Welcome to Smashwords!

Check out our new interface for discovering great ebooks! Read the official announcement at the Smashwords Blog.

Please confirm your erotica preferences.

Learn more about erotica controls. You may change these settings at any time.

[Close]

Fiction » Mystery & detective

Sub-categories: General | Women Sleuths | Short Stories | Hard-Boiled | Police Procedural | Cozy | Amateur sleuth | Historical | Traditional British | International crime
Live Long Day
Series: Malone Mystery Novels. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 67,610. Language: American English. Published: March 22, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Adventure » Action
Malone enters the dark world of drugs, pimps, and sexual exploitation in search of a missing teenage girl.
Foul Play
Series: Malone Mystery Novels. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 66,300. Language: American English. Published: March 22, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Adventure » Action
Private eye Ben Malone's search for a sweet young thing's estranged husband leads him south of the border into deception, fraud, and murder.
Shattered Dreams
Series: A Sheriff Virgil Dalton Mystery. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 73,810. Language: English. Published: March 22, 2019 by Beyond the Page Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Police Procedural, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
In the tradition of No Country for Old Men, Shattered Dreams is a story about the ties that bind us to the land and each other, about changing times, and about the forces that can tear us apart.
Tutto ebbe inizio da una storia d'amore e di curaro - Delitti di provincia 16
Series: Delitti di provincia. Price: $3.39 USD. Words: 58,080. Language: Italian. Published: March 21, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Amateur sleuth, Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Niente è come sembra. A volte da un caso di omicidio si arriva ad un altro, eppure... La provincia mantiene sempre le sue oscure promesse. Una confessione "in extremis" cui nessuno crede dà il via ad una intricata vicenda di omicidi e torbide relazioni interpersonali. La soluzione, ovviamente, è come sempre sorprendente.
Merry Wrath Mysteries Boxed Set Vol. III (Books 7-9)
Series: Merry Wrath Mysteries. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 196,870. Language: English. Published: March 19, 2019 by Gemma. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Cozy, Fiction » Anthologies » Mystery
From USA Today bestselling author Leslie Langtry comes a boxed set of three hilarious Merry Wrath Mysteries! This boxed set includes three, full-length novels featuring the CIA assassin turned Girls Scout troop leader, including: Map Skills Murder – book #7, Mean Girl Murder – book #8, Marriage Vow Murder – book #9
Blackmail in Cherry Hills
Series: Cozy Cat Caper Mystery. Price: $9.99 $3.99 USD. (60% off until April 19, 2025!) Words: 20,260. Language: American English. Published: March 18, 2019 by Marla Bradeen. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Cozy, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
What should have been a night for celebration takes a criminal turn when a Cherry Hills town council vote doesn't go the way Kat Harper expected. It doesn't take long before the amateur detective and her sidekick Imogene uncover a sinister blackmail threat that forced one of the council members to withdraw her support of the animal breeder ban Kat and Imogene worked so hard to get passed.
Inlet Boys
Series: PI Kowalski, Book 1. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 72,360. Language: Australian English. Published: March 18, 2019 by Evolved Publishing LLC. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
PI Matt Kowalski’s first case is personal. When his uncle coerces him to investigate the brutal murder of a cousin he barely knew, he can hardly refuse—besides, he needs the money. Still, he feels too old to be wearing all black in The Gong, a beach town in New South Wales. He must peel back the layers of the sunny, idyllic Aussie town, and expose the darkness underneath.
Settle Down Now (Revised Edition)
Series: Settle Down Now. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 44,140. Language: English. Published: March 17, 2019 by Learning To Surf Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General, Fiction » Romance » Action/adventure
He has secrets. She has cents. Billionaire Charmaine Donnet's search for Mr Right goes public in the most humiliating way. Her dating coach, and trusted friend Joss, has turned introvert Charmaine's quest into a hit reality TV show. Events take a dark turn when one of the potential Mr Rights goes missing at sea. Charmaine is not sure she will survive this desperate Hart's cruise.
First Spring in Paris (The Blind Sleuth Mysteries Book 5)
Series: The Blind Sleuth Mysteries. Price: $3.90 USD. Words: 63,550. Language: British English. Published: March 15, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical
In 1946 Daisy and her friend Beatrice decided to move to Paris. Some very interesting things were going on there: existentialism, free love, and American jazz throbbing through the night in the cellar clubs on the Left Bank. Then one day, just as the two were settling into a new life, a very disturbing murder case was thrown in their path, and Daisy Hayes had to rise to the challenge once again.
Hell Bent on Murder
Series: Hell Bent on Murder. Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 42,360. Language: English. Published: March 13, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Amateur sleuth
Hell Bent on Murder is number one in a four books series of murder,revenge,corruption and finally blackmail.Four books that contain some sexually explicit material sprinkled amongst each chapter,material that seems to be the norm in today's modern society?. This is the story of an ex met cop called Jim Bent who decides five of those years as at a desk is enough and becomes a private eye.
The Watson Letters Volume 4: Revenge of the Hooded Claw
Series: The Watson Letters. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 45,220. Language: English. Published: March 12, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical, Fiction » Humor & comedy » Parody
Intrepid investigators Holmes and Watson continue their fight against crime in a not quite Post-Victorian, steampunk parallel universe. In three more adventures, the tenacious twosome encounter an ocean-going iceberg, an American werewolf and a gigantic metal fish , as well as facing old enemy Moriarty, who plans to finish off Sherlock Holmes for good. Adult humour throughout.
Sprinkled in Malice
Series: Cookies & Chance Mysteries, Book 7. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 72,130. Language: English. Published: March 12, 2019 by Gemma. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Cozy, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Amateur sleuth
What Sally Muccio had hoped would be a special birthday dinner turns into something much more deadly when her husband and a friend get caught in the middle of an armed robbery...and only one will make it out alive. Now Sal must uncover the real reason for the robbery...and the killer's identity!
The Cheater's Game
Series: Glass and Steele. Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 82,700. Language: English. Published: March 12, 2019 by Oz Books. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Historical, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical
The 7th Glass and Steele novel sees the arrival of Buffalo Bill's Wild West show in London. When the sharpshooter who beats Willie at poker is murdered, Matt and India investigate. Willie is convinced the victim cheated, but no one knows how until India discovers his secret - he was a paper magician.
The Heart that was a Wild Garden
Series: Constable David Maratse. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 16,830. Language: British English. Published: March 11, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » International crime, Fiction » Literary collections » European / Scandinavian
When a young couple bring home a newborn baby, Police Constable David Maratse must take care of their challenging nine-year-old girl before the family self-destructs.
The Last Flight
Series: Constable David Maratse. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,320. Language: British English. Published: March 10, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » International crime, Fiction » Literary collections » European / Scandinavian
An unscheduled flight, to a remote Arctic island, brings an unwelcome guest and a flurry of violence with tragic consequences for Police Constable David Maratse.
The End Game
Series: Moriah Dru / Richard Lake. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 74,620. Language: English. Published: March 9, 2019 by Bold Venture Press. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Police Procedural, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
Arson and kidnapping pull Moriah Dru, owner of Child Trace, and Lieutenant Richard Lake away from a quiet getaway. After a smoldering house is searched, authorities learn two sisters are missing. Dru and Lake's investigation points to a secret sex organization, and the chase is on the checkmate the "King" and "Queen" before they jump to safety overseas out of Lake's jurisdiction.
Tupilaq
Series: Constable David Maratse. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,480. Language: British English. Published: March 9, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » International crime, Fiction » Literary collections » European / Scandinavian
When the winter sun is gone, dark deeds are done, and Greenland Police Constable David Maratse enlists the help of a shaman to find a lost child.
Container
Series: Constable David Maratse, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,680. Language: British English. Published: March 9, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » International crime, Fiction » Literary collections » European / Scandinavian
As winter retreats and the long summer begins, Greenland Police Constable David Maratse receives a call from inside a shipping container.
A Bidder End
Series: Antiques & Collectibles Mysteries. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 56,220. Language: English. Published: March 7, 2019 by Beyond the Page Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Cozy, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
A brand-new book in the Antiques & Collectibles Mystery Series by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Ellery Adams and Parker Riggs.
Silver Spoon
Series: Donna Howard Mysteries. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 59,060. Language: English. Published: March 7, 2019 by Peaks Island Press. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths, Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
Donna Howard investigates the provenance of antiques, with the help of deceased historical people only she can see. The setting is the infamous Salem, Massachusetts, and the item in question a haunted silver spoon. Its past owners point Donna to a stash of antiques in an old man's basement, an old man who died in an accident Donna suspects was less than "accidental."