Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian

Age in Good Time
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 61,210. Language: English. Published: September 29, 2016 by A-Argus Better Book Publishers. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Biographical anthologies, Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
Seven extraordinary men serve as beacons of learning to the modern generation as the reveal their lives and knowledge for the first time.
Outside the XY
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 76,260. Language: English. Published: August 25, 2016 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
Outside the XY: Queer Black and Brown Masculinity is an anthology of more than 50 stories, memories, poems, ideas, essays and letters--all examining what it looks like, feels like, and is like to inhabit masculinity outside of cisgendered manhood as people of color in the world.
Where's the Mother? Stories from a Transgender Dad
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 81,910. Language: English. Published: May 24, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » Transgender
“A deeply compelling memoir from a transgender man who birthed and breastfed his children – it’s informative, inspiring, and transformational.” – DIANA WEST, co-author of The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, 8th edition
Pressing Matters (Vol 2)
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 100,190. Language: English. Published: February 17, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » History, Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
The unique and authoritative history of how Trans rights activism began in the United Kingdom, and the people involved in that struggle. The book is framed as a memoir of the author, working at the heart of the action, and is backed up by original correspondence and plans.
Pressing Matters (Vol 1)
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 142,940. Language: English. Published: February 17, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » History, Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
The unique and authoritative history of how Trans rights activism began in the United Kingdom, and the people involved in that struggle. The book is framed as a memoir of the author, working at the heart of the action, and is backed up by original correspondence and plans.
I Took Both Roads: My Journey as a Bisexual Husband
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 73,910. Language: English. Published: January 3, 2016 by AbsolutelyAmazingEbooks.com. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
David Matteson’s memoir is both eye-opening and inspiring. It is a timely, sensitive exploration of a topic through a loving and accepting lens. He first became aware of his sexuality in the early 1950s, and his bisexuality in the ‘60s – dangerous times to be seen as different from the norm.
Ponies & Rainbows: The Life of James Kirkwood
Price: $9.95 USD. Words: 224,450. Language: English. Published: July 28, 2015 by BearManor Media. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
James Kirkwood is the forgotten man of American letters In 1975, he had two shows playing on Broadway, while his latest novel Some Kind of Hero saw reviewers comparing him to Saul Bellow and Joseph Heller. Ponies & Rainbows both details a remarkable life and seeks to re-establish an even more remarkable talent.
How It All Happened — The Raw Truth
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 85,260. Language: English. Published: May 27, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Abuse / general
You know my cycle, something good is always followed by something bad. If being molested, beaten by my mother and brother, finding my real father, being shot, raped, stabbed, escorting and almost killed by someone that was in love with my husband wasn't enough, my ex publisher was trying to fuck and extort me throughout this entire process — literally.
The Woman I Was Born To Be
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 64,350. Language: English. Published: February 25, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Social Science » Gender studies
(5.00 from 1 review)
Told with truth, humor and flair, this is the autobiography of one transsexual's wild ride from boyhood as Alfred Brevard ("Buddy") Crenshaw in rural Tennessee to voluptuous female entertainer in Hollywood. This memoir is a rare pre-Women's Movement account of coming to terms with gender identity.
In Search of Oneness - A Memoir of Hope and Healing
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 82,240. Language: English. Published: January 27, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Inspiration » Personal inspiration
An attempt to define this memoir is like trying to define life in one breath. You are invited to bear witness to the power of a single vision experienced by a five-year-old girl. Lou’s vision carries, holds and guides her through years of silence and being silenced. Step inside these pages and walk this winding path of hope, healing and transformation with Annette/Lou.
Stubborn Soul
Price: $7.00 USD. Words: 82,540. Language: English. Published: January 20, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Emotional healing
The autobiography of a repressed transgender girl, struggling to find meaning and answers to life through the haze of sickness, abuse and depression.
Quaintance: The Short Life of an American Art Pioneer
Price: $12.99 USD. Words: 58,810. Language: English. Published: January 3, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Biography » Artists, architects, & photographers
George Quaintance pioneered a trail in American culture of sweeping range, from study at the Art Students League, to vaudeville, to ballet and modern dance, to becoming a hairstylist to the stars and portrait artist of socialites and diplomats, eventually rising to international recognition as the first modern artist of the male physique. Here is the authoritative record of his remarkable life.
The Tongues of Men and Angels
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 83,360. Language: English. Published: August 12, 2014 by Rebel Satori Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Born and raised in the evangelical Christian South of the sixties and seventies, Wayne Gregory hid his homosexuality from others and from himself for years until he was finally forced out in middle age. This story chronicles the beginnings of his struggle as an adolescent, his budding sexuality and simultaneous passion for God.
Firelight of a Different Colour: The Life and Times of Leslie Cheung Kwok-wing
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 127,740. Language: English. Published: February 25, 2014 by Signal 8 Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Celebrity biography, Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
When Leslie Cheung Kwok-wing threw himself to his death from the terrace of Hong Kong’s Mandarin Oriental Hotel in 2003, he was the greatest star of his generation in the city. At the forefront of almost all the cultural changes Hong Kong saw during his lifetime, Leslie came to embody the unique spirit of the city. Firelight of a Different Colour commemorates a life that continues to inspire.
Swinging on the Garden Gate: A Spiritual Memoir
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 63,600. Language: English. Published: December 11, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Religion and Spirituality » Christian Life / Personal Growth
A woman's coming-of-age journey through the rugged landscape of Wales to the reflective quiet of a retreat center. Along the way she questions and explores the depth of her Methodist faith as she comes to terms with her bisexual identity. Andrew skillfully and seamlessly weaves the threads of spirituality, sexuality and the creative process out of the compelling events of her life.
In Bed With Gore Vidal
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 107,630. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography
Gore Vidal claimed there was no such thing as “gay,” only gay sexual acts. But what was the truth about his sex life and sexuality—and how did it affect and influence his writing and public life?
Growing Up Golem
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 69,130. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
In the tradition of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Donna Minkowitz’s Growing Up Golem is a sharply funny memoir about growing up inspired by the Jewish legend of the golem. The author's mother told Minkowitz that she could do Jewish magic and, growing up, Minkowitz completely believed her.
Memoirs of a Johnny's Fanboy
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 76,220. Language: English. Published: September 10, 2012 by Boysterous Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(3.00 from 1 review)
The story of one man's exciting, adventurous, and sometimes scary journey into the world of Japanese teen idols, told with the same spirit, humour, and blunt honesty that earned him devoted fans and enemies alike as a blogger and fanboy.
Holy Hell
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 65,790. Language: English. Published: July 25, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Biography » Religious biography
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Inspired by a true story, Holy Hell paints an intimate and gripping portrait of what happens when a good Catholic boy discovers that he is gay. At the age of 15, Tom leaves his family on a journey that takes him to a cloistered religious institution in the Ozark foothills and ends up in the slums of St. Louis. Along the way, he learns that to find himself he must lose sight of God altogether.
Well of Life
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 68,990. Language: English. Published: January 30, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
Well of Life is Roderic Anderson’s memoir up to age 18. Born into affluence until when he is four, his artist father becomes unemployed and the family have to survive the Great Depression on the little he makes from private commissions. At school Rod becomes interested in left wing politics and at puberty realizes he is gay but is scared to reveal his true feelings.

Related Categories