Fiction » Literature

Sub-categories: Literary | Plays & Screenplays 
Sweet Land of Mine
Series: Sweet, Book 2. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 49,140. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Romance » General, Fiction » Literature » Literary
Ruth's story from "Sweet Farm of Mine" continues. As her father Arlan's distraction with the lively widow and neighbor Gretta continues, Ruth finds plenty of challenge in managing their farm on her own and teaching. But Gretta is like a breath of fresh air, making Ruth aware of changes she needs to make. Moua and Sting, Hmong wanting to become farmers, become a big help to Ruth and Arlan.
Rocky Road
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,830. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Rocky Road is a mini-collection of four short stories, all set in the South. The characters include an angry snapping turtle named Rocky, a mother and cross-dressing son who like to frequent psychic fairs, and a doctor who has changed his (or her) appearance dramatically since the last checkup.
Dawn
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,380. Language: English. Published: September 28, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Adam Westing is an ardent skeptic in a world of believers, but when he witnesses a tragedy on Christmas Eve, he inherits a trinket that makes him reconsider his perspective.
Cooler than Jesus
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 53,370. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Relationships are rekindled and old friendships are tested when Boone unexpectedly returns to Oklahoma under mysterious circumstances after living in New York for a year and appearing on a reality TV show. In the tradition of Don DeLillo and Raymond Carver, Cooler than Jesus is a novel about twenty-something Americans who are detached and jaded, but also still searching for purpose.
War Correspondent
Price: $3.50 USD. Words: 5,140. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Afghanistan...1949? 1989? 2009? Here a journalist covering the war ravaged country finds that it really doesn't matter.
The Grip
Price: $6.95 USD. Words: 3,810. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Plays & Screenplays
The Grip is a short story satire about how a hobby or interest can become an obsession. This story takes the reader on a journey of an out of control perfectionist that lacks the talent to accomplish their goals. Anyone can become caught up in the frustration of falling short of their dreams.This is a short story. It is meant to be read in one sitting. Only one paragraph indention at the start.
Mortal Coil: A Comedy of Corpses
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 65,950. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Funeral-home frolic. Short-listed for the London Observer's PG Wodehouse Comic Novel Prize. The stage version is at Samuel French. "A first-rate contemporary farce, one of the hardest - if not THE hardest genre to pull off. I look forward to seeing the movie." (J. Maas, customer review) "From the moment I started to read this book I was crying with laughter." (thedeludedfool, customer review)
The Good News
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,210. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011 by Publishing by Rebecca J. Vickery. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Plays & Screenplays, Fiction » Horror » General
A Speculative Fiction short... An elevator filled with tourists stops during a power failure and a small boy's life hangs in the balance when his arm becomes caught. Above ground, unaware of the consequences, a young man is trying to return power to the elevator while a man and woman race against time to stop him. Who will win? Who will lose?
Bad People/Ugly Lives
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 141,350. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2011 by Fideli Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Plays & Screenplays, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
The corruption and criminal malfeasance that masquerades as law. An accurate description of the cocaine trade, and the dual role played by the participants real and believable as told by a man with experience. Psychological analysis that puts the reader into the heads of those involved: ammunition, greed, lust, violence, revenge, hope and motivation. An underlying transcendental theme: Reparation
Mambo Panties & Other Stories
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 42,570. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 5 reviews)
A cycle of short stories about rural Texas spanning 75 years. Some of the stories are funny, some poignant, and some… just strange.
The Wanderer
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 79,930. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
After getting out of the Army, Landon Bradley packs up his motorcycle and heads North West in hopes of closing up old battle wounds and maybe even settling down. Not accustomed to staying in one spot for too long, he's not certain that he'll ever find a place that he can truly call home.
Le Fay: a literary fantasy YA short story
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 3,440. Language: English. Published: September 25, 2011 by Crescere Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Fantasy » General
Morgaine of Cornwall finds her life forfeit if she returns as she is, and so seeks to make a bargain with the Dark Lord of the Sidhe for a choice...a choice beyond her previous grasp of the world. A short story of literary fantasy.
Débrouillard
Price: Free! Words: 5,700. Language: English. Published: September 25, 2011 by Beating Windward Press. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
This is a short story about Kendall, a sailor stuck in Venezuela, who needs to figure out what to do now that the boat's captain has given up sailing and is flying back to the States. Does he find someone to help him sail the boat home or backpack around South America? And what's that third option he's too busy to notice?
Going to Liard
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 8,860. Language: English. Published: September 25, 2011 by Falcon Ridge Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
(5.00 from 1 review)
Dana wants nothing more than to be a good mother and a loving wife. But one fall morning, not knowing why, she turns her back on everything and everyone she loves. She runs away.
Cause & Effect
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 35,680. Language: English. Published: September 24, 2011 by CyberWitch Press. Categories: Fiction » Plays & Screenplays » American, Fiction » Literature » Literary
Martin’s existence has centered on his wife, Sophie, for thirteen years. Their tumultuous, explosive relationship ends in adultery and her abrupt death, leaving Martin to pick up the pieces of the life she built for them – and a daughter he barely knows. With the touching insights of his little girl and memories of Sophie to keep him going, Martin navigates the year after her death.
The Secrets They Kept
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 84,640. Language: English. Published: September 23, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Plays & Screenplays, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
Every family has its secrets. Elena Poulous knew that, but she never thought her Greek-American family was like everybody else’s, not until the Saturday morning the police knock on her door and inform her of the death of Yannis Poulous, a man she had never heard of, a man who has listed her as his next of kin.
All Things Considered
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 90,870. Language: English. Published: September 23, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(1.00 from 1 review)
In All Things Considered, we observe Margaret Lovell at crucial stages in her life, beginning at 10 when she imagines that Marilyn Monroe is her real mother. We observe her as a teen when she develops a rebellious, risk-taking nature and we follow her university and drug-use years and, in retirement years, her eventual reconciliation with her life experience.
Lucky Reuben's Seasons in Hell
Price: $10.00 USD. Words: 97,930. Language: English. Published: September 23, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
A yarn of an Amish reared lad into Vietnam consisting of scenes charming and disarming and a plenitude of silly observations and jokes. Any truths or intelligences are accidental.
In Grief Prostrate; Clobbered by Joy
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 16,660. Language: English. Published: September 22, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
Meet Roy, a widower visiting his wife's family for a summer holiday with his young daughter. Imagine his confusion: he finds his wife's sister Miranda suddenly alluring; discovers a nefarious plot by Miranda's preppy boyfriend to evict her and her mother from their home by the ocean; and collides with pugilistic European tourists. A funny, sad, lushly-written novella that defies description.
Five Points Akropolis
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 89,900. Language: English. Published: September 22, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Science fiction » General
An alternate future? An insecure past? Another present made of dense woodlands and waterways? Or of streets and buildings and crowds? Are its populations living beside one another in a welter of frequencies or wavelengths not generally experienced in Place and Time? What is FIVE POINTS AKROPOLIS? Willie the grave-digger would like to know. But "the girl" who seems somehow responsible isn't saying.