Reviews of The Bride and the Brute

by
A novella. Jayce Cullen has been fighting her fear of storms since she was a child, but nothing could have prepared her for the fury of her new husband. Feeling deceived and betrayed into a loveless marriage, Lord Reese Harrington wants nothing to do with his new wife. The beautiful bride must battle the demons of her husband's past and hope that she can weather the storm of his brutish behavior.
Newest
Rating

Reviews

nanette brumfield reviewed on Oct. 22, 2012
(no rating)
Thanks for your beautiful book! One of the best that i have read recently :)
(review of free book)
hrhsophia reviewed on Oct. 18, 2012

Good story.
(review of free book)
Davina reviewed on Sep. 1, 2012

this is a great book. i enjoyed it from start to finish.
(review of free book)
Lindsey Owens reviewed on July 16, 2012

I loved this book! Amazing twist to Beauty and the Beast like story. Loved the characters, made me cry and I couldn't get enough of it!
Great job.
(review of free book)
Tj McKinnon reviewed on May 6, 2012

Amazing book! I absolutely loved the characters, they made me laugh, the made me cry, it was wonderful!
(review of free book)
L. E. Plissee reviewed on April 10, 2012
(no rating)
Thank you for that great smashwords book... I have enjoyed reading it
(review of free book)
Shani Minaj reviewed on March 29, 2012

Amazing book, one of the best smashwords books I've read!
Thanks.
:)
(review of free book)
Jutzie reviewed on Feb. 28, 2012

The Bride and The Brute by Laurel O'Donnell
This was a novella so it didn't take too long to read but it was still packed full. Jayce is suddenly married off to Lord Reese Harrington. A man she heard had vowed against ever marrying. And after the marriage he treated her with disgust. Not even willing to consummate their marriage.

Reese knew what happened in marriages without love and now he was forced into one. Too bad the girl was so beautiful, he wanted nothing to do with her. He planned to return her to her father after his sisters rescue but was not able to.

Jayce has a sweet nature and is easily loved but she felt alone and unloved as her new husbands rejects her. Reese is full of anger towards her and she understands why when she learns why he married her. As hard as she tries, he seems to despise her more. A really good story set in England during the 1300's.

This was a free ebook and was definitely worth taking the time to read.

**Sexual situation within marriage.
(review of free book)
teya israel reviewed on Feb. 7, 2012

romance not thoroughly justified.
(review of free book)
JackieW jpwoodman1980@gmail.com reviewed on Jan. 31, 2012

I wish I could give this romance more stars, but it was just too short to develop a plot. It felt hurried along and cut off in places. Several plot developments started but were never heard from again...and I really wish the author would have investigated those developments, they looked interesting.

The book stopped suddenly and much too easily. I'm all for love conquering all and such, but in the span of five minutes?

Another problem I had is our hero held himself from consummating the relationship through all sorts of scenarios, and THAT is how he does it? Really? He showed he didn't care about her at all, no matter what the author wanted us to believe.

Lastly, I resent looking for, and thinking I found, a BOOK, only to find a short story! The story was 60 pages, with 150+ pages of previews of other books!

All in all, this author could be rather promising, I did enjoy the story (what there was of it), but with so little to go on it's hard to know.
(review of free book)