Books tagged: brooklyn

The adult filter is active; there may be additional content. To view this content, click the "Adult Content" button above to change your filtering option.

Found 117 results (Try using more keywords)

Growing Up Golem
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 69,130. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
In the tradition of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Donna Minkowitz’s Growing Up Golem is a sharply funny memoir about growing up inspired by the Jewish legend of the golem. The author's mother told Minkowitz that she could do Jewish magic and, growing up, Minkowitz completely believed her.
Murder Takes Time
Series: Friendship & Honor, Book 1. Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 112,220. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Nicky Fusco thought he knew right from wrong, living by an oath of friendship & honor with his three best friends. But life took them down separate paths, and the oath was broken. Secrets were kept. Years later they are reunited and the bonds of their friendship are brutally tested, putting them on a collision course set in motion long ago.
September in New York
You set the price! Words: 54,770. Language: American English. Published: August 22, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Literary
Maggie Carson is a typical teenager in the year 2035. She rides to school on her mom’s heliscooter, and eats meals prepared by a robotic maid. One day she is transported in time back to her previous life in New York City on September 5, 2001 – with a conviction that she has been given the chance to alert the city and thus save the lives of thousands of innocent people.
I am a Dirty Immigrant
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 58,020. Language: English. Published: August 7, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Riots, revolution, invasion, this island boy thought he had experienced everything, that is until he migrated to the Kentucky mountains. Blacks, he could not understand, whites, well that mountain twang was another language to him. From state to state, big city to little towns being slapped by culture shock as he tries to assimilate.
Delaplaine’s 2013 Long Weekend Guide to Brooklyn
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,090. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests, Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests
A complete guide for everything you need to experience a great Long Weekend in Brooklyn, whether your trip takes you to Bedford Avenue in bustling Downtown, Gowanus, Williamsburg, Red Hook or any of the other fabulous parts of this town. “Can’t believe the burgeoning restaurant scene! This book isolated several restaurants we ended up choosing and we loved them all.” --- Andy C., online reviewer
Requiem for a Druid
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 6,680. Language: English. Published: June 7, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories, Fiction » Fantasy » Urban
Conrad Brent faces New York's most famous real estate mogul and reality TV host.
A Shard Glows in Brooklyn
Price: Free! Words: 5,260. Language: English. Published: June 7, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Short stories, Fiction » Fantasy » Urban
Urban fantasy meets noir and humor in the first Conrad Brent adventure.
Lew Feldman 1930s Jewish Boxer From Brooklyn
Price: $3.75 USD. Words: 3,340. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » Jewish, Nonfiction » Sports & outdoor recreation » Boxing
Lew Feldman was a very active boxer in both the lightweight and featherweight divisions of boxing, from 1927-1940. He fought Kid Chocolate for the featherweight championship of the world in 1932. Lew was a native of Scotland but came to Brooklyn early in his life. He was raised on the rough streets of Brownsville. I have used contemporary newspaper accounts to chronicle many of Feldman's bouts.
Famepunk: Part 2: Middlemarch
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 289,620. Language: English. Published: April 28, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Lesbian, Fiction » Historical » USA
Middlemarch is the sexy, funny, epic, teen lust-filled second volume of FAMEPUNK, a new novel for adults of all ages…A story of women in close contest--and closer embraces--taking professional tennis and primitive fantasy to their limits in the post-Cold War era.
Killing Little Ralphie
Price: $3.95 USD. Words: 27,060. Language: English. Published: April 7, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
In 2012 construction workers expanding the parking lot of the New York Aquarium in Coney Island, NY unearth the skeleton of a boy obviously killed by a blow to the head. But the old parking lot had been paved in the 1960’s over 50 years ago. Whose skeleton is this, how did he die and who killed him? This novel will keep you swiping your finger accross the screen