Reviews of The Bride and the Brute

by
A novella. Jayce Cullen has been fighting her fear of storms since she was a child, but nothing could have prepared her for the fury of her new husband. Feeling deceived and betrayed into a loveless marriage, Lord Reese Harrington wants nothing to do with his new wife. The beautiful bride must battle the demons of her husband's past and hope that she can weather the storm of his brutish behavior.

Reviews

anarn26 reviewed on March 1, 2021

❤❤❤
(review of free book)
manicmini reviewed on Oct. 16, 2016

Loved the characters & plot but the story itself seemed very abbreviated especially towards the end. Will not put me off other O'Donnell creations.
Of the 222 pages less than half were the actual story the remainder being
advertising for excerpts from her other books but since it was a freebee
no complaints.
(review of free book)
Crystal Dawn reviewed on March 28, 2013

I enjoyed it. I think she does a good job of explaining why Reese would look for love instead of the usual arrangement. A reader always wants more detail in a good book, but a writer has to set some limits. I thought it well told and the relationship that developed between Reese and Jayce was captivating.
(review of free book)
safiya x reviewed on Nov. 21, 2012

Really a sweet an enjoyable book.
Love the coherence in the events
(review of free book)
hrhsophia reviewed on Oct. 18, 2012

Good story.
(review of free book)
Davina reviewed on Sep. 1, 2012

this is a great book. i enjoyed it from start to finish.
(review of free book)
Lindsey Owens reviewed on July 16, 2012

I loved this book! Amazing twist to Beauty and the Beast like story. Loved the characters, made me cry and I couldn't get enough of it!
Great job.
(review of free book)
Tj McKinnon reviewed on May 6, 2012

Amazing book! I absolutely loved the characters, they made me laugh, the made me cry, it was wonderful!
(review of free book)
Shani Minaj reviewed on March 29, 2012

Amazing book, one of the best smashwords books I've read!
Thanks.
:)
(review of free book)
Jutzie reviewed on Feb. 28, 2012

The Bride and The Brute by Laurel O'Donnell
This was a novella so it didn't take too long to read but it was still packed full. Jayce is suddenly married off to Lord Reese Harrington. A man she heard had vowed against ever marrying. And after the marriage he treated her with disgust. Not even willing to consummate their marriage.

Reese knew what happened in marriages without love and now he was forced into one. Too bad the girl was so beautiful, he wanted nothing to do with her. He planned to return her to her father after his sisters rescue but was not able to.

Jayce has a sweet nature and is easily loved but she felt alone and unloved as her new husbands rejects her. Reese is full of anger towards her and she understands why when she learns why he married her. As hard as she tries, he seems to despise her more. A really good story set in England during the 1300's.

This was a free ebook and was definitely worth taking the time to read.

**Sexual situation within marriage.
(review of free book)