Nonfiction » Biography

Sub-categories: Autobiographies & Memoirs | Personal memoir | Celebrity biography | Historical biography | Woman biographies | Religious biography | Adventurers & explorers | Military biography | Literary biography | Other biographies | Criminals & outlaws | Sports biography | All sub-categories >>
Green Suede Shoes: An Irish-American Odyssey
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 138,810. Language: English. Published: November 5, 2013 and represented by Dystel and Goderich Literary Management. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Music » Rock music
This rock 'n' roll Angela's Ashes begins in County Wexford, Ireland, a then womb-like theocracy. After emigrating Kirwan finds himself with the Ramones at CBGBs and the brothers McCourt & Lester Bangs at The Bells of Hell. He forms Black 47 under the watchful eye of Joe Strummer. Green Suede Shoes remembers three decades of a lost New York, and the people who have made it what it is.
Somewhere Children Shout
Price: Free! Words: 52,360. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Somewhere Children Shout takes you back to the life of a kid in the Catskills in the 1950s, a candid look at growing up in a town with one traffic light, and where picking up a bottle of milk had to be postponed until Monday. But for a kid in the fifth grade it was pretty close to perfect, a time and place for discovery.
Rising Out Of The Ashes Of Depression
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 5,700. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Inspiration » Personal inspiration
A funny, relatable and candid short tale about the author's life with depression and the after-effects.
Call Me Ella
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 80,310. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Adoption
Call Me Ella is a heartwarming and uplifting story about a young girl who considered her adoptive parents her “real parents,” yet needed to know her roots. She had no idea that her twenty-four year search for her birthmother, which did not begin until after both of her parents had passed away, would involve Sopranos-like tales of organized crime, gambling, and infidelity.
More Secrets of an Old Typewriter: Misunderstood Gargoyles and Overrated Angels
Price: $6.49 USD. Words: 42,250. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2013 by Open Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Misunderstood Gargoyles & Overrated Angels celebrates the underdogs and the unappreciated among us... and sets its sights on the hypocritical and the hyped among us as well.
Legends, Labors & Loves: William Jackson Palmer, 1836—1909
Series: Regional History Series. Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 126,290. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2013 by Pikes Peak Library District. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Biographical anthologies, Nonfiction » History » North America
Legends, Labors & Loves reveals a remarkable and modest man and opens every reader’s eyes to a new view of Colorado Springs’ founder William Jackson Palmer. There is no scandal, nor is there deception. Not only will you find integrity, leadership and compassion in this book, but you will witness Palmer’s tenacious conviction, strength, and shrewdness—just how one imagines a true “founding father.”
My Journey Through Addictions to Salvation: A New Beginning
Price: $2.95 USD. Words: 45,420. Language: English. Published: November 2, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Addiction and recovery
Entrenched in alcohol and drugs for a long period of time. with no future. When God helped me find my way to recovery in 2005, doors opened that I could not have imagined. In 2006, I returned to school to get my high school diploma and now have diplomas in Addictions and Social Service Worker. I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts and Science Degree in Psychology.
Truth, Auspiciousness, Beauty
Price: $1.00 USD. Words: 8,640. Language: British English. Published: November 2, 2013 by Sri Sathya Sai Sadhana Trust, Publications Division. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Royalty biography, Nonfiction » Biography » Religious biography
This small booklet by the author gives in a nutshell the Divine Life and Messages of Bhagawan Sri Sathya Sai Baba as narrated in the first four volumes of "Sathyam, Sivam, Sundaram" by the chosen biographer of Bhagawan, Prof. N. Kasturi.
'Death, Thou shalt Die': The Life of John Donne
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 30,440. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography
The greatest poet and the greatest preacher of his time, John Donne rose from poverty and obscurity to the position of Dean of St Paul's, a confident of King Charles and - his early poems too erotic to be published - a scourge of sinners whose daughter owned the most popular brothel in London.
Once Upon A Road Trip
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 137,700. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Romance
*Think 'Eat, Pray, Love'...the teen version. A pre-life crisis on a shoestring budget. *A geeky girl goes on an unlikely 8-week adventure--encountering unexpected danger, wonderment, grief, and love. *A fiction-like retelling of a young woman's true story--made up of 3rd person narrative and actual journal entries.
Perfect Dog Tales
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 32,870. Language: English. Published: November 1, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Other biographies
Contained within these pages are more than thirty of Wilkins’ favorite animal stories, a book dominated by dogs. “When wolves decided it would be okay to become lapdogs,” Wilkins says, “human beings got a benefit beyond measure.” But in the telling of his tales the author acknowledges the worth of many other creatures.
Alfred John North: In Justice and Fairness to Myself
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 12,810. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography, Nonfiction » Science and Nature » Life Sciences / Zoology / Ornithology
Alfred John North was one of Australia's pioneer ornithologists. He was the author of Nests and Eggs of Birds Found Breeding in Australia and Tasmania (1901-1914), which remains a standard reference work today. While often maligned by his critics, the discovery of North's diary and private papers show him to have been a scientist of the highest calibre.
Wise Men and Other Stories: Lessons from the Holidays on Santa, God, Heaven, Death and More Fun Stuff from Someone Who Still Has a Lot to Learn
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 22,720. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
"Wise Men and Other Stories" is a collection of holiday-related essays that blends humor and poignancy in the tradition of Robert Fulghum, Dave Barry, Bill Bryson, P.J. O'Rourke and other great American humorists. "O'Mary has a gift for simple, frank exposition of life's most poignant moments," says author Stephen Parrish. In Wise Men and Other Stories, O'Mary shares that gift with all of us.
Wasn't Tomorrow Wonderful?
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 62,910. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In this funny and moving memoir, Walsh recounts an idiosyncratic childhood that included an attempt to track down a crazed serial killer, a First Amendment battle with his fourth-grade principal, running the local KKK (that’s Kenny’s Kid Kare) babysitting service — and the mysterious disappearance of his father.
In Bed With Gore Vidal
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 107,630. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography
Gore Vidal claimed there was no such thing as “gay,” only gay sexual acts. But what was the truth about his sex life and sexuality—and how did it affect and influence his writing and public life?
Immersion d'un maton
Price: $2.90 USD. Words: 49,970. Language: French. Published: October 30, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Le milieu carcéral tel qu'on le connaît est bien moindre face à la réalité. Des surveillants pénitentiaires démunis aux détenus dangereux pour ceux qui les côtoient et eux-mêmes. Les prisons sont le reflet de la société, c'est pourquoi ce livre lève le rideau sur l'inconnu. Je l'ai vécu en tant que surveillant de l'administration pénitentiaire. Rien n'est épargné, tout est dévoilé, même le pire...
The Woman Without a Number
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 83,080. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2013 by Scratching Shed Publishing. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » History » Holocaust
The Woman Without a Number is the inspirational story of holocaust survivor Iby Knill, whose early childhood was spent in Czechoslovakia before her parents - alarmed at the persecution of Jews in Germany - smuggled her over the border to Hungary. Caught by the Security Police, Iby was then imprisoned, tortured and sent to the infamous Auschwitz-Birkenau camp, but lived to tell her remarkable tale.
Weezer: The Unofficial Band Biography
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 17,400. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013 by BookCaps. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography
From "Buddy Holly" and "Say It Ain't So" to "Island In the Sun" and "Pork and Bean's," their music has always been groundbreaking. This unofficial band biography takes the covers off the band, the sound, and the records—looking at what inspired the songs and albums. From their formation and first album to their latest release (Death to False Metal), this unofficial band biography will give you i
Down the Shore - Tales From the Beaches and Boards of New Jersey Volume II
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 26,580. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Entertainment » Biography
Trent Redman’s second in the Down the Shore series, a few more fun tales from the author’s life and times at the Shore, an update on the progress made so far, a quick look at how the first season fared in terms of revenue and tourism, and some little known facts and figures about New Jersey and the Shore. Among other tidbits “Shore” to please and entertain.
Get It On!: What It Means To Lead The Way
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 67,670. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013 by Post Hill Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Military biography, Nonfiction » Religion and Spirituality » Christian Church / Leadership
Decorated U.S. military veteran-turned-country music star Keni Thomas gives a personal account of his heart-wrenching experiences in the chaotic 1993 Battle of Mogadishu to express a unique set of leadership lessons and inspired view of life’s greater purpose. "Keni Thomas is a great storyteller. (This) is a book for everyone." -- War on Terror News