Fiction » Historical

Sub-categories: General | USA | Western & American frontier | United Kingdom | Medieval | Ancient | Regency | Victorian | Paranormal | Classical Greece & Rome | Australia & New Zealand | Colonial America | All sub-categories >>
A Tale of Two Cities
Series: Easy English Books. Price: Free! Words: 140,230. Language: Australian English. Published: May 24, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Classics, Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
(5.00 from 14 reviews)
"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens, is part of a special reading program devised by journalist Dave McKay. The program paraphrases classic novels, primarily targeting people who are learning English as a second language. It enables older students to read classic novels despite having a very limited reading vocabulary. 1700 different English words are used in "A Tale of Two Cities".
Edward - Interactive
Price: Free! Words: 115,980. Language: English. Published: April 2, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Paranormal
(5.00 from 10 reviews)
What is Past and what is Present? Edward came to light in 1990 and changed my life; the events around Edward happened in the 1480s and 1490s. Can the Past change the Present, or the other way around? This book's truth, with pains-taking detail, of both then and now, may provoke. Edward could have ended Tudor tyranny with the cup, the sword and druid glass. Let's end that tyranny over the present.
The Coffin Maker's Daughters - Blind Bargain
Series: The Coffin Maker's Daughters, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 142,470. Language: English. Published: August 2, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Victorian, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
(5.00 from 8 reviews)
A novel set in Victorian England. When Lily Spencer, naive and vulnerable, marries Charles Nightingale they strike a Blind Bargain for neither knows much about the other. But Lily discovers a dark secret that Charles has kept hidden.Lily struggles to rise above the pain of delusion and cope with a life devoid of physical love. A story of intrigue, misunderstandings, love, hate and revenge.
Fires of Alexandria
Price: Free! Words: 86,790. Language: English. Published: July 6, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 5 reviews)
The greatest mystery of the ancient world remains the identity of who set fire to the Great Library in Alexandria. One hundred years later, Heron of Alexandria—the city's most renown inventor—receives coin from a mysterious patron to investigate the crime, setting in motion a chain of events that will shake the Roman Empire and change the course of history forever.
Shipmate: A Royal Regard Prequel Novella
Series: Sailing Home. Price: Free! Words: 40,670. Language: English. Published: November 22, 2015 by Whaley Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Historical » Regency
(5.00 from 4 reviews)
For shy Bella Smithson, landing a husband seems laughable, so when shipping magnate Myron Clewes offers to buy her from her unfeeling family and take her to sea, she is obligated to accept his suit—and a long list of demands she might never be able to meet.
Annalea, Princess of Nemusmar
Series: Annalea, Book 1 ยท Annalea, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 92,810. Language: English. Published: February 26, 2009. Categories: Fiction » Historical » General, Fiction » Adventure » General
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
After reading the first paragraph, you may conclude that this is a book about pirates. This is not a book about pirates. Okay, there are a few pirates in the book. (Okay, there are quite a few pirates in the book.) But this is not a book that is just about pirates. It provides intimate familiarity with strong characters and a sense of sharing in their lives and adventures.
The Moghul
Price: Free! Words: 218,600. Language: English. Published: August 19, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Doubleday 1983 Reviewers called it the best novel on India since Kipling. An immediate European bestseller, optioned by Indian/German producers who commissioned a six-hour mini-series, then Canadian producers with BBC. Based on real people (ca. 1620) – an English “sea dog” shoots his way through Portuguese gallons and into an Indian port to open trade. Once on land, there’re tiger hun
The Serpentine Garden Path
Series: The Compleat Gardener, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 70,440. Language: English. Published: February 10, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom, Fiction » Romance » Historical
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
In 18th C. England, Susan Kirke falls in love with the gardener on her father’s estate. Her parents dismiss John Dean. On a trip to London, Susan attends a masquerade at Vauxhall Gardens. Disguised as a boy, she escapes to find the man she loves. Dean elopes with her to Scotland, where more adventures ensue. The Serpentine Path is loosely based on the story of my ancestors.
The Deer Run Trail
Series: The Trail Westerns, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 73,470. Language: English. Published: March 15, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
When Ruben Beeler found Arliss Hyatt near shot to death, he didn’t know his life was fixin’ to change. Green as grass, Rube was a long way from bein’ any kind of pistoleer or shootist, but Marshal Marion Daniels needed help with that Duncan bunch an’ growed Rube up right quick. Then a town in trouble put him behind a badge of his own, an’ it come time to root hog or die, on the DEER RUN TRAIL.
Second Helping
Price: Free! Words: 25,380. Language: English. Published: January 13, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Essex Dorner vowed he'd never help another person without pay until he heard her defiant voice refusing to quit lands left her by her murdered husband and father. Mean and bitter, Essex heard a spirit he could not refuse to help and so found a path from condemnation to redemption. Second Helping is a Western Settler Saga short story featuring Marshall Adam Pike.
The Pride of Howard County
Price: Free! Words: 58,550. Language: American English. Published: June 28, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Colonial America, Fiction » Plays & Screenplays » American
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
This is the story of John Lincoln as he travels from the suburbs of Macon Georgia to New York City and finally to the Roger’s farm in Howard County Missouri. It’s on this farm a wayward spirit discovers a life he couldn’t have ever imagined, a place to heal and have his faith in mankind restored. With intense highs and crushing lows this is the story of the enduring nature of the human spirit caug
Be With Me
Price: Free! Words: 52,270. Language: British English. Published: October 1, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Historical » Ancient
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
Barely a wife before she became a widow, Briallen feels like she’s lost everything – and now she has to watch a group of strangers move into the house she once called home. As hard as that it is to face, it’s made even more difficult by a man she feels drawn to, and two children she can’t help but love. Everyone deserves a second chance at love, even in the Iron Age.
Salvation's Secrets (The Loflin Legacy Prequel)
Price: Free! Words: 26,900. Language: American English. Published: October 25, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier, Fiction » Romance » Historical
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
A Prequel to The Loflin Legacy series by Catherine Wolffe Seth Loflin didn't expect to discover the love of his young life bathing in the creek on Loflin land. Yet Celia satisfies his body and his heart the moment he sees her. But trouble isn't far away when his father finds out about his oldest son's summer romance with the beautiful Comanche half-breed.
Pursuit of Passy
Price: Free! Words: 76,610. Language: English. Published: November 11, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense, Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
A thrilling novel of a man hunt with a nation's existence at stake.
Deus Militis - Soldiers of God
Price: Free! Words: 156,710. Language: Commonwealth English. Published: January 18, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Medieval
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
An English Knight, a Crusader who no longer believes in his holy war is forced to protect a faith he has questioned. Drawn into another war for his King, a war that could cost him everything, he fights to protect a Kingdom, and the woman he loves, a fight he cannot lose!
Perry Scrimshaw's Rite of Passage
You set the price! Words: 87,030. Language: English. Published: December 2, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
A transatlantic tale of love, betrayal and the struggle to survive during Victorian times in Southampton and Buenos Aires.
Nick Stolter
Price: Free! Words: 94,720. Language: English. Published: December 13, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
They wanted his horses, his life, and his money. Hell-bent outlaws and opportunists dogged Nick Stolter’s trail headed towards home. His wounds, feisty yearling horses, and lousy weather pile on top of catastrophe and heartbreak. Will his own fortitude and a couple of lucky breaks be enough to see him home? Or will a bullet catch him on the trail?
Tsura: A World War II Romance
Price: Free! Words: 87,510. Language: English. Published: May 16, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
An epic WWII saga, for fans of The Bronze Horseman and Outlander. Outcast and despised as a Roma (gypsy) in World War II Romania, all Tsura longs for is a sense of safety and a place to belong. Just when she believes she’s found home in the arms of her lover, for both their safety, she’s forced to leave him and marry another.
Finding Michante
Price: Free! Words: 45,490. Language: English. Published: March 31, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
After fighting first alongside the Redlegs and then the Missouri Bushwackers in the Civil War, James Quinn rides into Nebraska Territory to escape the war. He loses his wife and child and spends the next two with the Cheyenne Dog Soldiers.
Ireland Rose
Series: Ireland Rose, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 112,190. Language: English. Published: September 7, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Christian » Romance, Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
As sweeping historical romance. From the high society of Charleston to the green hills of Ireland.