Nonfiction » History » European » Europe / Great Britain

Older Lady's Day (Book 5 Regency Life Series)
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 8,990. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2015. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A pictorial view of an older lady's day, both the working and social aspects, in the early 1800’s (Regency Era). Historic images, information, quotes, and funny anecdotes, show how an older lady was kept busy running a household, hosting social events, and raising healthy and happy children. A light-hearted look at the often frivolous life of a lady during the longer Regency years.
Young Lady's Day (Book 4 Regency Life Series)
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 5,340. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2015. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A young lady's often-frivolous life and fashions in the early 1800’s (Regency Era) are shown through pictures and information, as well as a glimpse into the more serious occupations a young lady may undertake. Historic images, information, and funny anecdotes show how a young lady fills her day, what she wears, where she is permitted to go, and how she spends her time.
Young Gentleman's Day (Book 2 Regency Life Series )
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 4,990. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2015. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A pictorial and humorous look at a young gentleman’s day in the early 1800’s (Regency Era). Historic images, information, and funny anecdotes show how a young man fills his day, where he goes, and who he spends time with. A light-hearted look at the longer Regency years are an easy to read overview of fashion, entertainment, and the places he visited.
Older Gentleman's Day (Book 3 Regency Life Series)
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,220. Language: English. Published: January 18, 2015. Category: Nonfiction » History » Modern / 19th Century
Older Gentleman’s Day is Book 3 in the Regency Life Series and shows both the fun and stresses that an older gentleman faced every day in the early 1800’s. Through historic images, historical information, and funny anecdotes, it shows an older gentleman juggling the family finances while fulfilling a large list of social obligations and taking his seat in parliament.
The Mounth Passes: A Heritage Guide to the Old Ways Through the Grampian Mountains
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 10,790. Language: English. Published: August 30, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
The Mounth passes are the old ways through the Grampian mountains of Scotland. Twelve passes are profiled in this eBook, from the Causey Mounth on the eastern coast to the Monega Pass deep in the heart of the Highlands. Each route is considered from an historical perspective, followed by a guide to walking the trail today. Widely illustrated with photographs.
Alchemy in Medieval and Tudor England
By
Price: $3.25 USD. Words: 17,660. Language: British English. Published: June 25, 2014 by The New Curiosity Shop. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
This book guides you through the arrival and growth of alchemy in England in the medieval and Tudor periods.
The Johnston and Hamilton Families of Crear: A Memoir of Two Argyll Families
By
Price: Free! Words: 5,630. Language: English. Published: April 23, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » History » Family history
Bessie Johnston, my great-grandmother, came from Crear in Argyll, not far from the Mull of Kintyre. When she came to New Zealand as a war bride, almost all contact with her family in Scotland was lost. Bessie's family cut her off and she died, tragically young, in 1922. For almost 80 years, the Johnston connection remained a mystery. This is how it was solved.
The Battle of Nibley Green
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 7,250. Language: English. Published: March 8, 2014 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » Military
On a spring morning in 1470 the peace of Gloucestershire was shattered by the sounds of battle. The Wars of the Roses had come to this peaceful corner of southwestern England in spectacular and bloody fashion.
Age of Arthur
By
Price: Free! Words: 3,070. Language: American English. Published: January 26, 2014. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
(4.00 from 1 review)
Look, you have to look at this from the bright side. Rome's gone, which might mean no income, no military, and no trade for a carpenter or a craftsman at your level with the money you are used to. But it also means opportunity. The people are going to want protection. And look at you, you're young. You are tall and strong from felling trees. You can be that protection.
Maggie Wall—The Witch Who Never Was
By
Price: $3.50 USD. Words: 16,210. Language: English. Published: December 4, 2013 by The New Curiosity Shop. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A remarkable and striking B-listed roadside cross in Perthshire in Scotland is painted with the words ‘MAGGIE WALL BURNT HERE AS A WITCH 1657′ Maggie Wall has subsequently become the most famous witch in Scotland, featuring in folklore, folk history and modern pagan belief alike. Which is strange, seeing as she never existed. This is the story of the Witch Who Never Was.
Lancelot - The Truth behind the Legend - Celtic Twilight
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 6,970. Language: English. Published: November 6, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
Of all the Knights of the Round Table, none is so famous as Sir Lancelot. He is both the finest of the Arthurian knights, and the worst. He is the champion of the Round Table, and the reason for its destruction. He is loyal, yet treacherous. Noble, but base. His is a complex character that combines the best and worst of the world of chivalry in one person.
Niall of the Nine Hostages - Celtic Twilight
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 6,290. Language: English. Published: November 6, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
In this book historian Oliver Hayes goes back to the original legends, old manuscripts and seeks to disentangle fact from legend to reveal the true character and career of that greatest of early Irish High Kings - Niall of the Nine Hostages.
The Lost Tomb of King Arthur
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,000. Language: English. Published: October 25, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
In about the year 1190 monks at Glastonbury Abbey in Somerset claimed that they had found the tomb of King Arthur. The discovery is today routinely dismissed as a crude hoax worked by monks greedy for the money that would come from a stream of pilgrims visiting the tomb. But was it a hoax? And if Arthur was not buried in Glastonbury, where was he buried?
King Lud - The Celtic God Who Founded London
By
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 9,210. Language: English. Published: October 21, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
According to legend, London was founded by King Lud, ruler of the Trinovantes tribe of Celts in the 1st century bc. But there is much more to King Lud than prehistoric kingship. Tracing the ancient legends back to their source, historian Oliver Hayes reveals a remakable truth - that “King Lud” was really a god and London was his Holy City.
Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John
By
Series: Stories of Medieval Gower. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 10,450. Language: British English. Published: September 1, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » History » Medieval
King John's brutal treatment of William de Breos led to rebellion by many of the great barons and was the final spark that lit the fire of Magna Carta.
Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire: Ultimate Fan Guide
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 9,500. Language: American English. Published: August 4, 2013 by Kimberly Wilder. Category: Nonfiction » Biography » Royalty biography
Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire is the great-great-great-great aunt of Princess Diana and a relative of Baby Cambridge.This ultimate fan guide celebrates Georgiana's life as loving mother, entertaining friend, de facto politician, and Empress of Fashion. It includes reviews and an "Absolute Plot Spoiler" for biography, movie, and DVD. A must read for fans of Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire.
The Battle of Bosworth 1485 - and the Burial of King Richard III
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 15,040. Language: English. Published: July 21, 2013 by Bretwalda Books. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A book dedicated to the Battle of Bosworth, the key turning point in the closing stages of the Wars of the Roses, together with the burial and rediscovery of the body of King Richard III.
Wild People: a history of wild acting people in Newcastle
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,440. Language: English. Published: July 16, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A history of wildness in Newcastle. People ignoring rules and etiquette is a tradition in Newcastle that goes back hundreds of years. In this book I explore the criminal, the doctor who treat himself and his patient naked in Newcastle and gathered a large crowd, and much much more.
Bloody Mary: Queen of England
By
Series: 15-Minute Books · 15-Minute Biographies. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,080. Language: English. Published: June 17, 2013 by LearningIsland.com. Category: Nonfiction » Children's Books » Biography & Autobiography / Historical
Mary Tudor was a princess who should have been a queen. But her father shunned and disowned her because she was not a boy. After the deaths of her father and half brother, she had to fight those in power who sought to keep her off the throne. Eventually crowned Queen of England, her battles to abolish her father’s new church and return England to Roman Catholicism eaarned her the name Bloody Mary.
The Rex Guide to the Kings and Queens of England
By
Series: The Rex Guides, Book 1. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,550. Language: English. Published: June 13, 2013. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
A handy guide to the Kings and Queens of England in chronological order.