Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers

The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown
By Marlayna Glynn Brown
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 290,960. Language: English. Published: April 2, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Three full-length novels in one compilation! Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning collection of best-selling memoirist Marlayna Glynn Brown's three tales of survival and resilience. This collection includes three of Glynn Brown's acclaimed memoirs describing her turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood, teenage and young adult years in Los An
Indie Authors Naked
By Loren Kleinman
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 44,900. Language: English. Published: January 3, 2014 by IndieReader Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Comprised of a series of essays and interviews by indie authors, booksellers and publishers, readers will get a look at the many aspects of the indie community, where publishing professionals of all types come together with the simple goal of creating something unique; something that speaks directly to the reader, no middleman necessary.
My Story
By Craig Lock
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 30,070. Language: English (South African dialect). Published: October 28, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
The "Diary of a Rolling Stone": Craig is an extensive world traveller (on a "shoestring budget") and failed professional emigrater who has spent most of his lifes savings on airfares. He is still sliding down the razor blade of life on the beautiful undiscovered island that is New Zealand, somewhere near the bottom (rude!) of the world near Antarctica. There he talks to the 60 million sheep!
Us and Them
By Sid Tafler
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 56,020. Language: English. Published: September 23, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Did you ever feel your face prickle under the hostile gaze of a stranger? Us and Them is a vivid memoir for anyone who ever feared or mistrusted another person because of their skin color, their religion or the language they spoke--or faced that fear and suspicion. "Graceful, lucid writing." Vancouver Sun "Told with skill and sensitivity." Victoria Times Colonist
Outrageous Fortune
By Terence Frisby
Price: $8.00 USD. Words: 214,410. Language: English. Published: August 9, 2013 by Amolibros. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Controversial, passionate and wittily written account of a leading playwright’s success, marriage, divorce and his encounter with legal stupidity and malice.A young actor/playwright, a nobody from nowhere, met a beautiful aspiring model. They fell in love, married; he wrote an international smash hit play and film comedy and made their fortune with There’s A Girl in My Soup.
Canadian Scribbler: Collected Letters of an Underground Writer
By A.P. Fuchs
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 60,880. Language: English. Published: July 22, 2013 by Coscom Entertainment. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Always insightful, often witty and consistently inspirational, Canadian Scribbler: Collected Letters of an Underground Writer is a thoughtful collection of letters from one man whose passion for the creative industry—and trying to survive in it—shines through on every page.
Mission Abandoned: A Corporate News Blackout, A Life Intersected
By Maureen A. Griswold
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 30,400. Language: English. Published: May 27, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
The 2003-2004 journey of Maureen A. Griswold, former Army nurse, former journalist, and sister of a Vietnam War casualty, with corporate and independent U.S. news media regarding the virtually blacked-out story of George W. Bush's own wartime AWOL/desertion. Stark revelations, ironies, and lessons about journalism, U.S. news media, and war emerge and inform.
Malcolm is a little unwell
By Malcolm Brabant
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 85,470. Language: English. Published: May 20, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
‘Malcolm is a little unwell’ is the shocking, gripping narrative of Malcolm Brabant’s descent into madness caused by a routine yellow fever vaccination. The book chronicles a Kafkaesque journey through insanity during which Brabant first believes he is the Messiah and later, the Devil. Brabant, an award winning veteran BBC foreign correspondent, attempts suicide in order to save the world.
Rattlesnake Dreams: An American Warrior's Story
By Dean Metcalf
Price: $8.00 USD. Words: 171,140. Language: English. Published: April 15, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
A memoir of war, journalism, and growing up in the US Pacific Northwest. Spans the second half of the 20th century, and into the 21st. True stories, nightmares and dreams; and one essay.
Drunk on Sports
By Tim Cowlishaw
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 57,550. Language: English. Published: March 18, 2013 and represented by David Vigliano. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Far be it from Tim Cowlishaw to advise against drinking, as he admits that it got him the inside track on some of the best stories of his sports writing career. But Tim has learned the hard way the hazards of over-doing it, and shares his highs and lows in the entertaining, yet poignant Drunk on Sports. Follow along with amusing accounts of sports history, from head coach drama to Super Bowl wins.
Bloguear a ciegas
By Ángel Santiesteban
Price: $4.55 USD. Words: 30,190. Language: Spanish. Published: February 17, 2013 by El Barco Ebrio Editorial. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Selección de textos periodísticos del escritor Ángel Santiesteban. Son apenas una porción y no guardan más orden que el valor del testimonio que gana fuerza frente a un poder omnímodo que impide la palabra.
The Fixer
By Bob Andrews
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 39,970. Language: English. Published: January 12, 2013 by booksmango. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
After more than 50 years in journalism, Bob Andrews decided it was time to come clean and disclose the tricks of his often maligned trade. Andrews—author of “Boom Boom Baby”: and “Sticky Rice at the Orchid Café—takes the reader on a tour of his old haunts in North America, Europe, Africa and Asia. “It reads like a detective story,” said a writer for Le Monde, Paris.
Goodbye, Walter: The Inspiring Story of a Terminal Cancer Patient
By RuthAnn Hogue
Price: $4.95 USD. Words: 42,000. Language: English. Published: November 10, 2012 by WindRiver Publishing. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
RuthAnn Hogue volunteered for an assignment no one else wanted—to write about hospice care and terminal cancer patient Walter Schifter. The experience opened her eyes to the life-altering affects of cancer and the spiritually exalting strength of love. The memory of Walter's dignity and the strength earned through her experience supported her during her own crisis—and they can help you, too.
The Mindset of a Champion: Your Favorite Rapper's Least Favorite Book
By Byron Crawford
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 48,680. Language: English. Published: October 24, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Memoir by the legendary hip-hop blogger, charting the rise and fall of his career as a semi-professional hip-hop journalist.
Hanging Out in Paris and Hollywood "The Turbulent Journey of a Filmmaker"
By Aslam Ansari
Price: $150.00 USD. Words: 37,510. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
Two CIA agents are shot dead outside the CIA headquarters in Langley by a Pakistani man Aimal Kansi. The story had hit the world news headlines. A filmmaker living in Paris sets out to make a film on this story, and aims to expose the truth beyond the news. He goes to Hollywood where the unexpected happens. And soon his life turns upside-down... A quest for idealism...
Heiress Strangled in Molten Chocolate at Nazi Sex Orgy! – A Memoir
By Peter Hochstein
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 69,640. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
“Portnoy’s Complaint” meets “The Front Page.” A naïve kid with oppressive Jewish parents gets into journalism for all the wrong reasons, finds himself in over his head on a big city daily, but manages a modest success anyway. It’s a true story populated with swashbuckling 1960s newspaper types, parents with nutty hang-ups, a few celebrities, and an occasional scoundrel.
George Orwell: An Introduction to the Man and his Work
By Andrew Means
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 36,060. Language: English. Published: August 27, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography
The life and writing of novelist and essayist George Orwell, from his childhood in England to his masterpieces, Animal Farm and 1984, and finally his death from tuberculosis in 1950.
They're Gonna Murder You - War Stories From My Life at the News Front
By Clarence Jones
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 73,010. Language: English. Published: August 3, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
As an investigative reporter, Clarence Jones was always taking risks. Friends constantly warned: They're Gonna Murder You. His specialties were organized crime, crooked cops and politicians. Who better to kill you than cops who will investigate the homicide? He was the only reporter for a local station to ever win TV's equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize 3 times. A stunning book. A remarkable career.
Gone To Bed
By Charles Bryce
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 63,120. Language: English. Published: June 23, 2012 by Darling Newspaper Press. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
A British migrant family, determined to prosper, created a newspaper to dazzle the forested suburbs east of Perth, Western Australia. Over 21 years it battled media giants to pioneer the state's suburban press. This memoir relates the odd events and zany characters met along the way, starting without capital in a derelect haunted hotel. It shows how any community is a trove of wonder.
Shouting for Justice: The Journey of a Jewish Journalist
By Herb Brin
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 37,450. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This memoir of Herb Brin reveals a truly unique American life, the story of a courageous journalist, publisher, and poet, who was a tireless fighter, both for his people and for justice. Born in 1915 to a poor Chicago family of immigrants, Herb became a gangland reporter in 1930s Chicago, served as an army reporter during World War II, then covered top stories of the century.