Nonfiction » Reference

Sub-categories: Study guides | Dictionaries | Writing skills | Personal & Practical Guides | Handbooks and Manuals | Publishing and books | Quotations | Foreign language study | Consumer guides | Foreign languages | Careers | Directories | All sub-categories >>
Authors & Publishers Must Die!
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 17,210. Language: English. Published: October 7, 2013 by Books of the Dead Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
From the mouth of an author, and a publisher: Authors and Publishers Must Die! is filled to the rim with straightforward MUST READ advice for the author in your life… with no punches pulled!
Self-Publishing Your Book: A Guide for First-Time and DIY Authors
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,980. Language: English. Published: January 17, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
I am the author of 8 books -- 3 paperbacks and 8 ebooks. Overall I have been successful in getting my books published and sold. However, I did make mistakes and learned some valuable lessons along the way. This book is far from a complete resource on how to write, publish and market your books. The purpose of my book is to share with you my insights and experiences in publishing my books.
My Loans
Price: Free! Words: 1,790. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Personal & Practical Guides
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Find out what The Pesky Librarian has borrowed out on her library card.
Emotion Amplifiers
Price: Free! Words: 15,740. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Thesauri
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Emotion Amplifiers, a companion to The Emotion Thesaurus, explores 15 common states that galvanize emotion. States like exhaustion, boredom, and pain can push characters to the limit, compromising their decision-making abilities and decreasing the likelihood of them reaching their goals. Emotion Amplifiers is a tool for any writer wishing to amp up the volatility & vulnerability in their stories.
The Ultimate Consumer Guide To Home Inspections
Price: Free! Words: 22,000. Language: English. Published: September 8, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Consumer guides, Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Real estate / buying & selling homes
(5.00 from 1 review)
Nervous? Confused? Uncertain? These are normal feelings. After all, you’ve negotiated the painful process of getting pre-approved, finally found the perfect home, and yesterday you got your offer accepted. But hold on...it’s still too soon to have a housewarming party because you’ve got to make sure your dream home is not a money pit in disguise. It’s Time To Order The Home Inspection!
NaNoWriMo: A Cheater's Guide
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 14,700. Language: English. Published: October 26, 2015 by Buttontapper Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Teaching methods & materials / language arts, Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills
(5.00 from 1 review)
Never won National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) before? Struggling to figure out what you're doing wrong? You need to start cheating.
101 Spiritual Quotes
Price: Free! Words: 3,190. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Quotations, Nonfiction » Philosophy » Buddhist
(5.00 from 1 review)
This is a short book with 101 of my favourite spiritual quotes in it for your easy access. I have compiled these quotes as motivation and inspiration for you when you need it
Tragedy and Self-Destruction as Humor in Microliterature, Volume 2
Price: Free! Words: 339,410. Language: English. Published: October 18, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Humor and satire, Nonfiction » Reference » Quotations
(5.00 from 1 review)
The PDF version on a tablet or larger size screen offers the BEST READING EXPERIENCE. It RENDERS CORRECTLY IN ADOBE ACROBAT READER but not in Adobe Digital Editions. Tragedy & Self-Destruction shows how microliterature entertains, informs and persuades in its treatment of everyday life and the extremes of the human condition. Find your own situation reflected and perhaps re-defined through humor.
Fifty Spooky Writing Prompts
You set the price! Words: 1,700. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Creativity
(5.00 from 1 review)
The Spookiest Prompts in Town! Choose your poison among fifty creepy, crawly, chilling prompts! You will be hard-pressed to put the pen down - or turn off the light when darkness falls. Whether you are looking for a fun blogging topic or the idea that will inspire your next novel, we have your back. Take a peek, and be instantly inspired! We do not recommend you start this book late at night.
33 Self-Publishing Tips
Price: Free! Words: 6,670. Language: English. Published: December 14, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Business writing, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 1 review)
Self-publishing isn't easy. However, by adopting the right strategies and the right mindset, you can grow faster and smoother. The fundamental idea behind success is consistent action. In this book I will present you 33 tips and strategies which helped me grow my business. As a matter of fact, I would have paid a lot of money if someone would've told me what's inside this book.
Book Reviews: How to Get Reviews Quickly With the Methods Used by Publishers and Professional Writers
Price: Free! Words: 5,900. Language: English. Published: February 29, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Handbooks and Manuals
(5.00 from 1 review)
How to get reviews quickly with the methods used by publishers and professional writers. Book Reviews teaches you how to get more reviews following proven methods used by publishers and successful independent authors. These methods are approved by Amazon (and other book vendors) and don't violate terms of service.
Wisdom Quotes Illustrated. Awareness, Insight, and Growth
Price: Free! Words: 2,060. Language: English. Published: March 23, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Inspiration » Personal inspiration, Nonfiction » Reference » Quotations
(5.00 from 1 review)
A collection of thoughtful, supportive picture quotes that will provide strength during hard times, foster personal growth, and increase self-confidence. Since we focus on achieving our objectives and reaching our destination, we sometimes overlook that life is a journey to be enjoyed in itself, as we travel. The solution is to honor the present and be happy with who you are.
Why Authors Fail: 17 Mistakes Self Publishing Authors Make That Sabotage Their Success (And How To Fix Them)
Price: Free! Words: 24,710. Language: English. Published: April 20, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books, Nonfiction » Business & Economics » Small business and entrepreneurship
(5.00 from 1 review)
Becoming a massively successful self-published author isn't easy. Even just one missing link in an otherwise perfect plan can kill your results. Multiple #1 bestselling author Derek Doepker has made the mistakes for you and found a way to overcome them. Now he'll take you by the hand to show you the principles you need to follow to guarantee long-term success as a self-published author.
Basic Writer's Checklist
You set the price! Words: 2,730. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing, Nonfiction » Reference » Handbooks and Manuals
(5.00 from 1 review)
The Bibliobules’ Basic Writer’s Checklist is a FREE support aid for authors at any phase of their writing development. The purpose of the Basic Writer’s Checklist is to provide a map for launching your writing career. It’s designed to assist you during the pre-publication, publication, and post-publication writing processes.
The Author's Coupon Book
Price: Free! Words: 5,710. Language: English. Published: July 14, 2016 by Nikki Sex. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books, Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing
(5.00 from 1 review)
Welcome to PaidAuthor.com’s Author Coupon Book for 2016! In recent years, self-published and indie authors have stormed into the publishing industry, creating an almost unheard of number of stories, both in digital formats, as well as paperback. Inside this book you'll find discount coupons for authors to use at book promotion sites, for cover designs, and for editing services.
My Oldest Memory
Price: Free! Words: 1,010. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2009. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Reference
(5.00 from 1 review)
This writing sample is in the form, “Child as the narrator" I have a new appreciation for the memories that young children make and keep. This is my actual memory from when I was 20 months old. A great read for anyone who dares to underestimate the memory retention of infants and toddlers. For adults 18+ for drug reference.
Green Riches:Help the Earth & Your Budget
Price: Free! Words: 18,950. Language: English. Published: December 7, 2009. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Consumer guides
(5.00 from 1 review)
Eco-friendly can be eco-nomic. This book offers suggestions that are practical AND save money. It is for people who prefer not to be told what to do but who are problem-solvers, who like efficient, economical solutions that will enhance the lives of their loved ones. It is for concerned people living in a weak economy. It is for all who simply want to do their part to maintain our earthly home.
Rich Johnson’s Guide to Trailer Boat Sailing
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 85,160. Language: English. Published: January 22, 2010 by NorLights Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Handbooks and Manuals, Nonfiction » Travel » Trip Journals
(5.00 from 1 review)
A trailerable sailboat is the ideal way to explore the country -- wherever there is water. To make the most of this exciting lifestyle, owners of trailerable sailboats need three things -- an understanding of the boat and how to use it; knowledge about the tow vehicle and trailer used to transport the boat; and a spirited sense of adventure to live the dream. This book will help you get started.
The Editor's Lexicon: Essential Writing Terms for Novelists
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 13,860. Language: English. Published: February 12, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Writing skills, Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books
(5.00 from 1 review)
Become revision-savvy and talk about fiction like a pro. Written by an experienced editor and writing teacher, this dictionary-style reference book decodes and demonstrates the editorial jargon used in writing workshops and manuscript critiques. In the tradition of Strunk & White's revered "The Elements of Style," this concise, indispensable reference volume will fortify your self-editing skills.
Formatting Your Paperback Book: 10 Simple Tips to Publishing a “REAL” Book
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 2,680. Language: English. Published: February 15, 2010. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Publishing and books, Nonfiction » Publishing » Self-publishing
(5.00 from 1 review)
This short document is for authors wishing to self-publish through Print On Demand sites such as Lulu or Createspace. These 10 basic guidelines will make the interior of your book... NOT stand out! Too often self-published books scream "amateur" due to formatting. Much of this information is available online, however this puts it all in a simple and concise document focusing on common errors.