Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills

How to Write a Great Query Letter
Price: Free! Words: 15,080. Language: English. Published: July 20, 2009. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Many books have been written about the query letter. But few have been written by literary agents, who receive thousands of queries each year and who grapple with them on a daily basis. New York literary agent Noah Lukeman offers his insights on the query letter, sharing an insider's perspective, giving insights and practical tips about what works and what doesn’t.
Writing Between the Sexes
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 9,360. Language: English. Published: March 14, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Nonfiction. Men and women think, talk, and act differently -- which causes problems for writers who are trying to create characters of the opposite sex. Award-winning author Leigh Michaels (author of On Writing Romance) shares the secrets of why and how men and women are different and how to use the differences to create realistic -- but not stereotypical -- characters.
Self-Editing: Two Half Brains Make a Whole Writer
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 13,070. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2011 by Seven Rivers Publishing. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Grammar and punctuation
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Self-Editing: Bringing Out Your Best (Two Half Brains Make a Whole Writer) -- practical professional advice from Deborah J. Lightfoot, published author and gainfully employed editor. Drawn from the author's 25 years of experience in newspaper, magazine, and book writing and editing, this book offers nuts-and-bolts advice on fixing common errors: eliminating wordiness, using the active voice, etc.
Writing Starter Kit: Mini Edition
Price: Free! Words: 2,310. Language: English. Published: May 16, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Reference
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
The Writing Starter Kit: Mini Edition is a great reference book for writers who need a little extra push to get started. Inside you will find 15 ways to beat writers block, 50 writing prompts, 10 writing forms and their lengths, and a basic outline.
Bootstrapping For Indies
Price: Free! Words: 9,960. Language: English. Published: March 16, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Are you wondering... Whether you can make money self-publishing, even if you don’t have money to spend? If you can put out a polished book without spending thousands of dollars? Maybe you haven't started yet and are wondering how much this whole self-publishing thing is going to cost you... If you've asked yourself any of these questions, then "Bootstrapping For Indies" is the book for you.
The Seven Writerly Sins
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 3,540. Language: English. Published: February 24, 2011 by FrostProof808. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
This nonfiction booklet explains seven common snags committed by many writers when writing narrative.
The 365-Day Writer’s Block Workbook (Volume 1)
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,280. Language: English. Published: November 2, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Fiction » Educational
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Over a thousand sentence starts, three per day, with writing tips at the end of each week to motivate and inspire, providing kick-starts to avoid the dreaded ‘writer’s block’. Useful for any writer at any level, whether they have 10 minutes or 10 hours, to start a new project. Also an ideal tool for writing groups.
Write Better
Price: $2.95 USD. Words: 9,200. Language: English. Published: February 4, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
This book, growing out of years of writing experience, offers what every aspiring writer needs: quick, practical tips that are immediately applicable to any writing project. One reviewer said: Your tips have changed the way I write. I heard you more clearly than all the teachers, professors, educators, and books on writing that I have had in my life.
Writing Your Book: Cashing in on publishing faster, easier, and cheaper
Price: $4.97 USD. Words: 8,790. Language: English. Published: October 11, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Write Today—Earn Tomorrow New equipment and new techniques make writing a book faster, easier and cheaper. You will discover: • What fiction and nonfiction subjects are in demand. • How large is your potential reading market • Where to find the information for your book • How and where to sell your book online This book provides the shortcut to becoming a published author.
Emotion Amplifiers
Price: Free! Words: 15,740. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Thesauri
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Emotion Amplifiers, a companion to The Emotion Thesaurus, explores 15 common states that galvanize emotion. States like exhaustion, boredom, and pain can push characters to the limit, compromising their decision-making abilities and decreasing the likelihood of them reaching their goals. Emotion Amplifiers is a tool for any writer wishing to amp up the volatility & vulnerability in their stories.
NaNoWriMo: A Cheater's Guide
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 14,700. Language: English. Published: October 26, 2015 by Buttontapper Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Teaching methods & materials / language arts, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Never won National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) before? Struggling to figure out what you're doing wrong? You need to start cheating.
Fifty Spooky Writing Prompts
You set the price! Words: 1,700. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Creativity
(5.00 from 1 review)
The Spookiest Prompts in Town! Choose your poison among fifty creepy, crawly, chilling prompts! You will be hard-pressed to put the pen down - or turn off the light when darkness falls. Whether you are looking for a fun blogging topic or the idea that will inspire your next novel, we have your back. Take a peek, and be instantly inspired! We do not recommend you start this book late at night.
My Oldest Memory
Price: Free! Words: 1,010. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2009. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Reference
(5.00 from 1 review)
This writing sample is in the form, “Child as the narrator" I have a new appreciation for the memories that young children make and keep. This is my actual memory from when I was 20 months old. A great read for anyone who dares to underestimate the memory retention of infants and toddlers. For adults 18+ for drug reference.
The Editor's Lexicon: Essential Writing Terms for Novelists
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 13,860. Language: English. Published: February 12, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 1 review)
Become revision-savvy and talk about fiction like a pro. Written by an experienced editor and writing teacher, this dictionary-style reference book decodes and demonstrates the editorial jargon used in writing workshops and manuscript critiques. In the tradition of Strunk & White's revered "The Elements of Style," this concise, indispensable reference volume will fortify your self-editing skills.
The Walk
Price: Free! Words: 810. Language: English. Published: July 18, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Inspiration » Spiritual inspiration
(5.00 from 1 review)
Non-Fiction Creative Writing Example: A discriptive account of my observations made during one of my walks.
The Rewritten Word: How to Sculpt Literary Art, No Matter the Genre
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 7,500. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
The only How-to-Write book that has nothing to do with writing. It's all about rewriting. Whittle away what buries the art of your words beneath pulp, no matter the topic, no matter the genre.
Investment Writing Top Tips 2012
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 8,100. Language: English. Published: April 6, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Marketing, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Your communications with clients and prospects are essential to the success of your investment, wealth management, or financial planning firm. Investment Writing Top Tips 2012 gives you information you can use to boost the effectiveness of your marketing, social media, and writing.
Online Content Writing - Tips for Creative Copy
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,610. Language: English. Published: May 7, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 1 review)
The world of content writing has changed dramatically thanks to Google's far-reaching algorithm changes. In light of these changes, this eBook discusses such fascinating topics as where to find winning ideas for your blog posts or articles, how to structure an article, how to make your writing more persuasive, tips for taking your writing to the next level...and much more.
101Erotic Romance Story Starters
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,810. Language: English. Published: October 26, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 1 review)
Every good romance novel begins the same way – with a story idea. Yet compelling story ideas aren’t always easy to come by. Sometimes we all need a little inspiration - a spark that ignites our imagination and excites the writing muse. Designed to kick start your imagination they include dialogue starters, scenes, open ended scenarios, and even story endings.
The Traits & Habits of Successful Bloggers: What Separates the Best from the Rest
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,040. Language: British English. Published: December 21, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Computers and Internet » Blogging, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Not everyone has what it takes to make it to the top. The most successful bloggers on the internet all share qualities that have helped them get to the top and stay there. In ‘The Traits & Habits of Successful Bloggers‘ you will learn what sets them apart from everyone else and find out what is required of you in order to become a pro blogger.

Related Categories