Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills

The Editor's Lexicon: Essential Writing Terms for Novelists
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 13,860. Language: English. Published: February 12, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 1 review)
Become revision-savvy and talk about fiction like a pro. Written by an experienced editor and writing teacher, this dictionary-style reference book decodes and demonstrates the editorial jargon used in writing workshops and manuscript critiques. In the tradition of Strunk & White's revered "The Elements of Style," this concise, indispensable reference volume will fortify your self-editing skills.
Brainstorming with Writing Prompts
Price: Free! Words: 920. Language: English. Published: August 10, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Creativity
Demonstrates how-to use the free automated writing prompts from Plagerize.Me to brainstorm your next story using a randomly generated set of writing prompts.
Successful Nonfiction
Price: $7.97 USD. Words: 29,900. Language: English. Published: July 4, 2009. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing
An excellent inspirational resource for nonfiction writers from Dan Poynter. Each page hits the nonfiction writer right in the thought process with a tip, an explanation, an illustrative story and a writing quotation.
So You Don't Have Time
Price: Free! Words: 2,860. Language: English. Published: November 29, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Personal & Practical Guides
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
You want to write. Specifically you want to write short stories. But you don't know how, you've tried before and the result was disappointing. You don't have time. This short chapbook will walk you through the basic steps of writing short stories, and with only limited amounts of time. It contains the lessons I've learned from my past ten years of writing experience.
Little Book Of Tips For Descriptive Writing
Price: Free! Words: 42,090. Language: English. Published: January 24, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Words lists
(5.00 from 1 review)
A Little Book Of - very easy - Tips For Descriptive Writing. This book is a gem, if only for the list of creative words Patti had generously put together, to save the budding writer the time and effort of having to do so. Thanks Patti. Jeremy Poole. Includes Bonus reading includes Writing Tips from Authors.
Story Alchemy: The Search for the Philosopher's Stone of Storytelling
Series: Author's Craft, Book 2. Price: Free! Words: 61,810. Language: English. Published: March 14, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Screenwriting
For the advanced author. Screenwriter? Novelist? Playwright? Write short stories? Story Alchemy presents a powerful new technique for establishing story structure and gaining insight into the entire creative process. If you thought Novelsmithing was good, you'll be blown away by Story Alchemy.
Preserving Memories: How to Write a Family History
Price: Free! Words: 6,910. Language: English. Published: March 8, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
Families often lose their histories through the generations, which may explain why genealogy — the process of trying to trace and recapture that history — is hugely popular. Learn how to preserve your precious family memories for future generations, whether you simply want to print a few copies on your computer or publish a hardcover book to sell to the general public
Opening Lines For Your First Novel: Forging Your Writers Craft Into A Page Turning Novel They Won't Be Able to Put Down
Price: Free! Words: 9,270. Language: English. Published: January 2, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Every single author or soon-to-be author longs to write a bestselling page-turner that keeps the coveted reader up late at night. We want to sell books, to get glowing reviews, but how do we get there? First we have to get them to buy our book and for them to want to buy that book, those few few lines at the beginning have to get their interest and hang on for dear life. Join author Paul Buckner
Novelsmithing, The Structural Foundation of Plot, Character, and Narration
Series: Author's Craft, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 57,890. Language: English. Published: March 31, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
Novelsmithing provides the beginning novelist, or perhaps even the experienced novelist who has lost his way, with a discussion of the underlying structure and methods of novel writing. Nowhere else can the aspiring author learn the skills necessary to achieve the organic unity of the novelist's divine trinity: character, conflict and theme, so necessary to a fine work of literature.
11 Tips For New Writers
Series: Writing Tips. Price: Free! Words: 10,650. Language: American English. Published: January 20, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Do you want to write a story but don't know how to start? Are you wondering how to handle storytelling elements like plot, setting, and point of view? Are you stuck in the middle of your story? Are you looking for encouragement to keep going? This book addresses all of these and more.
Useful Free Websites - For Creative Writers
Price: Free! Words: 5,920. Language: British English. Published: April 9, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Want to get on with writing instead of endlessly searching for information? Want to know which websites would be most useful to you as a writer? Want to know what FREE websites are out there to help you on your writing journey?
The Scribe
Price: Free! Words: 3,610. Language: English. Published: April 5, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Fiction » Literary collections » American / General
Literary publication for writers, by writers
Ringer's Secret School of Writing - Learn to Write Creatively
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 10,170. Language: English. Published: February 4, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Literacy
Ringer's Secret School of Writing explodes the myth, which says that you must suffer in order to write. The biggest part of this school is the playground. When we write, everything is possible - other worlds, heroic action, true love. The 8 lessons (+ bonus lesson) will call forth your imagination and provide a structure that will move you across the page. Each writing session is an adventure.
Journey to Creativity Exploring Your Writing Through Your Senses
Price: $5.77 USD. Words: 6,630. Language: English. Published: April 23, 2009. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
We carry our writer’s toolkit with us at all times. Our own bodies are living, breathing founts of creativity. This ebook takes you on a journey of creativity through using your senses. Each essay explores a sense, providing you with prompts to encourage your own writing.
WRITE NOW! (How To Write That Novel--Today)
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,210. Language: English. Published: August 15, 2009 by Fifth Column Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Motivation and inspiration, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
An Amazon-Kindle Bestseller: "ALL ARTISTIC ENDEAVORS ARE ACHIEVEMENTS UNTO THEMSELVES" Whether you're a published author experiencing writer's block, a first-time novelist grappling with a debut, or a lover of literature who wants to gain insight into what it takes to write a good book, this inspiring tutorial will help keep the juices flowing, and demystify the creative process at the same time.
HOW TO WRITE GENRE FICTION plus Creative Fiction and Script Writing extras, and Non-fiction
Price: Free! Words: 21,140. Language: English. Published: March 19, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Literacy
A useful and entertaining free 30 chapter resource for your creative writing, non-fiction too! HOW TO WRITE GENRE FICTION has popular genres - Crime, Romance, Horror... and How to get Ideas, plus extracts from our Fiction and Script writing books, and some non-fiction guides too. Most of the guides have exercises. Get it now! From Story Software, makers of Story Turbo, the top creative writing app
Write it Right - Tips for Authors, Volume I, 2nd Edition
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 46,100. Language: English. Published: January 24, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Reference
(5.00 from 5 reviews)
Write it Right - Tips for Authors, Vol. I, 2nd Edition, written and compiled by an award-winning novelist, is a major source of information for breathing life into your prose. Learn how to polish your work with a collection of extraordinary tips and examples for making your writing the best that it can be.
About Writing
You set the price! Words: 12,580. Language: English. Published: July 1, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
Everything I've learned over the past 30 years about improving your writing, publishing it, and promoting it after the sale. Since the first 20 of those years involved collecting hundreds of rejection letters, we can hope I've learned a lot. Never pay to be published!
Put the Cat In the Oven Before You Describe the Kitchen
Price: Free! Words: 7,370. Language: English. Published: September 5, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
There are hundreds of fantastic books about writing for hopeful authors to choose from, but most of them are boring, complicated, and bogged down by filler. This little book is brief, straight forward, and easy to understand.
The Scribe -- Spring 2013
Price: Free! Words: 10,630. Language: English. Published: April 10, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Fiction » Literature » Literary
The St. Louis Writers Guild presents The Scribe: Literary publication for writers, by writers