Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious

The Do-Over
Price: Free! Words: 14,600. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
Death is not the end--however badly Jeanette Winters wishes it was. Accompanied by Rupert, her angelic guide, Jeanette must journey through her past to correct mistakes and preserve her eternal soul. From Evan Fuller, author of Mutt & Stray, comes a scathingly scathing satirical novelette that will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams & Terry Pratchett.
Tom Garraty's Zoo
Price: Free! Words: 3,000. Language: English. Published: July 8, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
(4.00 from 2 reviews)
The local man of wealth buys a crumbling mansion and fills it with the mentally-unstable to see what happens when the cameras run.
Transitions
Series: Free Short Stories ยท My Personal Favorites. Price: Free! Words: 6,290. Language: English. Published: June 8, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
This second edition includes extensive revisions. It includes a new story. Each day we find ourselves in a state of imbalance in a world of impermanence, These new traditional Buddhist-inspired stories talk about various ways to right ourselves when there is no ground under us.
St. John's Ancients
Price: Free! Words: 1,960. Language: English. Published: May 20, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
(4.00 from 1 review)
"St. John's Ancients" is a short story by Kevin McMahon which touches on themes of aging, gods, and gentrification. Two ancient men play chess in the park and are soon visited by two gods jealous of the attention they have gained from a goddess.
Hail Mary: A Short Story
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,190. Language: English. Published: June 3, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Psychological, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
Bill just can't stay away. Every day he opens the doors, walks down the aisle, and lights his candle. Then he talks to her. Does she hear him? Will she talk back? He's not sure, but he knows one thing. He'll wait until she does.
I Can Do Anything
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 9,550. Language: English. Published: December 7, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious, Fiction » Literature » Coming of age
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
Connor Anthony Michael Holbook is an autistic twenty-four year old who, works stuffing envelopes for an Atlanta insurance company, knows all the Zip Codes used by the United States and its territories, is a tea connoisseur, loves to read, is searching for God, and is now writing a book to prove that he can do anything!
A Matter of Faith
You set the price! Words: 3,780. Language: English. Published: October 10, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious, Fiction » Literature » Religious
Science and Religion have been at war with each other for centuries if not millenia. This short story examines this struggle through the eyes of John, a scientist. He discovers definitive proof of the evolution of life billions of years ago only to have all proof lost in a natural disaster. Or was it natural? Did God intervene? Did local people intervene? How can he rationalize his experience?
The Boy Who Would Be Jesus
You set the price! Words: 5,210. Language: British English. Published: January 28, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Religious, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
You know how it is: you've moved house, started at a new school, and nobody believes you're the Son of God. Follow The Boy's journey as he learns who he is and who his friends really are.
Samson and Delilah- WORST. STORY. EVER.
Series: Simple Journeys to Odd Destinations. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,110. Language: English. Published: November 26, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » Satire, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
(5.00 from 1 review)
I don't know if you've ever read this story in the bible- but man- it sucks!
Meeting the Messiah in a Rubber Boat
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 14,260. Language: English. Published: November 16, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
The civilized world as we know it no longer exists. The stock market crashed years ago and spread panic worldwide. James, his wife Michelle, their two children and his father escape to the wilderness for safety and have survived the turmoil that has plagued the new world. Now James and his family face a new challenge: journeying across oceans to get to the holy land to meet the Messiah.
The Black Flames
Price: Free! Words: 1,120. Language: English. Published: August 25, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
What happens when you make a deal with the devil? A firsthand account of a man who made a pact with the auburn-eyed man.
Total Bull and the Buffalo
Price: Free! Words: 5,050. Language: English. Published: July 2, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Spiritual & metaphysical, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
Total Bull is a hard-working fellow from the big Cow City. But for all his hard work (a wife, a mortgage, a car) he feels like something is just missing from his life. So he decides to go on a journey of discovery. Along the way he meets the mythical and mysterious Buffalo civilization.
The Blue Hat
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,570. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
Set in New Zealand in the late 1940’s three children are sent to stay in the country where everything seems strange. This short story won a major NZ short story competition in 1990.
Bullets For Buddha
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,630. Language: English. Published: February 17, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
A short story duo: Bullets For Buddha in which an excess of zeal leads to the Dalai Lama hunted down by militants, and Looks Like God in which Jesus and several companions decide to take a second look at Earth.
Confessional Sins
Price: Free! Words: 440. Language: English. Published: February 16, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
(4.00 from 1 review)
How can one seek redemption from another far guiltier of sin?
Satan's Plea
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 10,980. Language: English. Published: January 6, 2012 by Eiso Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious, Fiction » Historical » Ancient
The battle between good and evil, God and Satan. But is everything we know about this struggle a matter of propaganda? Satan, Lucifer, the Devil, Shaytan sure thinks so. In this letter he tries to convince the human race, you, of his intentions.
The Secret Sacrament
Price: Free! Words: 2,030. Language: English. Published: December 19, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » General, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
The Secret Sacrament follows the spiritual path of a young college student who is destined for greatness. John Michael comes across a family secret that has deep implications that effect the entire world. Follow John on a path that's filled with unexpected turns, deceit, treachery and discovery.
Thus Saith Eve
Price: Free! Words: 17,160. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2011 by Magenta. Categories: Fiction » Women's fiction » Feminist, Fiction » Themes & motifs » Religious
(5.00 from 1 review)
A collection of epistles, each written from the point of view of one of the women from The Bible, as if she had a contemporary feminist consciousness. For example, Eve does not accept blame for choosing the apple, for choosing knowledge over obedience. And you can imagine what Noah’s wife had to say about his grand idea. Feminist theology. New audition monologues.