Fiction » Historical

Sub-categories: General | Western & American frontier | USA | Medieval | United Kingdom | Ancient | Regency | Victorian | Paranormal | Classical Greece & Rome | Colonial America | Australia & New Zealand | All sub-categories >>
Paulina Annenkova
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 121,160. Language: English. Published: November 5, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » General
(5.00 from 1 review)
December 1825. St Petersburg, Imperial Russia. Two lives torn apart by revolution. The true story of one woman’s determination to follow her destiny. For fans of Anna Karenina and Dr Zhivago. Published with full color maps, Paulina Annenkova is a sumptuous historical novel about power and passion in Imperial Russia.
Jake Moss
By
Price: $3.00 USD. Words: 51,970. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
JAKE MOSS is an ex-slave and capable gunslinger who is searching the West for his wife and young son who were ‘sold off.’ In his pursuit, he helps a diverse cast of settlers, Indians, farmers with the help of two incredible animal sidekicks, a Big Horn sheep and an Appaloosa horse that play a large part in Jake’s survival. This trio will amaze, fascinate you, and win your heart.
Story 4: Planting a Pear Tree
By
Series: Sample Titles from Pu Songling, Book 4. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 1,080. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2012 by Broomhandle Books. Category: Fiction » Classics
This Smashwords edition of Strange Stories from a Chinese Studio was transcribed from the 1908 Second Edition of a translation by Herbert A. Giles. Broomhandle Books has edited the stories to provide modern punctuation and styling so as to make them more accessible to a reader in this e-book format. In addition, Chinese personal and place names have been rendered into modern pinyin.
Story 3: The Painted Wall
By
Series: Sample Titles from Pu Songling, Book 3. Price: Free! Words: 1,530. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2012 by Broomhandle Books. Category: Fiction » Classics
This Smashwords edition of Strange Stories from a Chinese Studio was transcribed from the 1908 Second Edition of a translation by Herbert A. Giles. Broomhandle Books has edited them with a more modern format, including punctuation and styling, to make them more accessible to a reader in this e-book format. In addition, Chinese personal and place names have been rendered into modern pinyin.
All Else is Folly
By
Price: $7.00 USD. Words: 88,340. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » USA
Set against Hollywood in the Roaring Twenties, "All Else is Folly" tells the love story between Buster Keaton and Genevieve Midwinter. On the surface, Buster has it all, fame, fortune and talent ... but there is a void in his life .. that is, un
Spinster's Folly
By
Series: The Owen Family Saga, Book 4. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 77,640. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
2013 Winner USA Best Books Award, Westerns. Marie Owen longs for a loving husband, but marriage prospects on the Colorado frontier are limited. Her desperation at the prospect of remaining unmarried, fueled by her younger sister's taunting jibes about her becoming a spinster, drives Marie into the arms of a sweet-talking predator, landing her in unimaginable dangers. Book 4: The Owen Family Saga
Claddaugh
By
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 92,310. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2012. Category: Fiction » Christian » Romance
Leigh Latham chose money over love, turning her back on family and friends. When the dream becomes a nightmare, Leigh runs back to the friends she left behind. Can she possibly hope to find forgiveness? Marshal Rory Johnston thought he was over Leigh. Now she's back and he isn't sure they can be just friends. Can he protect her and his heart at the same time?
Goodbye, Sagebrush
By
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 23,950. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » Western & American frontier
Goodbye, Sagebrush is a semi-autobiographical tale of one young girl's experience moving from the Wyoming frontier of her upbringing to the "big city" of Salt Lake, at the tail end of the Great Depression. As Dottie 'Rie travels the long road to Utah's capital city, her mind drifts back to the good life she enjoyed back in the old log cabin and at the ranch.
Story 2: The Talking Pupils
By
Series: Sample Titles from Pu Songling, Book 2. Price: Free! Words: 1,450. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2012 by Broomhandle Books. Category: Fiction » Classics
This Smashwords edition of Strange Stories from a Chinese Studio was transcribed from the 1908 Second Edition of a translation by Herbert A. Giles. This publisher attempted to edit them with a more modern format, including punctuation and styling, to make them more accessible to a reader in this e-book format. In addition, Chinese personal and place names have been rendered into modern pinyin.
Story 1: Examination for the Post of Guardian Angel
By
Series: Sample Titles from Pu Songling, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 1,340. Language: English. Published: November 3, 2012 by Broomhandle Books. Category: Fiction » Classics
This Smashwords edition of Strange Stories from a Chinese Studio was transcribed from the 1908 Second Edition of a translation by Herbert A. Giles. This publisher attempted to edit them with a more modern format, including punctuation and styling, to make them more accessible to a reader in this e-book format. In addition, Chinese personal and place names have been rendered into modern pinyin.
The Road to Frogmore: Turning Slaves into Citizens
By
Series: The Civil War in South Carolina's Low Country, Book 3. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 124,220. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2012. Category: Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
Laura Towne was a medical student, a Unitarian, and an abolitionist. In 1862 she traveled to South Carolina to work with a group of missionaries known as Gideonites. She and her friend Ellen Murray struggled to provide education for the slaves who had been abandoned by their owners on St. Helena Island. The school they founded is now the Penn Center, preserving the heritage of the Gullah people.
Dice, Drink, and Ghosts
By
Price: Free! Words: 2,400. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » Paranormal
''It is a barely describable thing, to feel what a gambler feels. A man of gambling cares not, not really, for shiny jewels or sparkling riches. He is a man of sentiment. He is a man who does not want, but longs to feel.'' Returning to the age of the Restoration, Jake Murphy celebrates this Halloween season with a tale about gambling with ghosts in Charles II's bankrupt and drunken England.
The Shishi
By
Series: The John Mung Saga, Book 3. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 136,520. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » USA
Mung and John Whittefield face the Golden Lizard leader of the tattooed men who are dedicated to ridding Japan of all foreigners.While attempting to introduce new methods of agriculture, education and trade into Japan, Mung fends off the Russian attempt to take over Japan's northernmost islands.His wife Saiyo dies in an earthquake.Her sister,nurses Mung to health and leadership of Japan.
Have Blue
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 50,730. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2012 by Clocktower Books. Category: Fiction » Historical » USA
When a man loves an airplane, it's a matter of calculations. When a man loves a woman, everything is up in the air. Paul Owens, in the early 1970s, found an obscure Soviet technical journal—and an inspiration that would save the Free World (based on true history). Paul also falls in love with a beautiful, intelligent young widow named Marsha Kassner, 32, who moves next door with her son Peter, 9.
For the Love of Rose
By
Price: $5.50 USD. Words: 168,560. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » United Kingdom
Rose O Mahony lives an idyllic life in Little Island, in County Cork. She lives with her parents Nonie and Patsy, cousin Molly and her husband James. It is 1930’s Ireland and a time of great unrest as the spectre of another World War looms.
Napper Tandy, The Irish Patriot
By
Price: Free! Words: 33,250. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2012. Category: Nonfiction » History » European
Napper Tandy was born in Dublin in 1740, an ironmonger's son. He was Secretary of the United Irishmen which with Wolfe Tone he helped found the United Irishmen. He led the mismanaged French ‘invasion’ of Ireland in 1798. He was sentenced to death, but never executed, a fact which may well have denied him the martyrdom which came to others Like Wolfe Tone and Robert Emmett. This is his his story.
Fortnight
By
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 10,080. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2012 by Highland Press Publishing. Category: Fiction » Romance » Historical
A Short Story - No one is worthy of love, but love makes them worthy . . . Oliver Darby is confident of his ability to woo a wife. So confident, he makes a wager to woo the highly eligible—and notoriously choosy—Charlotte Ainsworth in a mere fourteen days. Through his failures and successes, he discovers that love can spring from the unlikeliest of places.
Saving Elkanah Merrell
By
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 42,370. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » Victorian
Winters were bleak in Brontes Haworth, In Victorian Madeira there were no Winters. "Last night, I dreamt that I could smell the Jaquranada again,I walked through their purple petals, sprinkled like soft frosted snow on moonlit pavements, with the warm breeze from the ocean upon my face" After breakfast, the family had all gone and the house was quiet again, but the images remained.
Children of the Revolution: Book 3 in The Westward Sagas
By
Series: Westward Sagas. Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 100,420. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2012. Category: Fiction » Historical » USA
The story of the progeny of patriot Adam Mitchell, who fought during the American Revolution at the Battle of Guilford Courthouse, North Carolina, on March 15, 1781. Now in Tennessee shortly after statehood, Adam's daughter Peggy matures into a confident woman courted by British nobility. Adventure, intrigue, romance and tragedy are woven into the story of the first generation of Americans.
Trouble Comes to Sorrow (Sorrow #2)
By
Series: The Sheriff of Sorrow, Book 2. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 11,320. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2012 by MindWingsAudio. Category: Fiction » Historical » USA
The jury in Sorrow has found Junior Collins guilty of murder. Aggie St. Pierre says he’s not the killer. When Cal Haskell, the sheriff of Sorrow, asks for proof, she responds with ‘a gut feeling.’ Cal agrees to take a closer look. He was warned about some of the men in town, hungry for a hanging and possibly taking the law into their own hands. Did the jury get it wrong?