Nonfiction » Biography

Sub-categories: Autobiographies & Memoirs | Personal memoir | Celebrity biography | Historical biography | Woman biographies | Religious biography | Adventurers & explorers | Military biography | Literary biography | Other biographies | Criminals & outlaws | Sports biography | All sub-categories >>
Growing Up 50's
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 159,710. Language: English. Published: October 15, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
This book is the journal of a young Mormon girl growing up in Utah in the 1950's from 5th grade through college.
Sixteen Vs, Book Three, The Adolescent Years
Series: Sixteen Vs, Book 3. Price: $1.50 USD. Words: 130,300. Language: English. Published: October 12, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Life stages / adolescence
Amazing life lessons, broken bones, getting shot at, and several other ‘firsts’ in Victor’s life make this an exciting phase of learning. A typical experimenting teenager trying to dodge the pitfalls of life while having fun. Breaking his vow, Victor is forced to quit school. Several life-threatening events will keep you glued to the pages, holding you in suspense, as you search for the outcome.
Betty's Child
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
Making Weight
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 118,050. Language: English. Published: October 6, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Sports biography
Did you ever wonder what it's like to be blind? This book is about the life of a 65-year-old blind athlete. There will be happy stories, sad stories, and funny stories and there will be problems and their solutions. The intent of this book is to educate the sighted world regarding situations as they relate not only to blind people, but also to all society.
Grey Blue Water
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 115,450. Language: American English. Published: October 4, 2013 by Brighton Publishing LLC. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Family history, Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography
Grey-Blue Water traces the life of John Douglas Taylor, the son of a wealthy Southern gentleman, from his childhood on a Tennessee plantation, to his adventures in the newly-formed Republic of Texas, and later to his time as a riverboat captain on the Mississippi. Author Daniel Mabrey Taylor has based his novel on true accounts taken from family letters, journals, and other historical documents.
Paulyanna: International Rent-boy
Price: $5.00 USD. Words: 141,300. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Gay and Lesbian » Travel
(5.00 from 1 review)
Paulyanna: International Rent-boy is a honest and frank portrayal of a working-class male prostitute’s life. Early abandonment, poverty, lack of education and sexual abuse delivered Paul onto the streets. But, ever optimistic, he does not dwell too much on the past. Without added glamour or grit, Paul shares the raw accounts of his life as a rent-boy in the 90s, from London to Los Angeles.
The Arab Sword
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 102,820. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Military biography
This novel is a work of fiction inspired by a true story. It is about a ten-year old boy called Abdul, later renamed Mike, who is orphaned following the brutal murder of his family by American soldiers in Basra, Iraq during the first Gulf War. During the liberation of Kuwait from Iraq, Saddam Hussein’s army is defeated within days by the superior international military forces led by ...
The Algarve Asparagus Man Plus One
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 179,390. Language: English. Published: October 1, 2013 by Austin Macauley. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers
This is a relocation book like no other. Read about David Collins' crazy but ultimately successful scheme to leave a well-paid career in the UK and reinvent himself as the ‘Algarve Asparagus Man' in a tiny Portuguese village way back in the 1980s. You'll be laughing and you'll be crying when you read about the trials and tribulations he and his wife had to endure: flash floods and frosts
Master Chronology of JFK Assassination: Death
Series: Master Chronology of JFK Assassination, Book 2. Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 1,200,600. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2013 and represented by David Vigliano. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Presidents & heads of state, Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography
Book II: Death (November 22nd—November 24, 1963) The Master Chronology is the most well researched, in depth look at JFK assassination ever assembled.
Master Chronology of JFK Assassination: Dynasty
Series: Master Chronology of JFK Assassination, Book 1. Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 1,134,300. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2013 and represented by David Vigliano. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Presidents & heads of state, Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography
Book I: Dynasty (1823—November 21, 1963The birth of the first Kennedy to come to the United States; the second generation become saloon keepers; Joseph P. Kennedy is the third generation; his nine children create a political dynasty that will be torn apart by plane crashes, assassins, and all manner of tragedies. Book I will conclude very late in the evening of November 21, 1963.
SIXTEEN Vs, Book Two, The Mid Teen Years
Series: Sixteen Vs, Book 2. Price: $1.25 USD. Words: 111,450. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Life stages / school age
Tragedy hits Victor's family and recovering from the temporary split-up helps shape his character. School yard games spin off in nostalgic events for kids living in the early 1960s. His continual desire for adventure creates several problems and unexpected outcomes. His many ‘firsts’ provide humorous memories for anyone. Life lessons abound as he escapes dangerous situations.
A Voyage Of Self Discovery
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 139,620. Language: English. Published: September 19, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers, Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
My unbelievably incredible adventures as a United States Army dentist in the Pacific theater of World War Two, the path that led to my being there, and how the experiences helped me discover who I am.
Steinbeck: Citizen Spy
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 126,580. Language: English. Published: September 12, 2013 by Grave Distractions Publications. Categories: Nonfiction » Politics and Current Affairs » History, Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography
After languishing in the CIA’s archives for 60 years, a letter is uncovered in John Steinbeck’s own hand that shatters everything history tells us about the author’s life. Written in 1952, to CIA Director Walter Bedell Smith, Steinbeck makes an offer to become an asset for the Agency during a trip to Europe later that year. More shocking than Steinbeck’s letter is Smith’s reply accepting.
Under Fire: An American Story
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 170,160. Language: English. Published: September 10, 2013 by Post Hill Press. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Military biography, Nonfiction » Biography » Political biography
In this candid book, Oliver North, the man who has been at the centre of the Iran-Contra controversy tells the story of his life. He reveals the inside story behind the headlines and stresses the importance of his family and his enduring faith, which have seen him through the toughest times.
Cotton Field of Dreams: A Memoir
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 110,870. Language: English. Published: September 6, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Presidential Diarist Janis F. Kearney’s love letter to her parents TJ and Ethel Kearney. A coming of age memoir spanning three decades and chronicling the life and struggles of this cotton sharecropping family.
Gracias a la Vida
Price: $18.00 USD. Words: 196,720. Language: Spanish. Published: September 6, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » History » Latin America / Central America
Lillian Díaz Sol, desde 1975 dirige Pigmalion, la primera Escuela de Etiqueta, Protocolo e Imagen Personal en El Salvador. Su trabajo en el Servicio Exterior fue realizado en Estados Unidos, siendo Cónsul General para 14 Estados con sede en New Orleans de 1970-974. En la República de Panamá como Consejera Comercial y Cultural y luego como Encargada de Negocios de 2006-10.
A Secretly Handicapped Man
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 142,680. Language: English. Published: September 6, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Born over 80 years ago without feet & with only one hand, the author faced discrimination because he looked different, then he made the difficult choice to have his legs amputated which provided freedom from pain and a life free from snap judgment.
La última marcha. El capitán Scott en el Polo Sur
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 187,100. Language: Spanish. Published: August 30, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Expeditions & Discoveries, Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers
Hace un siglo tuvo lugar en la lejana Antártida un drama que conmocionó a sus contemporáneos y cautivó la imaginación de varias generaciones. El destino del capitán Scott y sus compañeros es parte de una historia épica de lucha y muerte, triunfo y fracaso, ambición, amistad, esperanza y decepción.
Glad To Be Alive
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 155,100. Language: English. Published: August 30, 2013 by Austin Macauley. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers
A very direct account of the difficulties that Patricia Parkes has encountered throughout her life whether through breakdown of health and work or family rows and feuds.
Prawners Down Under (Vol2)
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 127,990. Language: English. Published: August 29, 2013 by Bookpal Australia. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Prawners Down Under is a sprawling, rollicking book that recounts first hand the adventurous saga of Brian Bienke’s lifetime of fishing in the waters of Australia’s New SouthWales and Queensland’s tropical north.