Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs

Where the Rainbow Fell Down
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 108,160. Language: English (New Zealand dialect). Published: December 21, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
A raw and deeply moving memoir beginning in mid century New Zealand, Lynette Robinson battles to survive an upbringing profoundly impacted by poverty, family dysfunction and the Catholic Church.
Please May I Leave The Room ?
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 105,340. Language: British English. Published: December 11, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
ken griffin recounts educating antics from his days on the west riding of yorkshire teaching supply staff during the 1950's, 60's and 70's. his own inimitable style is enhanced with illustrations penned by himself.
Cross-Country: Adventures Alone Across America and Back
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 102,940. Language: English. Published: December 7, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » Essays & Travelogues, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(4.50 from 2 reviews)
After many summers in the back seat, four months before 1/1/2000, M.M. Justus followed several literary heroes and drove alone across America for 3 months. She went from the Little Town on the Prairie to Scotty's Castle, and from the Twin Towers to an 'alien' landing site in Wyoming. After over 14,000 miles and one life-changing event, she arrived back home, only to discover home changed, too.
Once Upon A Road Trip
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 137,700. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Romance
*Think 'Eat, Pray, Love'...the teen version. A pre-life crisis on a shoestring budget. *A geeky girl goes on an unlikely 8-week adventure--encountering unexpected danger, wonderment, grief, and love. *A fiction-like retelling of a young woman's true story--made up of 3rd person narrative and actual journal entries.
Betty's Child
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
Paulyanna: International Rent-boy
Price: $5.00 USD. Words: 141,300. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » Travel
(5.00 from 1 review)
Paulyanna: International Rent-boy is a honest and frank portrayal of a working-class male prostitute’s life. Early abandonment, poverty, lack of education and sexual abuse delivered Paul onto the streets. But, ever optimistic, he does not dwell too much on the past. Without added glamour or grit, Paul shares the raw accounts of his life as a rent-boy in the 90s, from London to Los Angeles.
Cotton Field of Dreams: A Memoir
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 110,870. Language: English. Published: September 6, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Presidential Diarist Janis F. Kearney’s love letter to her parents TJ and Ethel Kearney. A coming of age memoir spanning three decades and chronicling the life and struggles of this cotton sharecropping family.
Under His Watchful Eye
Price: Free! Words: 109,270. Language: English. Published: August 22, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
I had a feeling my husband was secretly watching me. With a peep-hole in the bathroom wall, a hidden surveillance camera, a mirror under the door to catch my reflection. Now I know that he really was watching me and these are only a few of the things that I discovered. This is a true story about my marriage and how I fought to keep it together - until I realized it was not worth fighting for.
All Too Human
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 116,270. Language: English. Published: August 13, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Celebrity biography, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
I came to this book as a hostile critic. I’d said I would review it and felt I ought to do so, but what do I care for a book by a black, English, kick-boxing champion who has spent time in prison. Now I care. It is a significant, thought provoking and entertaining piece of literature, potentially life changing and not far from masterpiece. Jeff Hunt – Humanist Society of New Zealand
Shattered Dreams - The True Story of A Young Woman Too Young To Die
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 117,290. Language: English. Published: August 5, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Shattered Dreams is a true story of one young womans heartbreak when told that she had just months to live due to complications giving birth to her baby boy.
Being Down, Looking Up: The Adventures of an Itinerant Shoeshiner
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 101,790. Language: English. Published: July 23, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » By region, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This book is about an unusual journey. A few years ago Rob Walters decided to become a shoeshine boy. He stowed his shoeshine kit, a tent, and a few items of clothing in a trailer, connected the trailer to his push bike and set off from Oxford to visit the old shoe-making cities of middle England. Along the way he polished many shoes and gained a fascinating insight into his own country.
Journey from San Rocco
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 138,440. Language: English. Published: July 16, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In post WWI Italy, a widow with four children is given the opportunity to travel to America to marry a wealthy widower. This may be her only chance for prosperity and happiness, but is she willing to accept his terms that she is to bring only one child for now to America? Based on the author’s family history, from 1918 to 2006, the dynamics of a family, separated and rejoined.
Autobiography of an Unknown Man
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 157,930. Language: English. Published: July 7, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
The story of one man's life from his birth in war torn England in 1941, emigration to Namibia in 1951, school and University in Namibia and South Africa, creation of a major construction company during the Border War in Namibia, the company's collapse under apartheid and its effect on his family, making a new start as a contracts manager in the Far and Middle East and his retirement to Thailand.
Nomad
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 107,720. Language: Australian English. Published: June 20, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
An exciting novel, non fiction, about the establishment of an aviation company in Papua New Guinea in the post independence era. Jealousy of the existing operators and a Company Secretary endeavouring to wrest control from the founder provides a story of conflict, determination and intrigue. The result of which keeps the reader in suspense from cover to cover.
Ride the Wings of Morning: Letters to and from Africa
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 108,510. Language: English. Published: June 4, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » By region, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
A conventional English girl arrived in South Africa, to help a friend run horseback safaris on a game reserve in the Northern Transvaal. It was 1992. There were yellow road signs declaring "Dit is die Volkstaat". Sophie had heard of "biltong" but knew nothing of Afrikaans culture.
The Imposters
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 129,350. Language: English. Published: May 9, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
The Imposters is the memoir of a young would-be writer making her way in Manhattan in the early 1980s. With no long-term friends and a family going bankrupt, she finds friendship and community in a tiny yoga school on Eighth Avenue run by a dynamic leader of a merry band of outsider yogis. Here, she thinks, she will find meaning and purpose. With little hesitation, she gives it her all.
The Patriotic Art
Price: $5.50 USD. Words: 126,870. Language: English. Published: May 3, 2013 by Memoirs Publishing. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(4.00 from 1 review)
The FCO gave Martin Rickerd a fascinating career, which took him to some wonderful parts of the world – and some less wonderful, but they too were immensely interesting and memorable. No retired member of the Diplomatic Service can claim to have been entirely happy about everything throughout their career. But neither can they say they did not enjoy some marvellous benefits in terms of experience.
Derailed - Memoirs of a Botched Hysterectomy - Hysterectomy to Remove Fibroids and Cyst - Really was Endometriosis!
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 119,390. Language: English. Published: April 26, 2013 by Aauvi House Publishing Group. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Health, wellbeing, & medicine » Women's health
Endometriosis affects more than 9,000,000 women in the U.S. and many more worldwide - what every woman needs to know! How does an outwardly healthy 47-year old woman's "routine hysterectomy" become an 18-day ordeal spanning two hospitals, four surgeries, and more than $400,000 in medical bills? The answer, undiagnosed endometriosis. A patients perspective on morbidity and mortality.
Parenting A Parent: The Sequel to Accepting the Unacceptable Alone
Series: Accepting the Unacceptable, Book 2. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 119,780. Language: English. Published: April 17, 2013 by Elderberry Press, Inc.. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Parenting A Parent is an autobiographical story that begins when JoAnn’s mother, who has dementia, moves in with her. JoAnn found herself caring for her aging parent and her disabled daughter. This is the inspiring true story of what happened during the next five years of intensely difficult trials and hardships, the ultimate triumph of perseverance, love, and the strength that resides within us.
Hồi Ký Nguyễn Hiến Lê
You set the price! Words: 292,210. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » History » Biography
Năm 1935, hồi mới vào đời, làm ở Sở Thủy lợi Nam Việt, những lúc lênh đênh trên kinh rạch miền Hậu Giang, nhớ mặt nước xanh rêu của Hồ Gươm, con đê thăm thẳm của sông Nhị, tôi viết hồi kí, chép lại những hình ảnh của người thân, những vui buồn của tuổi thơ và tuổi niên thiếu. Viết được khoảng sáu trăm trang vở học trò, không có ý in thành sách mà chỉ để vài người thân đọc. Tập đó còn lại được vài