotesque. These stories are salted with deep themes and spiritual truths, peppered with the fantastic. For fans of Flannery O'Connor, Cormack McCarthy and C.S. Lewis.
Illusions of the Past
Price: Free! Words: 79,900. Language: English. Published: August 28, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political, Fiction » Romance » New adult
In 2042 things are different. Brad Franklin and Roberto Gomez are in their early 20’s. They’ve been raised by their respective grandparents on Brad’s family farm in Southeast Georgia. They’ve also been trained and conditioned to fight the enemy…a new kind of enemy...an enemy clearly seen by all, but unidentifiable by most, except the few that must defeat it.
Brief Pose
Price: Free! Words: 80,040. Language: English. Published: August 17, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
Eric Loan, in an anonymous city, struggles to make a new life for himself. Lonely and rejected, he takes refuge in Brief Pose’s cutting-edge advertising campaign: a clothing catalog that uses pheromones to beguile its readers. The fantasy of escape seems better than the harsh reality of the city until Eric starts to hallucinate past traumas.
Weston
Series: The Great Ones, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 132,060. Language: English. Published: May 8, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
“The world was never innocent. But I was.” –Benjamin Camden See the world through the eyes of the greatest Hollywood legend that never was.
Ravaged Souls
Price: Free! Words: 150,320. Language: English. Published: March 25, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological, Fiction » Romance » Suspense
Tom's life is a directionless mess. Then a chance encounter with a beautiful woman offers him a rare opportunity to rise above it all, if only he has the courage to take it. But Tom has a secret, one buried so deeply even he's unaware of it, and so terrible that it threatens to destroy them both. There are times when forgiveness is more than a choice, it's the difference between life and death.
November Mourning
Series: Savor The Days. Price: Free! Words: 90,130. Language: English. Published: February 3, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
November Mourning, Book 3 of Savor The Days series picks up with famed Hollywood actor Rhys Matthews (aka Evan) as he struggles to put the past behind him and find a future for himself and his family apart from his overwhelming career. "I know who you are," the ominous words of a stranger threaten to uncover the past that Evan has tried to keep buried...
What They Left Behind
Price: Free! Words: 121,090. Language: English. Published: January 28, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Coming of age, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas
Ben and Gennie Perrin, orphaned twins, are abused and abandoned by their brother. Luckily, they are adopted by a young couple and raised in San Francisco. Years later, while trying to bring their parents to California, they uncover something so unexpected it turns their world upside down. Will they reconcile with their past or will it leave them shattered like their city after the earthquake?
Reader
Series: Daughter of Time, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 71,060. Language: English. Published: January 15, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Space opera, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
From the future, a final plea. Out of the past, a last hope. A young girl, born to die in freakish disregard. A doomed world, enslaved to forces unseen. A final hope beyond imagining. Become a Reader, because in the end, the most unbelievable step in the adventure—will be your own. "A gripping science-fiction epic that will propel readers toward wonder" -ForeWord Reviews
Emerging
Price: Free! Words: 120,470. Language: English. Published: January 3, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical
From the ancient stones of Angkor Wat and the futuristic, mean streets of Siam Reap, an amazing, young girl fighting to survive becomes the most bad-ass little Buddha the world has ever seen. New advanced addictions, assassin thugs and slave dealers all try to kill Sabine, but the spirit of the life within her emerges from the dark and lights up the world in a way that only a woman could do.
Essential as Air and Water
Price: Free! Words: 76,950. Language: British English. Published: December 8, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political
Essential as Air and Water is a novel about violent events that are occurring in a time of world peace and co-operation between nations. The novel focuses on Tom Lanegan, the British Prime Minister, who is faced with an unknown enemy that is causing many of the world’s citizens to participate in rioting and civil unrest.
Rabbits Don't Make Deals
Price: Free! Words: 90,500. Language: British English. Published: November 26, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political
"...rabbits voting for other rabbits...let them vote if it makes them feel better. It doesn’t matter..."
Harrigan's Take
Price: Free! Words: 100,240. Language: English. Published: November 10, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological, Fiction » Inspirational
Mark Harrigan, college dropout and drug-addled lost child, is thrust into a life of luxury, but finds that comfort doesn't bring peace. Struggling with bi-polar disorder, Mark makes every attempt to find normalcy. This is his diary from 1989 to 2001, a glimpse into a troubled mind.
Pinatubo II
Price: Free! Words: 93,660. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Apocalyptic, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Political
On foreign contract in Africa, Vince the Calgary oilfield engineer finds his client wants a geoengineering design as the president of Niger campaigns on bringing back a Green Sahara. Driven by his daughter's future, he ignores the risk of being a drone target and takes on political negotiating. Expected to explain climate science to politicians, he becomes immersed in an intense new career.
Living Companion
Price: Free! Words: 71,260. Language: English. Published: September 24, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
A man obsessed with his work, tormented by inability to produce it and imprisoned with devotion to the cause of his madness. Struggling with anxiety, he shares a lodging with a painter, a free-spirited woman, who could just be his ruin. Burdened with perpetual observations, one thing surfaces as inevitable - he is compelled to ceaselessly think, awaiting for the end of his life work, or his own.
Enoch's Folly
Price: Free! Words: 112,130. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: August 22, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Crime
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
“You know what the old timers say about Comely? They say the Devil is afraid of him.” Aldous Comely; entrepreneur, philanthropist, bon vivant, crime lord. He has his finger on every conceivable pulse, but his grip is starting to slip. Chance encounters and unexpected friendships force him to remember what it's like to be a human being - at the worst possible time: An old enemy is back in town.
Jennifer’s Magic Book 1 — Vigilante
Series: Jennifer’s Magic. Price: Free! Words: 173,000. Language: British English. Published: August 18, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological
Evil mages torture to death Jennifer’s best friend. Jennifer leads a cadre of apprentices to capture Bad Souls. The cadre runs into a trap, and Jennifer’s boyfriend dies. She becomes catatonic. She recovers but gets cursed by a Bad Soul. Jennifer discovers different magic and captures all Bad Souls. She meets a girl with the same magic. They become master and apprentice and honorary sisters.