Nonfiction » History » European » Europe / Great Britain

World War ll London Blitz Diary Volume 4
Series: World War ll London Blitz Diaries, Book 4. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 77,970. Language: English. Published: February 13, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » Politics and Current Affairs » History
This Diary is the 4th diary in a series of 4 diaries and was written during the World War two London Blitz years by a woman experiencing the nightly terrifying bombings. The diary reveals what the average Londoner experienced during that time; events that today have been forgotten or lost to younger generations.
Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire: Ultimate Fan Guide
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 9,500. Language: American English. Published: August 4, 2013 by Kimberly Wilder. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Royalty biography, Nonfiction » History » European
Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire is the great-great-great-great aunt of Princess Diana and a relative of Baby Cambridge.This ultimate fan guide celebrates Georgiana's life as loving mother, entertaining friend, de facto politician, and Empress of Fashion. It includes reviews and an "Absolute Plot Spoiler" for biography, movie, and DVD. A must read for fans of Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire.
Boxford Station - Stations of the Great Western Railway GWR
Series: Stations of the Great Western Railway, Book 4. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,400. Language: English. Published: March 21, 2012 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » Transportation » Railroads / History
A dedicated history of a once busy rural station on a branch line of the Great Western Railway. Boxford was for many years a bustling little rural station on the branch line from Newbury to Lambourn. It is closed now, but some of the older residents can still remember the trains rattling through the station.
The Lathom Remount Depot of World War One
Price: Free! Words: 28,850. Language: English. Published: November 16, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European
A moving and sensitive account, using contemporary material of that time, of the selection and training of horses and mules at the Lathom Remount Depot (UK). Before crossing the English Channel to engage in battle some of them had already traversed the Atlantic by boat having been through the selection process in North America.
Lakeland Hunting Memories - Volume Two
Series: Lakeland Hunting Memories, Book 2. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 24,360. Language: English. Published: December 18, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » Sports & outdoor recreation » Hunting
This book is another dip into recollections of life in the English Lake District during the ‘50s and ‘60s. Ron Black was born and bred in the English Lake District, like his forefathers, and here relates some of his memories of hunting with hounds, competing in fell races, the heroic exploits of his family members, along with historical accounts written in the 1800s and earlier. 24,000 words.
Who Decides? A Journey out of the Shadows
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 77,890. Language: English. Published: December 12, 2012 by BWM Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » History » European
A young child faces the unknown. The tragic death of her mother from Tuberculosis. The uncertainty of the war years. The hateful treatment of her sadistic stepmother not only to herself but to her father and her two sisters. Yet still giving her the strength to grow into a capable person, with great hopes for the future.
Boudicca: Britain's Queen of the Iceni
Series: The Legendary Women of World History, 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 8,760. Language: American English. Published: June 26, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Children's Books » Biography & Autobiography / Women, Nonfiction » History » European
(4.00 from 7 reviews)
Why is The Morrígan's raven crying? Only Britons with hearts for true liberty know! In 43 CE Roman conquest of Britannia seems all but certain -- until a chance meeting between King Prasutagus of the Iceni and a runaway slave of royal decent from the Aedui tribe in Gaul changes the fate of the British islands forever. Tacitus meets modern archaeology in this exciting non-fiction tale!
Las Bóer Guerras - Una Breve Historia
You set the price! Words: 7,650. Language: Spanish. Published: December 11, 2012 by UK Independent Publishers. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Africa, Nonfiction » History » European
Las Guerras Anglo-Bóer le introducirán en una de las guerras victorianas del Imperio Británico. Se trata de un completo informe de las dos Guerras Anglo-Bóer que se libraron entre 1880-1881 y 1899-1902. Una historia fascinante acerca de una de las guerras más sangrientas y costosas de todo un siglo, que enfrentó a las dos Repúblicas Bóer de Sudáfrica
Toulouse - 1814
Series: Bretwalda Battles, Book 19. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 27,600. Language: English. Published: February 20, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Military, Nonfiction » History » European
By the spring of 1814 the Peninsular War was nearing its climax. The British army under Wellington was invading southern France, but they were faced by a larage French army under the cunning French Marshal Soult. Wellington’s attack on Toulouse was to prove to be one of his hardest fought actions.
The Huguenots in London
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 1,200. Language: English. Published: January 7, 2012 by Hazlett Lynch. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European
(3.00 from 1 review)
A snapshot of the history of Huguenot refugees from France when they settled in London in the 17th and 18th centuries. Catholic Louis XIV had persecuted the Protestants and they were forced to flee their homes to save their lives. Many came to London, though some continued to Ireland. This story zooms in on one such central London church.
The Siege of Badajoz 1812
Series: Bretwalda Battles, Book 23. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 29,970. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » History » Military
The bloodiest siege of the Napoleonic Wars was the 1812 attack on Badajoz by Wellington’s British army in the Peninsular War. Not only were the casualties among combatants heavy, but the subsequent sack of the city saw brutality, murder and rape on an unprecedented scale.
Stockcross & Bagnor Station - Stations of the Great Western Railway
Series: Stations of the Great Western Railway, Book 3. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,780. Language: English. Published: March 21, 2012 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » Transportation » Railroads / History
A dedicated history of one of this rural station on the Great Western Railway. Stockcross and Bagnor Station no more. This once bustling rural branch line station closed in the 1960s. Steam engines once chuffed up the long gradient from Newbury, stopped at Stockcross and Bagnor and then pushed on to Lambourn at the end of the line.
Eastbury Halt - Stations of the Great Western Railway GWR
Series: Stations of the Great Western Railway, Book 6. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,390. Language: English. Published: March 24, 2012 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » Transportation » Railroads / Pictorial
A beguiling history of one of the long vanished stations on the Great Western Railway. Eastbury Halt was never one of the busiest stations on the GWR, and now is no more. There were often more milk churns on the platform than passengers, but the station still had a special place in this tiny village and occupied one of the most scenic sites of any railway station.
The Battle of Lincoln 1141
Series: Bretwalda Battles, Book 3. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,790. Language: English. Published: March 25, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European
A book dedicated to the Battle of Lincoln that marked a turning point in the Wars of Anarchy during the reign of King Stephen in the 12th century.
Great Shefford - Stations of the Great Western Railway GWR
Series: Stations of the Great Western Railway, Book 8. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,080. Language: English. Published: March 25, 2012 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » Transportation » Railroads / History
An engaging history of one of the lost branch line stations on the Great Western Railway. Great Shefford Station is no more. Although it was once a bustling village station with a thriving trade in timber felled in nearby woods, there is little left on the ground to show where this railway station once stood.
The Battle of Wimbledon (568) - A Bretwalda Battle
Series: Bretwalda Battles, Book 12. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 7,080. Language: British English. Published: July 14, 2012 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Middle ages, Nonfiction » History » European
In the chaos that engulfed Britain after the “Age of Arthur”, one battle stands out. This was a key battle fought in the heart of the Dark Ages for control of southern Britain that pitched the King of Kent against the leader of the Romano-Britons. The victory won here decided the fate of Britain for a generation.
Elizabeth I: A Short Biography
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 29,540. Language: British English. Published: May 22, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Biography, Nonfiction » History » European
A short and concise biography of Elizabeth I, discussing her reign and the events that happened during this period of history. This book also includes brief biographies of some of the key figures in her reign.
Welsh Legends and Myths
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 67,160. Language: English. Published: July 26, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European
A collection of sixty four entertaining Welsh legends, gathered from across Wales. Previously published in four volumes as ‘Legends and Myths from Wales’.
Speen for Donnington - Stations of the Great Western Railway GWR
Series: Stations of the Great Western Railway, Book 2. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,550. Language: English. Published: March 21, 2012 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European
A dedicated history of one of the vanished Great Western Railway stations that closed in the 1960s. Speen for Donnington Station once had its own full time staff and a thriving traffic of passengers and agricultural produce. Now the station is gone. This is the story of the station and the communities it served.
The Battle of Chesterfield 1266
Series: Bretwalda Battles, Book 4. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 14,180. Language: English. Published: March 25, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Categories: Nonfiction » History » European, Nonfiction » History » Military
A book dedicated to the Battle of Chesterfield that ended the Baronial Wars of King Henry III against Simon de Montfort.