Books tagged: balkans

The adult filter is active; there may be additional content. To view this content, click the "Adult Content" button above to change your filtering option.

Found 24 results

The Counterfeit Princess
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 101,090. Language: English. Published: January 28, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Victorian, Fiction » Adventure » General
After accepting an offer to stand in for an “indisposed” princess in Victorian Europe, Abigail Smithfield discovers she’s a target for assassins. She’ll need all her wits and courage—and help from a conflicted nobleman—to escape. A grand adventure in the vein of Rafael Sabatini and Robert Louis Stevenson.
The Black Venus
Price: $3.00 USD. Words: 56,750. Language: English. Published: December 8, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
A stunning story which won the NABE award for best fiction, it is set in the 1970's and opens with a murderous event in the Balkans but what has that got to do with the horrible happenings in a quiet small town in Southern England.
Grind
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 82,240. Language: Australian English. Published: October 3, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Urban, Fiction » Literature » Literary
Ziva's love of coffee is double-edged. Predicting the future with chilling accuracy, she understands the cost and has sworn never to divine her own truth until she meets Isaac. Told from the perspective of multiple characters, this intoxicating and memorable tale of mystery, romance and the paranormal, tells the story of Ziva, an ordinary immigrant with an extraordinary gift.
Deliberate Force: A Case Study in Effective Air Campaigning - Final Report of the Air University Balkans Air Campaign Study - Demise of Yugoslavia, Destruction of Bosnia, Tactics, Aircraft, Weapons
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 180,050. Language: English. Published: September 4, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Military, Nonfiction » History » European
Every airman or person interested in the art and science of air and space warfare should read this book. The Air University Balkans Air Campaign Study (BACS) has emerged as a balanced and wide-ranging discussion of the Deliberate Force air campaign, which occurred during the fall of 1995.
The Ottoman Empire
Series: In Brief. Price: $6.75 USD. Words: 28,450. Language: English. Published: June 29, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Middle East / Turkey & Ottoman Empire
This book begins with the arrival of the Turkic tribes into Anatolia in the 13th century and covers the main events up to the dissolution of the Empire in 1923. The final part of the book explores the link between today’s conflicts in the Middle East and the peace process following the First World War, in particular the Sykes-Picot Agreement, the Balfour Declaration and the Treaty of Sevres.
Making the Case for Humanitarian Intervention: National Interest and Moral Imperative - Media, Rwanda, Somalia, Bosnia, Haiti, Genocide, Kosovo, Libya, Congressional Action, Implications for Future
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 124,850. Language: English. Published: March 25, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Military, Nonfiction » Politics and Current Affairs » World politics
Professionally converted for accurate flowing-text e-book format reproduction, this examination of humanitarian intervention reviews the foreign policy context and debate within the U.S. government across three case studies: Rwanda, Kosovo, and Libya.
Commanding Heights: Strategic Lessons from Complex Operations - Afghanistan, Iraq War, Post-conflict Stabilization and Reconstruction, Balkans, Kosovo, Bosnia, Haiti, Pakistan, Somalia
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 156,200. Language: English. Published: February 4, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Military, Nonfiction » History » Military
Professionally converted for accurate flowing-text e-book format reproduction, this report examines the history and issues involved with complex military and political operations.
A Sacred Task: Qiriazi and the Albanian National Awakening
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 58,930. Language: British English. Published: September 17, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Historical biography, Nonfiction » History » European
At the heart of Albania’s National Awakening comes the true story of Gjerasim Qiriazi. A poor carpenter’s son, his unlikely rise as scholar and reformer led him to the forefront of Albania’s rebirth, placing him at odds with potent enemies sworn to stop him by any means. Despite armed threats and a desperate kidnapping, Qiriazi’s dream would prevail, altering the course of an entire nation.
Discount Travel Guide to the Balkans, Turkey, and the Caucasus
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 86,690. Language: English. Published: August 1, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests
With quarterlife crises on top of a busted economy, how are millennials to find a place in the world, and do it on the cheap? Discount Travel Guide's zany narrator combines memoir and guidebook to send its readers to places normally back-listed on the world's greatest hits, and teaches them how to have genuine adventures on a budget, rather than just ticking things off a bucket list.
Fueling the Fires of Resistance: Army Air Forces Special Operations in the Balkans during World War II - The U. S Army Air Forces in World War II - Hitler's Assault, Nazism, Serbia, Yugoslavia
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 112,800. Language: English. Published: July 26, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Military, Nonfiction » History » Military
Professionally converted for accurate flowing-text e-book format reproduction, this Air Force publication examines what might fairly be considered one of the most important early experiences in the history of Air Force special operations.