Reviews of Smashwords Style Guide

by
The Smashwords Style Guide has helped thousands of authors produce and publish high-quality ebooks. This free guide offers simple step-by-step instructions to create, format and publish an ebook. It's required reading for any author who wants to distribute their book via Smashwords to major ebook retailers such as Apple iBooks, Barnes & Noble, Scribd, & Kobo. Revised September 24, 2014.
Newest
Rating

Reviews

Anne Flint reviewed on Dec. 19, 2020

Stan Arnold's review has this in a nutshell. It is nearly impossible to figure out what is actually wrong and then how to fix it. Change a single word of your version and you are back to the same issues again. If they know what the issues are, why don't THEY fix them.
(review of free book)
Stan Arnold reviewed on Oct. 22, 2020
(no rating)
I've been with Smashwords, as an addition to the excellent Kindle, since 2013. It has always been a nightmare to publish novels on here. You just have to get the slightest thing wrong and your novel is refused. The Guide is just as useless. That said, the support staff are excellent and patient, and in the end (usually after a month of trying) they will do it for you. Smashwords has a fantastic reach, but once I had my books up there, the idea of amending some text, fills me with dread and I leave well alone. If Smashwords works for you, congratulations.
(review of free book)
Homeira Norouzi reviewed on Oct. 16, 2020
(no rating)
Thank you
(review of free book)
Lynne Stanshine reviewed on Sep. 9, 2020

Style Guide walks you through the basic needs for formatting your book. Invaluable.
(review of free book)
E Jean Simpson, BEd, BA, MA reviewed on April 4, 2020

Thanks. Lots of information. Fingers crossed that I caught everything.
(review of free book)
JL reviewed on Jan. 30, 2020
(no rating)
Uh, in 2020, advice on Word 2000 & 2003 isn't so useful?
(review of free book)
Ms. Vues and Reviews reviewed on Jan. 25, 2020

short and sweet, thank you
(review of free book)
HM Iraheta reviewed on Dec. 19, 2019

excellent
(review of free book)
Wayne Robinson reviewed on Nov. 2, 2019
(no rating)
A bit disappointed. Trying to download the style guide to correct the autovetting and having problems locating it. Very confusing site here. Spending waaaay too much time than I ever expected.
(review of free book)
Janice Krecz Colon reviewed on Oct. 30, 2019

Sending a big Thank You Mark for Smashwords. I am Releasing my first children's book on 11/11/19 and second book to follow. I listened to your Podcast over and over and found it very helpful. So why am I still feeling nervous. Guess in time I will feel more confident as I continue to reach my long, long time goal as an Author. Thank you again, this has been a Blessing.
Janice Krecz Colon
(review of free book)