Reviews of The Phoenix Conspiracy

by
Calvin, an intelligence operative, is sent to eliminate a dangerous traitor. But as he chases his prey across the stars, he realizes they are both pawns in a shadowy chess game that threatens humankind everywhere. If he is to uncover the conspiracy he must confront, and embrace, the darkest elements of the galaxy. And throw himself, his career, and everyone he loves into the line of fire.
Newest
Rating

Reviews

David Donaghe reviewed on July 28, 2020

An excellent read. I was hooked from page one.
(review of free book)
P DD reviewed on Nov. 21, 2018

A great read for classic science fiction readers. Sanders falls into a small class of writers who can straddle the divide between adventure and science fiction without devolving to fantasy. It’s not hard science, but it’s not hard to suspend disbelief as Calvin gets deeper into a conspiracy that threatens the universe.

His characters are well-developed and the mysteries are engrossing. I found myself at the end far before I wanted to leave. I’m glad I found this after more books are already waiting.

You can’t go wrong spending time aboard the Nighthawk with Calvin and his crew. A fast-paced space opera that delivers adventure and intrigue without compromise.
(review of free book)
Michael Malyon reviewed on March 14, 2018

Very interesting plot. You had me hanging on by my teeth for quite a while
(review of free book)
Krans reviewed on Sep. 26, 2014

The poor grammar made it difficult to get beyond the first few pages.
(review of free book)
stephen j gallagher reviewed on July 28, 2014

agree with all the other reviewers wholeheartedly...it`s an epic tale with elements of all your favourite sci fi shows...great plot...even better characters....calvin will put you in mind of a young cap`n james t kirk....he did me...reckless yes...but very loyal to his crew and determined to find the truth no matter what
all in all a cracker...and its free! download it now or i`ll send a few remorii after you......
(review of free book)
Alex James reviewed on July 1, 2013

The Phoenix Conspiracy by Richard L Sanders - 5/5 stars

I’ll get straight to the point here: fantastic, epic, galactic space-opera!

The first chapters pulled me in immediately. The story had an interesting premise. Intel Wing, the Empire’s investigation division, is assigned to look into a very unusual case. A decorated imperial military captain, Asari Raidan, has uncharacteristically destroyed several Rotham ships. Why would Raidan risk his position and his impeccable record just to destroy what appears to be several innocent Rotham Ships? Calvin Cross of Intel Wing is tasked to discover why.

The conspiracy angle was very unique. The reader sees the conspiracy (this shouldn’t be a spoiler since it is in the title!) through the perspective of Calvin Cross and his laid-back crew. This enabled us to learn a lot about Calvin and his crewmates. When Summers Presley, a beautiful by-the-book commander, formerly under Asari Raidan’s command, is sent to help Calvin Cross, on-ship tensions threaten to breaking point. Calvin Cross and his loyal investigative crew’s ideals clash with those of Summers Presley because she is a fleet officer of the empire and she is used to doing what she is told.

About a third of the way through the book the story became even more interesting. Characters are introduced, and more information is given to the reader to digest regarding strange galactic events. The book never ceased to amaze me. My eyes were glued to it from page 1 to the end. I don’t think there was one single moment where I drifted. The characters were believable and the plot was riveting and moved forward at a fast-pace.

I have seen a few reviews citing this book as being similar to Star Trek, but I failed to see much similarity. Yes the main characters are on a ship and there is a commander trying to solve problems … hmm. The Mass Effect video-game series was where I thought similarity existed: events of galactic importance hitting the main characters again and again, and added with a sweet mixture of unusual and very interesting characters.

I am very tempted to buy his next book and read it. It was one of the best sci-fi books I have read. If you like sci-fi/military/space-opera/thriller books that are un-put-down-able then read this book!
(review of free book)
Nayriel Lynette reviewed on May 24, 2013

this was a very interesting book with an unusual main character.
(review of free book)
Steve Snider reviewed on Aug. 15, 2012

Bravo, The pages of this book seem to melt off at a staggering rate and if not for the scientific background, you could think it was an old style western. I must admit I am a page watcher, I need to know what page I am on at any given time. However this book kept me entertained and my eye off the page number. I could not go to bed at night, I did not watch the Olympics on tv or any baseball just because I had to find out how the hero Calvin Cross, his crew and his ultra sleek powerful space craft The Nighthawk got out of their latest scrap. So let’s talk about Lieutenant Commander Calvin Cross, I picture a strong handsome man who takes no bs from anyone and if the law gets in his way of the truth, he does what he needs to do and the hell with the rules. So with that being said, he is a deep flawed and haunted character, he is dealing with an addiction to drugs and he pains for a lost love he saw killed. Richard L. Sanders sets a pace and delivers at a staggering pace, that is simply one of the best works scientific fiction I have read in decades. Every scientific fiction fan in the universe needs to go to smashwords.com and get you a copy of this book, you will not regret it. Outstanding!!
(review of free book)
Terry Stephenson reviewed on Feb. 28, 2012

I found this book hard to put down. I thought it very well structured, fast paced, a lot of action, can't wait for the rest!
(review of free book)
Jake Fury reviewed on Feb. 6, 2012

Whilst it's true that this may not be the most polished of books, it's certainly not true that this diminishes from the enjoyment of reading it - it's free for crying out loud!

I found The Phoenix Conspiracy to be original and endearing. It's probably not going to be winning any awards any time soon but it had everything I love - it was pulpy, sci-fi goodness.

I didn't find the characters to be 2-Dimensional (as some people have suggested), I loved the interactions between characters and there was some very human dialogue thrown in to counter-act the fairly bizarre and science-fiction plot.

Regarding the plot I found it extremely fast-paced and riveting. Even the political aspect of the story was well-handled (not common in books like this) and I found it all very interesting and readable.

A few subplots in the book really captivated me and there was some original and bold ideas weaved into to the story to mix things up (wait till you hear about the 'Trinity').

I thought that there was some 'noir' influence embedded in the story (possibly?), certain characters had personality traits that reminded me of old detective novels etc.

All-in-all I really enjoyed it and can't wait for the sequel, will most definitely be willing to pay a fair price, would love a physical copy to hold in my hands.
(review of free book)