Welcome to Smashwords!

Check out our new interface for discovering great ebooks! Read the official announcement at the Smashwords Blog.

Please confirm your erotica preferences.

Learn more about erotica controls. You may change these settings at any time.

[Close]

Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author

O Mercador de Sonhos
Series: Livro das Sombras, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 10,290. Language: Portuguese. Published: November 26, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Ollie é um Porco maltratado por todos, mas ao sonhar com o Mercador de Sonhos, ele descobre dentro de si o poder de mudar o seu mundo.
Not Quite Normal - Free Edition
Price: Free! Words: 16,800. Language: English. Published: February 29, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
(3.00 from 1 review)
The free edition of Shane Rynhart's debut short story anthology. This edition contains nine short fantasy, horror and science fiction tales. There is also an extended, paid, edition with nineteen stories plus bonus content, available separately.
De Ángeles
Price: Free! Words: 10,790. Language: Spanish. Published: June 12, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
Una breve antología del autor. Historias cortas sobre distintas clases de ángeles y demonios.
Before You Sleep: Three Horrors
Price: Free! Words: 20,270. Language: English. Published: August 26, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Ghost, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
A trilogy of horror stories from the award-winning writer's first collection of short stories – SOME WILL NOT SLEEP – and an introduction to the nightmarish visions and ghastly spectres that have been disturbing the sleep of readers for years. In this book you'll find two ghost stories and a tale of ancestral demoniac horror.
"Weirder Than Weird" 18 Bizarre Tales From a Disturbed Mind
Price: Free! Words: 51,800. Language: English. Published: November 14, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Weird fiction, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
If you love quirky and dark short stories but have become discouraged over the lack of originality these days then "Weirder Than Weird" will renew your faith! "Weirder Than Weird" is chock full of dark and creepy tales that will leave you wanting more and also wondering about the authors sanity.
Tales to Read Before the End of the World: A Short Story Collection Exploring the Absurd
Price: Free! Words: 53,480. Language: English. Published: December 5, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
This is a collection of short stories exploring the absurd. Most of the short stories contained within this book revolve around central themes. "Everything Changes" is about the vanity of the human condition. "Faking It" takes aim at the absurdity of modern society. And "Beale Street Blues" explores the breakdown of communication within a relationship.
The Dark Verse, Vol. 1: From the Passages of Revenants
Series: The Dark Verse. Price: Free! Words: 47,820. Language: English. Published: January 29, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Occult, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Twenty-six short tales of occult, metaphysical, and fantastical horror that will follow you to the visions of your sleep. This is Sharkchild's first collection of grim and ethereal stories—a silver medalist in the category of Horror in the 2010 Independent Publisher Book Awards.
Flash Fiction 40 Anthology - July 2009
Price: Free! Words: 33,600. Language: English. Published: July 20, 2009 by Mark Coker. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(5.00 from 1 review)
In May 2009, Editor Unleashed and Smashwords co-sponsored The Flash Fiction 40 Contest. Writers submitted stories of 1,000 words or fewer on the Editor Unleashed forum. Maria Schneider, with the community's input, selected the winners. More than 280 writers took up the challenge and posted a story. Here, for your reading pleasure, are the top 40 stories.
The Digital Galleries of Our Minds
Price: Free! Words: 26,070. Language: English. Published: January 1, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
A collection of three original sci-fi short stories about memories and how they relate to our identities. These stories are in the vein of Twilight Zone and Black Mirror, so if you enjoy either of those (or short fiction) check this out. Noah Levin's debut book.
The Diamond Mine of Diamond's Mind: A Compilation of Short Stories
Price: Free! Words: 25,640. Language: English. Published: February 7, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
These are a series of short stories written for my blog. They received such praise that I decided to bundle them for you all to enjoy!
Getting Wild: A Small-Town Montana Romance Sampler
Price: Free! Words: 25,480. Language: English. Published: November 5, 2015 by Tule Publishing Inc. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Fall in love with three brothers from Marietta, Montana! Read a sample from One Night with Her Bachelor, Two Nights with His Bride and Three Nights Before Christmas.
Devil's Presents Gift Wrapped Volume One
Price: Free! Words: 23,260. Language: English. Published: April 10, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Poetry - single author, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Each word if a gift from the muse, waiting for you to unwrap it.
Comfy Shorts: Four Romantic Short Stories
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 31,540. Language: English. Published: October 2, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Romance » Short stories
The lead story, Love & Marry is a romantic comedy set in Puerto Rico. Wedding planner Marry Markham only wants a peaceful vacation, but radio psychologist Dr. Allen Love has other plans for her. Lead Me Home is an inspirational story set in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The romantic comedies, In The Nick of Time, Not For Me, and the bonus Halloween story The House Next Door round out the collection.
Delicate Dangerous Queens
Series: Jenri World. Price: Free! Words: 26,680. Language: English. Published: May 1, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic, Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Four prequel stories for key players from the Curse of the Jenri. Delicate Dangerous Queens - Saldomar finds his familiar and a bit more. Not a Doxy - Cristo thinks she's over her head, but maybe he is. Hidden Treasure - holding off an attack alone might be the best thing that happened to Denra. Not Quite a Knight - Riko finds people who won't let him do his job alone - damn good thing.
Short Story Collection Vol. 1
Price: Free! Words: 33,650. Language: English. Published: July 5, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
A collection of six contemporary fantasy short stories by Sophia DeLuna.
Relaxing Reads - Short Stories
Series: Relaxing Reads. Price: Free! Words: 32,620. Language: English. Published: December 30, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
Do you fancy a relaxing read which won't take up too much of your time? In this collection of 40 short stories, you will find something to suit any mood. Stories of love, happiness, sadness, winning, losing, even a little ghostly - all are less than 1,000 words and are written from the prompt of a given word, phrase or idea. Relax and enjoy your reading.
Death Calls
Price: Free! Words: 21,040. Language: English. Published: October 12, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
A free collection of short stories, poems and other goodies. Each piece in Death Calls touches on life’s journey, death or dying in Courtney Vail’s own freakish way. Some works are quirky, some funny, some gross, some resonating, but all pretty weird. Enjoy!
To Sweeten Boredom
Price: Free! Words: 23,610. Language: English. Published: November 18, 2008. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Crisp, enthralling, and well written short stories to lighten your leisure hours or shorten a long journey.
Thistles and Thorns
Price: Free! Words: 38,870. Language: English. Published: August 5, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
Thistles and Thorns is the third collection of stories by Bobby A. Troutt. The stories take you through New Orleans, Charleston, South Carolina, to Windle, Missouri. Each story has its thistles with a pretty bloom along with the thorns of life. Life has its thorns dressed in pretty flowers. Even the prettiest roses have thorns.
24:01 One Minute After
Price: Free! Words: 62,250. Language: English. Published: January 13, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(3.75 from 4 reviews)
An anthology of horror, science fiction and fantasy short stories, some dark and some light but all challenging the bounds of your imagination. You will begin with an experiment in nano-biotechnology gone very wrong, end with an alternate reality on Olde Aearth, and in between experience everything from dragons and wizards to a hurricane and misadventures in space!

Related Categories