Nonfiction » Biography

Sub-categories: Autobiographies & Memoirs | Personal memoir | Celebrity biography | Woman biographies | Historical biography | Religious biography | Adventurers & explorers | Military biography | Criminals & outlaws | Other biographies | Literary biography | Business biography | All sub-categories >>
Alfred John North: In Justice and Fairness to Myself
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 12,810. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography, Nonfiction » Science and Nature » Life Sciences / Zoology / Ornithology
Alfred John North was one of Australia's pioneer ornithologists. He was the author of Nests and Eggs of Birds Found Breeding in Australia and Tasmania (1901-1914), which remains a standard reference work today. While often maligned by his critics, the discovery of North's diary and private papers show him to have been a scientist of the highest calibre.
Wise Men and Other Stories: Lessons from the Holidays on Santa, God, Heaven, Death and More Fun Stuff from Someone Who Still Has a Lot to Learn
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 22,720. Language: English. Published: October 31, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
"Wise Men and Other Stories" is a collection of holiday-related essays that blends humor and poignancy in the tradition of Robert Fulghum, Dave Barry, Bill Bryson, P.J. O'Rourke and other great American humorists. "O'Mary has a gift for simple, frank exposition of life's most poignant moments," says author Stephen Parrish. In Wise Men and Other Stories, O'Mary shares that gift with all of us.
Wasn't Tomorrow Wonderful?
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 62,910. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In this funny and moving memoir, Walsh recounts an idiosyncratic childhood that included an attempt to track down a crazed serial killer, a First Amendment battle with his fourth-grade principal, running the local KKK (that’s Kenny’s Kid Kare) babysitting service — and the mysterious disappearance of his father.
In Bed With Gore Vidal
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 107,630. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian, Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography
Gore Vidal claimed there was no such thing as “gay,” only gay sexual acts. But what was the truth about his sex life and sexuality—and how did it affect and influence his writing and public life?
Immersion d'un maton
Price: $2.90 USD. Words: 49,970. Language: French. Published: October 30, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Le milieu carcéral tel qu'on le connaît est bien moindre face à la réalité. Des surveillants pénitentiaires démunis aux détenus dangereux pour ceux qui les côtoient et eux-mêmes. Les prisons sont le reflet de la société, c'est pourquoi ce livre lève le rideau sur l'inconnu. Je l'ai vécu en tant que surveillant de l'administration pénitentiaire. Rien n'est épargné, tout est dévoilé, même le pire...
The Woman Without a Number
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 83,080. Language: English. Published: October 30, 2013 by Scratching Shed Publishing. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » History » Holocaust
The Woman Without a Number is the inspirational story of holocaust survivor Iby Knill, whose early childhood was spent in Czechoslovakia before her parents - alarmed at the persecution of Jews in Germany - smuggled her over the border to Hungary. Caught by the Security Police, Iby was then imprisoned, tortured and sent to the infamous Auschwitz-Birkenau camp, but lived to tell her remarkable tale.
Weezer: The Unofficial Band Biography
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 17,400. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013 by BookCaps. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography
From "Buddy Holly" and "Say It Ain't So" to "Island In the Sun" and "Pork and Bean's," their music has always been groundbreaking. This unofficial band biography takes the covers off the band, the sound, and the records—looking at what inspired the songs and albums. From their formation and first album to their latest release (Death to False Metal), this unofficial band biography will give you i
Down the Shore - Tales From the Beaches and Boards of New Jersey Volume II
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 26,580. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Entertainment » Biography
Trent Redman’s second in the Down the Shore series, a few more fun tales from the author’s life and times at the Shore, an update on the progress made so far, a quick look at how the first season fared in terms of revenue and tourism, and some little known facts and figures about New Jersey and the Shore. Among other tidbits “Shore” to please and entertain.
Get It On!: What It Means To Lead The Way
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 67,670. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013 by Post Hill Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Military biography, Nonfiction » Religion and Spirituality » Christian Church / Leadership
Decorated U.S. military veteran-turned-country music star Keni Thomas gives a personal account of his heart-wrenching experiences in the chaotic 1993 Battle of Mogadishu to express a unique set of leadership lessons and inspired view of life’s greater purpose. "Keni Thomas is a great storyteller. (This) is a book for everyone." -- War on Terror News
Sí Se Puede: A Biography of Cesar Chavez
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,090. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013 by BookCaps. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Cultural heritage
Cesario Estrada Chavez, more commonly known as Cesar Chavez, was a highly influential activist worker who created a union for farm workers all across the United States. Many organizations and activists before him had attempted to unionize the farm workers in California, but Cesar Chavez was the first to succeed. For his efforts and accomplishments, he is celebrated as a great advocate for equal
Noah: A History of Noah's Ark
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,270. Language: English. Published: October 29, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Religious biography
For thousands of years, the story of Noah has been one of the greatest epics ever wrote. This compelling book looks into the Biblical story from an historical standpoint. It looks at what the ark would have looked like, what society looked like, and the several archaeological quests to discover the ark. The book looks at the story from an unbiased viewpoint; it presents both sides (those who bel
Madame de Pompadour. La amante de Luis XV que llegó a ser la mujer más poderosa de Francia
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 35,980. Language: Spanish. Published: October 28, 2013 by LD Books - Lectorum. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Royalty biography, Nonfiction » Biography » Woman biographies
Madame de Pompadour, además de cómplice de fogosidades, fue la gran compañera y consejera del Rey. Culta y decidida, apoyó el proyecto de la enciclopedia, se rodeó de los mas notables filósofos y literatos de la epoca, protegió el teatro y prohijó las mas variadas manifestaciones artísticas. Este libro revela a una mujer cuya personalidad y valía superan cualquier preconcepto general.
Down the Shore - Tales From the Beaches and Boards of New Jersey
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 25,600. Language: English. Published: October 28, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Biography, Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
This little book is all about fun, good times, parties and great places to be.Take a ride with me "down the shore" while I share some truly fun experiences with you. Heartbroken by the events of Hurricane Sandy, Trent will continue to donate 50% of the profit from this book to the ongoing cleanup and rebuilding effort along the Jersey Shore. (Larry Gray writes as Trent Redman for this series).
My Journey From Six Months to an Adult
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 7,170. Language: English. Published: October 28, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This memoir is about sacrifice, dedication, commitment, and living with a sense of purpose.
My Story
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 30,070. Language: English (South African dialect). Published: October 28, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Biography » Editors, journalists, & publishers
The "Diary of a Rolling Stone": Craig is an extensive world traveller (on a "shoestring budget") and failed professional emigrater who has spent most of his lifes savings on airfares. He is still sliding down the razor blade of life on the beautiful undiscovered island that is New Zealand, somewhere near the bottom (rude!) of the world near Antarctica. There he talks to the 60 million sheep!
Aquarian Revolution: Back to the Land
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 102,990. Language: English. Published: October 28, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Modern / 20th Century, Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
"Aquarian Revolution: Back to the Land" reveals the guts, glory, and grief of 1960s social upheaval and documents the real accomplishments wrought when dreams are forged into reality. In turn funny, heart-rending, and inspiring, these thirty-two interviews reflect not only the flavor of those times but also the continuing ethic so deeply embedded in the Baby Boom generation’s consciousness.
O Valor da Liberdade: Compreendendo a Democracia em Diferentes Perspectivas
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 2,890. Language: Portuguese. Published: October 28, 2013 by 22 Lions. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Durante 6 anos vivi num país Comunista, a China, e até me custa a acreditar. Não é um país que aconselhe para viver. No entanto, aprendi bastante com a experiência. Ao longo desta obra perceber-se-á porquê que os estilos de vida na Europa e China podem ser tão diferentes, ainda assim mantendo os mesmos parâmetros condicionalistas.
Opus Ivan Stanislav
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 44,510. Language: Slovak. Published: October 28, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Celebrity biography
Každé veľké dielo si vyžiada život jedného človeka. V prípade Opusu ním bol Ivan Stanislav.
One Step to Happiness with Imaginary legs: A short life story of an Iranian girl struggles with her disability
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 6,890. Language: English. Published: October 27, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Woman biographies
This short story is about an Iranian girl ,Mona, who finds herself on wheelchair when she is seven years old. She is diagnosed with some sort of spinal cord illness which disables her to walk. Her parents seek to cure her illness while she should face different challenges in her daily life. Despite her physical disability, she does not give up and overcomes some of her life challenges.
Fire Up Your Healing
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 75,240. Language: English. Published: October 27, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Motivation and inspiration
If you’re overwhelmed, it is your time to become healthy. Survive and thrive! Fire Up Your Healing! should be at the top of your reading list….will help you heal your body, soul and relationships. The true-life journey continues for Donna Hartley as she faces her past and lets the healing begin, but life-changing events alter her path. Can she forgive the alcoholism and violence?