Reviews of The Unsuspecting Mage: The Morcyth Saga Book One

by
“Want to be a mage? Then do we have the job for you…” Sounds great for a veteran role-player. When on-the-job training entails battling demons, learning magic through trial and error, and living in a world without toilet paper, things could get rough. But to be dropped in the middle of a forest and having to do it on your own with no instruction…welcome to James’ world.
Newest
Rating

Reviews of The Unsuspecting Mage: The Morcyth Saga Book One by Brian S. Pratt

Michael Washam reviewed on Sep. 11, 2011

I enjoyed the entire series. I am looking forward to the next series with James just have to wait till its all done before buying. (Hate waiting for next part)
(review of free book)
R. McCullough reviewed on Sep. 2, 2011

Sorry - hit submit instead of the stars...........
This would be worthy of 6!

O my…………
Excellent read!!!!!!!!!!!
Have just purchased through book 7 – thought I had seen reference to a #8?
Written where it is almost a screen play and should be simple to make into a budget movie.
Brian – let me know should you ever need BW photos for your stories.
I will do them free – just credit me for ones used.
Would love to be a part – I played AD&D years ago and had a ball!
And I was in my early 40’s!
Mac
(review of free book)
R. McCullough reviewed on Sep. 2, 2011
(no rating)
O my…………
Excellent read!!!!!!!!!!!
Have just purchased through book 7 – thought I had seen reference to a #8?
Written where it is almost a screen play and should be simple to make into a budget movie.
Brian – let me know should you ever need BW photos for your stories.
I will do them free – just credit me for ones used.
Would love to be a part – I played AD&D years ago and had a ball!
And I was in my early 40’s! Am now 67.........
Mac
(review of free book)
Kim Pursley reviewed on Aug. 27, 2011

Wonderful epic saga!! I found this book as a free read so I downloaded it and I absolutely LOVED IT!! I am currently reading the 5th book The Star of Morcyth. High marks for this series!!
(review of free book)
cheryl McKinley reviewed on Aug. 21, 2011

I'm 53 yrs old and have read literally thousands of books. I'm an avid reader. I purchased these through another online resource then came looking for more books By Brian S. Pratt. Mr Pratt pulls you into his books and makes you understand and care for his characters. With the start of the first book I thought I'd purchased something a bit too young for me, but as the story progressed the writer and the characters grew until I was completely hooked. I quickly purchased the whole series. As with the Harry Potter series I didn't want the story to end. I've read the first book in the next series, and now eagerly await the second book which is almost completed! Keep them coming Brian!
(review of free book)
pdarnold reviewed on Aug. 11, 2011

This book (along with all the others in this series which I purchased elsewhere) has been one thrill of a journey! Even my mother, who is in her sixties, devoured this and all the other books. She keeps asking if there has been any new books added to the series. If you're a teen or have that youngster yet living inside the old bones and love adventure, magic, and the faith of friendships this book and all the others in this series are a must read!
(review of free book)
Brian S. Pratt/DiddaEinars reviewed on July 4, 2011

Sorry Brian that I did not write a rewiew before. Of course this book is brilliant. I felt it from the start but never put it down in writing.

I feel, but have problems in expressing my feelings in writing, especially if it is not in my own language.

I translated this book into Icelandic because of that. I wanted to share with other people in my country the message that there is hope for a better world if we just belive in it.

It just takes one person to begin with and then it spreads, maybe it takes some time but eventualy it does.
(review of free book)
(review of free book)
William Massey reviewed on June 14, 2011

The book is very enjoyable. Interesting plot although a lot of the things that happen seem to have little to do with James's quest to discover why he was brought to this world and the purpose of the amulet that he is given. I assume that their purpose will pop up in later books of the series. While the writing style of the book flows well, I found it a little distracting that the author has the main character do something then has him tell one of the other characters what he just did. I thought he did a great job of relating how a novice discovers that he can perform magic and gradually learns to control it more and more. I'm already starting Book 2 of the series.
(review of free book)
Rikki K reviewed on June 2, 2011

Three stars for interesting characters, plots, and world. Two stars empty because as a voracious reader, present tense is horribly tedious. I find that I simply cannot devour the book in one sitting, I have to put it away when the tense makes me so irritable I prefer doing laundry. I'm not sure if I can bring myself to stick with the series, even though I'm intrigued enough to wonder what happens to the characters.

About 120 or so pages in it clicked in my head what writing in present tense made me think of constantly. It reminds me of the old online roleplay MUDs, only instead of getting to 'choose your own adventure' you are simply reading someone's completed game. I really would like to give the series more consideration but I'm not sure I can grit my teeth that often.
(review of free book)
Mark Stewart reviewed on June 1, 2011

The novel was written extremely well and flowed naturally.
(review of free book)