Welcome to Smashwords!

Check out our new interface for discovering great ebooks! Read the official announcement at the Smashwords Blog.

Please confirm your erotica preferences.

Learn more about erotica controls. You may change these settings at any time.

[Close]

Fiction » Literature » Literary

To Squeeze a Prairie Dog: An American Novel
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 83,830. Language: English. Published: February 1, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
This is the story of a sincere young man from a small town who joins a government agency. His quirky coworkers discover a computer glitch, saving the State of Texas millions, but the crotchety governor and a curious reporter threaten to ruin their lives. This is an American tale—part fable, part satire, and part comedy—revealing that camaraderie amongst friends wins the day over evil intentions.
Marshland Trinity
You set the price! Words: 155,760. Language: English. Published: July 11, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
Three Louisiana stories of the Cajun experience during the 1950s told from the respective points of view of an aged trapper trapper on a pigogue chase of a mass murderer through vast marshes; an adolescent boy from a trapping, cattle-raising, farming family discovering his true place in the cosmos; and a young boy thrust into the painful ambiguities of McCarthyism and the Korean War.
Her Name Was Emily
You set the price! Words: 3,300. Language: English. Published: February 3, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Literature » Literary
HER NAME WAS EMILY is a three story collection written by author Joseph Finnegan during his time at Full Sail University. The young writer weaves multiple intense tales.. Genres included range from revenge thriller to romantic drama. 
The War on Xmas
You set the price! Words: 43,380. Language: English. Published: February 19, 2019 by Malarkey Books. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Literary collections » American / General
The stories in The War on Xmas have been referred to as hilarious, fascinating, and "totally boss." This slim volume is packed with sadness, jokes, satire, songs, and subtle absurdity. Plus a sexually and culturally frustrated superhero uses his laser eyes to set a Confederate flag on fire. The reader is advised that this book has almost nothing to do with either Christmas or Xmas.
Left No Forwarding Address (for fans of Stieg Larsson, David Baldacci and James Patterson)
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 64,880. Language: English. Published: August 3, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Have you ever wished you could start over? Our narrator takes that risk. He abandons his family and a weary existence and sets out for New York in a quest to find contentment. He changes his appearance and takes a new identity, but he is not prepared for the obstacles he encounters and the enemies who surround him. Join him as he embarks on a journey of self-discovery with an uncertain outcome.
A Land of Ash
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 33,950. Language: English. Published: November 16, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - multi-author, Fiction » Literature » Literary
(4.67 from 6 reviews)
The Yellowstone Caldera has erupted once every 600,000 years. We’re 40,000 years overdue. Lava flows stretch for hundreds of miles. A cloud of ash billows east, burying the Midwest, destroying crops, and falling upon the Pacific Coast like a warm, dead snow. The remnants of the United States flees south as the global temperatures plummet. These are the stories of the survivors.
Eating Sugar, Telling Lies
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,230. Language: English. Published: July 15, 2011 by Blaft Publications. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
"The Thieving WhoreQueen was missing. Grey, runny bubbles leaked from a lump of wet clothes she had left on the washing stone. Her broom was propped under the stairs, handle down, the grass tip curled to an almost perfect circle." A new short story from Kuzhali Manickavel.
After All Is Said And Done - A Novel of Infidelity, Healing & Forgiveness
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 130,030. Language: American English. Published: August 9, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Women's fiction » General, Fiction » Literature » Literary
(3.50 from 2 reviews)
What would you do if you found out the son you loved wasn't yours? Ethan Harrington's world has just been shattered... Nobody wakes up one morning and decides this is the day they are going to cheat on their spouse, but when the opportunity presents itself - it ultimately becomes a choice, and that choice, whether good or bad, can have irrevocable consequences.
The Mother
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 1,700. Language: English. Published: October 11, 2011 by Fario. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
"In a valley enclosed by wooded hills, cheerful in the colors of spring, stood, one next to the other, two large, unadorned houses, stone and lime. They seemed made by the same hand, and even the gardens, enclosed by hedges and located in front of each of the houses, were of the same size and shape. But those who lived in them did not share the same fate."
Old Farts
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 2,720. Language: English. Published: April 18, 2012 by Norilana Books. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
(4.00 from 1 review)
Everyone knows that bookstores are such enticing places, filled with the complex scent of books, periodicals, freshly ground coffee, and infinite possibilities. Wonders, secrets, and delights lurk among the stacks... And yet, few know the real truth. Bookstores conceal unimaginable dangers! This very short story by two-time Nebula Award Finalist Vera Nazarian packs a very literary punch.
Stroomstoring
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 1,300. Language: Dutch. Published: June 13, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
(5.00 from 1 review)
Bij een bezoek aan haar dementerende grootmoeder wordt een jonge vrouw geconfronteerd met de fataliteit van het leven. Waar zult u spijt van hebben als het einde nadert?
En fuite
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,290. Language: French. Published: March 20, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
Un homme fuit. A qui et à quoi cherche-t-il à échapper ? Le sait-il lui-même ? Une nouvelle inédite d'Antoine Bello, l'auteur des Falsificateurs, des Eclaireurs (Prix France Culture Telerama 2009) et d'Eloge de la pièce manquante.
The Princess in the Armory
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 11,220. Language: English. Published: March 14, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Literature » Literary
(3.00 from 1 review)
"As ginger seasons sauce, so doth jesting quicken colloquy." Princess Theresa's best friend is her cousin Mark. Both are studious and quiet. When Mark returns from University, however, she finds him changed. His friend, Prince Lateef, no doubt, has led him astray. Lateef is too handsome and charming to be trustworthy. (Short story, 10,370 words)
History Trilogy
Series: Trilogy Collection. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 8,550. Language: English. Published: October 13, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
The creation of the Jesus myth in ancient Rome. The downfall of King Louis XVI in France. The horror of the Nazi concentration camp at Dachau, history is full of lessons for us. But can we ever learn? Three thrilling stories in one great value ebook that will make you reconsider history and your place in it.
A Harvest of Stars
Series: A Harvest of Stars. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 46,610. Language: English. Published: June 7, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Romance » Suspense
Locklyn Gaines isn’t her mother, but the residents of her small southeastern Kentucky town don’t care. She has grown up in the shadow of her mother's shame, suffering the abuse of a drunk stepfather, with only her friend Isaiah for companionship. With high school graduation days away, the two of them have the smallest chance of escape.
Tuffer's Christmas Wish
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,980. Language: English. Published: April 15, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Sports, Fiction » Literature » Literary
When he turned eighteen, Tuffer Demson, pro football defensive lineman, had given up on getting his one special Christmas wish. At twenty-three it happened. One wintry day in Monroe, Tuffer’s wish was granted. He’d hoped it would bring peace to his life, but the outcome was completely unexpected.
Time to Say Goodbye
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,270. Language: English. Published: December 10, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
In this short story, Yessie was raised by her grandmother after her parents died in a plane crash. Although she was raised in a loving environment, she felt that something was missing and consequently lost her way.
The Blue Bench
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 163,380. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom, Fiction » Literature » Literary
A story of pain, grief, love and yearning set in the aftermath of WW1.
The Diplomat
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,870. Language: English. Published: January 9, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Science fiction » Short stories
The Story of a man who has no desire to save the world, but has made it his work. He soon learns what he saves is more priceless than he can imagine.
Life Imitated
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,380. Language: English. Published: January 12, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
At twenty-three years old Asher was well on his way to being number one on the golf circuit when suddenly a careless drunk driver hit him, leaving him unable to move. Without use of his limbs there was no way he'd swing a golf club again and without that he was no one.

Related Categories