Fiction » Historical

Sub-categories: General | USA | Western & American frontier | Medieval | United Kingdom | Ancient | Regency | Victorian | Paranormal | Classical Greece & Rome | Colonial America | Australia & New Zealand | All sub-categories >>
Queen Elizabeth's Wizard
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,670. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom, Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Dr. John Dee was Queen Elizabeth's loyal advisor and official wizard. But then she asks him to create a new and deadly kind of plague to help defeat the Spanish Armada threatening Albion's shores. Will he risk his immortal soul to serve his queen?
Artemisia - a Regency Novel in the Tradition of Jane Austen
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 105,560. Language: English. Published: November 12, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Regency, Fiction » Historical » Regency
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
"A fun confection with a romantic spirit and droll English characters." "I highly recommend this novel and author to readers who love Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and traditional Regency romances!" - Austenesque Reviews "Artemisia...is a great success; a protagonist of whom Jane Austen would have approved, majoring in wit and intelligence" - Richmond Magazine (UK)
Gaslight
Price: Free! Words: 17,240. Language: English. Published: December 18, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
It's London, 1920. Newly demobilized soldiers have flooded the capital's streets but an ungrateful country isn't ready for them. Harry Costello has returned from the horrors of the Somme to no job, no money and no prospects. Desperate times demand desperate measures and when an opportunity to burgle a house presents itself, Harry seizes the chance. But things don't go quite to plan...
Open Hands
Price: Free! Words: 3,520. Language: English. Published: March 3, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier, Fiction » Western
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
A very short western story about an Indian guide with a creative solution to a small town's outlaw problem.
Bonds of the Heart
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 98,850. Language: English. Published: April 24, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier, Fiction » African American fiction » General
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Prejudice had always been a part of Emma Watts' life from the time she was a small girl, but life decided to show Emma just how wrong she was. She will learn that the bonds of the heart sees no color and she will know the love of the very ones she fears.
A Goddess' Curse: Hera's Story
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,290. Language: English. Published: March 19, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Historical, Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Hera, Queen of the Gods, is the most powerful goddess on Mount Olympos. Beautiful, sensual, and merciless, she is a goddess renowned for her jealous rages and for inflicting horrors on hapless victims. She’s the protector of women, virtue, family and marriage yet her husband, Zeus, has had countless affairs. She puts up with it. Why? Is she really malicious or a product of circumstance?
The Fiona Letters
Price: $3.00 USD. Words: 85,680. Language: English. Published: June 9, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas, Fiction » Historical » Victorian
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Sir William Thomson, Lord Kelvin, one of the first scientific celebrities, led a full, productive, and virtuous life, above reproach by Victorian standards. His only passion was for science in the service of nation and empire. But he must have had another life, another kind of passion. This novel imagines how it could have happened
Wetherton
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 69,940. Language: English. Published: July 7, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Women's fiction » Chick lit, Fiction » Historical » Colonial America
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Jillian is the tireless champion for Wetherton's historic preservation. But after 10 years of a life lacking in money and boyfriends, she's just about had enough. Can her new online friendship with Lady Rochester, an aged aristocrat with a family connection to this tiny Connecticut town help Jillian solve a centuries-old mystery and revive her spirit? In Wetherton, it's all in how you look at it.
The Battlefield: A Short Story
Price: Free! Words: 4,580. Language: English. Published: September 4, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
The Battlefield is a record of an event that took place, in a small coal mining village, towards the end of the Second World War. The place was New Silksworth, located in the Rural District of Sunderland, County Durham, England. At that time there were perhaps hundreds of these villages in the northern region of the United Kingdom and particularly in the county of Durham.
Aphrodite's Curse: A Short Story
Price: Free! Words: 9,330. Language: English. Published: August 26, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Ancient, Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Aphrodite’s Curse is about a dynasty’s fall from grace, unrequited love and retribution.
Emma's Dilemma
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 13,870. Language: American English. Published: October 25, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Regency, Fiction » Christian » Romance
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Horrors! Emma's favorite Gothic novel seems to have come true...but reality is not as fun as fiction. The only man she's ever loved is home from war, but he has changed in a terrifying way. Emma must decide if she can love a creature of darkness, or reveal his secret and lose him forever.
Miserere
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 79,140. Language: English. Published: November 28, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Gay & Lesbian
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
In 1968, with her father MIA in Vietnam, Conn's family moves to her mother’s home where Conn is chosen as the one who must unravel the mystery surrounding her ancestor who disappeared soon after the Civil War. Set during two turbulent periods of American history, this book takes the reader on a journey through time as Conn tries to end the curse her family has lived with for a century.
The Curse of Troy: Helen's Story
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 10,210. Language: English. Published: January 9, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Historical, Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Helen of Troy! The most beautiful woman in the world. Her face launched a thousand ships. Betrayal, greed and power unfold in this compelling Greek tragedy.
Second Helping
Price: Free! Words: 25,380. Language: English. Published: January 13, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Essex Dorner vowed he'd never help another person without pay until he heard her defiant voice refusing to quit lands left her by her murdered husband and father. Mean and bitter, Essex heard a spirit he could not refuse to help and so found a path from condemnation to redemption. Second Helping is a Western Settler Saga short story featuring Marshall Adam Pike.
Black and White With a Hint of Grey: A Time Paradox?
Price: Free! Words: 1,260. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2015. Categories: Fiction » African American fiction » Historical, Fiction » Historical » USA
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
An 1865 mystery encourages a child's imagination: what if a civil rights era leader could time travel?
Sorry Springs Texas
Price: $4.95 USD. Words: 71,280. Language: English. Published: August 2, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
This was a time when the buffalo still roamed the prairie and huge cattle ranches were being put togather crowding the Indians back further from the frontier. The battle between the states was over and construction was underway. The country was on the doorstep of the machine age and an energy source was needed. The black gold seeping up out of the ground showed them the way
Alberta Skies
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 89,770. Language: English. Published: September 14, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Romance » General, Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Upon the prolonged death of her father, Lauren Butler decides to see if there is anything left of the love she and Adam once shared before he left for the wild and rugged District of Alberta two years ago.
After the Dance
Price: Free! Words: 1,630. Language: English. Published: December 22, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Australia & New Zealand
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Eliza is a well behaved eighteen year old girl, living in the 1900’s. Her home is a fire station where her father is the fire chief. Eliza loves going to the dance every Saturday night, and she always arrives home by midnight to her waiting father. But tonight she is late and she thinks about the punishment. Eliza has worked herself up into a panic. What her father does next is unexpected.
The Touch of Hemp
Price: Free! Words: 4,630. Language: English. Published: January 25, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General, Fiction » Historical » Paranormal
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
In 1897, Alfred Hamilton was the country's number one respected hangman. All that changed the morning he came to hang Conrad Edgar Stubbs.
The Serpentine Garden Path
Series: The Compleat Gardener, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 70,440. Language: English. Published: February 10, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom, Fiction » Romance » Historical
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
In 18th C. England, Susan Kirke falls in love with the gardener on her father’s estate. Her parents dismiss John Dean. On a trip to London, Susan attends a masquerade at Vauxhall Gardens. Disguised as a boy, she escapes to find the man she loves. Dean elopes with her to Scotland, where more adventures ensue. The Serpentine Path is loosely based on the story of my ancestors.