Fiction » Historical

Sub-categories: General | USA | Western & American frontier | Medieval | United Kingdom | Ancient | Regency | Victorian | Paranormal | Classical Greece & Rome | Colonial America | Australia & New Zealand | All sub-categories >>
Indebted
Series: Rivers, Book 3. You set the price! Words: 108,570. Language: English. Published: December 2, 2014 by Two Square Books Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » General, Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
2 hired thugs, 1 sheriff, 2 unlikely friends, 1 court appointed nuisance-- what could possibly go wrong? This humorous adventure is about the bonds between brothers-- even unintentional ones-- & the many hiccups of life. INDEBTED is a 'clean' read. Except for Gideon, who can ruin a new set of clothes in 3 sec. flat, pinch the blue ribbon prize & still skid calamitously into town by supper.
Gideon's Way
Series: Rivers, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 3,110. Language: English. Published: June 16, 2015 by Two Square Books Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » General, Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
This is a brief glimpse into the world of Gideon Fletcher. He's a decent guy-- with a penchant for calamity. Life is just full of hiccups and never asks for Gideon's vote on anything. Neither does the sheriff. Or the judge. Or his court appointed guard, come to that.
A Matter of Diplomacy: A Novelette
Price: Free! Words: 8,240. Language: English. Published: September 17, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Victorian, Fiction » Romance » Historical
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
At the advanced age of three and thirty, the bookish Lady Anastasia has given up on finding love. Consequently, when sparks fly between Anastasia and a brilliant, handsome, and much younger diplomatic attaché, Lady Anastasia questions the young Jonathon Ambercrombie’s true intentions. This novelette-length story is a sweet traditional romance set in Victorian-era Brussels.
Salai: A Short Story of Leonardo da Vinci
Price: Free! Words: 2,880. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Renaissance
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Salai is the foster son of Leonardo da Vinci. A true hellion, he grows to understand his foster father's patience with him.
Perry Scrimshaw's Rite of Passage
You set the price! Words: 87,030. Language: English. Published: December 2, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
A transatlantic tale of love, betrayal and the struggle to survive during Victorian times in Southampton and Buenos Aires.
Nick Stolter
Price: Free! Words: 94,720. Language: English. Published: December 13, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
They wanted his horses, his life, and his money. Hell-bent outlaws and opportunists dogged Nick Stolter’s trail headed towards home. His wounds, feisty yearling horses, and lousy weather pile on top of catastrophe and heartbreak. Will his own fortitude and a couple of lucky breaks be enough to see him home? Or will a bullet catch him on the trail?
Letter from a Desperate Father
Price: Free! Words: 5,350. Language: English. Published: January 1, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Ghost, Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
An innocent man has been imprisoned. Hoping to see his son one last time, he composes a letter explaining the devastating event for which he's been blamed. LETTER FROM A DESPERATE FATHER is a chilling tale of grief and betrayal with supernatural elements.
Tsura: A World War II Romance
Price: Free! Words: 87,510. Language: English. Published: May 16, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
An epic WWII saga, for fans of The Bronze Horseman and Outlander. Outcast and despised as a Roma (gypsy) in World War II Romania, all Tsura longs for is a sense of safety and a place to belong. Just when she believes she’s found home in the arms of her lover, for both their safety, she’s forced to leave him and marry another.
Finding Michante
Price: Free! Words: 45,490. Language: English. Published: March 31, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
After fighting first alongside the Redlegs and then the Missouri Bushwackers in the Civil War, James Quinn rides into Nebraska Territory to escape the war. He loses his wife and child and spends the next two with the Cheyenne Dog Soldiers.
Rose Capel's Sacrifice
Price: Free! Words: 43,560. Language: English. Published: July 13, 2017 by White Tree Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Christian » General, Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Rose and Maurice Capel find themselves living in poverty through no fault of their own, and their daughter Gwen is dangerously ill and in need of a doctor and medicine, which they cannot possibly afford. There seems to be only one option -- to offer their daughter to Maurice Capel's unmarried sister, Dorothy, living in the beautiful Welsh countryside, and be left with nothing more than memories.
Big Bold Beowulf
Series: Grimm Tales. Price: Free! Words: 19,560. Language: English. Published: July 21, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Ancient
(5.00 from 1 review)
The true story of Beowulf as told by an old man who was there. At least that is what Grimm is telling 21st Century London schoolboy Jamie.
Shadow of Hope
Price: Free! Words: 110,190. Language: British English. Published: August 3, 2015 by Lillian White Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Classical Greece & Rome, Fiction » Romance » Historical
(5.00 from 1 review)
A simple shepherd in ancient Greece, Cimon struggles to deal with the aftermath of being torn from his home and wife by a wandering Rabisu. As he changes in ways he could never have imagined, it seems that the gods may not have finished with him yet. Might there be a chance for him to regain his former life and love, a shadow of hope?
Bombproof
Series: Third Battalion Trilogy. Price: Free! Words: 80,320. Language: English. Published: September 17, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Canada, Fiction » Adventure » War & military adventure
(5.00 from 1 review)
One year on the Western Front through the eyes of a First World War Canadian infantry platoon.
Sedgwick County Ambush
Price: Free! Words: 24,230. Language: English. Published: November 13, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier, Fiction » Adventure » Action
(5.00 from 1 review)
The Davis kids have acquired land and a cattle ranch from their Civil War injured father. Trying to make the ranch profitable the Davises notice some of their cattle disappearing. After seeing strange things on their ranch such as Indian arrows and unknown riders the Davises believe there is more to the disappearance of their cattle then what they initial thought.
A Christmas Oath (Novelette)
You set the price! Words: 12,630. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2015 by Holland & Eyre Press. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Victorian, Fiction » Holiday » Christmas
(5.00 from 1 review)
Christmas should be a time of peace on earth and goodwill toward men, but it isn’t for Elizabeth Dutton. Three months earlier, she sued Francis Oldman for breach of promise of marriage. When she attends the annual Christmas Eve party at Darby Hall, she comes face-to-face with the man who broke her heart. The party she hoped to enjoy turns into one disaster after another until a miracle arrives.
Awfully Artful Arthur or should that be Clever Cunning Cerdic?
Series: Grimm Tales. Price: Free! Words: 13,710. Language: British English. Published: February 1, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Medieval
(5.00 from 1 review)
After almost three years 21stC schoolboy Jamie meets up with Grimm again and this time Grimm finally tells Jamie the true story of King Arthur - well almost true, as true as his memory recalls, for he is no longer the young man, but the old man.
The Bastion
Price: Free! Words: 880. Language: British English. Published: March 14, 2016 by Xadrum. Categories: Fiction » Themes & motifs » Family sagas, Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 1 review)
The sole descendant of a family line muses over the ignominious past of his ancestors.
Drum Up The Dead: Eye of the Eagle - Book One
You set the price! Words: 71,310. Language: American English. Published: April 22, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
(5.00 from 1 review)
Eote, a modern half-Indian reared in the white man's world, is transported to another time and dimension, where through his experiences with several different American Indian tribes, he must decide the fate of the modern world.
Swan's Path
Price: Free! Words: 54,660. Language: English. Published: May 7, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Medieval
(5.00 from 1 review)
At the end of the Viking Age, a young woman's longing for a return to the old bloody ways is answered, but for well or ill remains to be seen.
The Lunas
Price: Free! Words: 75,840. Language: English. Published: May 18, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Historical » USA
(5.00 from 1 review)
The Lunas is a modern tale of the most precious gift in life. On the majestic tropical slopes of the West Maui Mountains, two boarder students at Lahainaluna High School find that no matter what may happen in the chaotic world around them, nothing stops the bonds of true love.