Books tagged: brooklyn

The adult filter is active; there may be additional content. To view this content, click the "Adult Content" button above to change your filtering option.

Found 120 results (Try using more keywords)

Graveyard Blues
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 95,020. Language: English. Published: October 21, 2013 by Hamilton Stone. Categories: Fiction » Urban, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
Homecare worker Molly Lewin confronts two unexpected challenges: a client’s murder and the threatened conviction of his long-time companion, an old-time southern blues singer. She is incensed to discover that the murder may be tied to a scheme to drive out low-rent tenants and replace their homes with a shopping mall.
Living with the Brooklyn Bridge
Price: Free! Words: 3,250. Language: English. Published: October 4, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » North America, Nonfiction » History » Essays
A stirring, face-to-face encounter with one of New York’s greatest landmarks.
Delaplaine’s 2014 Long Weekend Guide to Brooklyn
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 12,530. Language: English. Published: October 3, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests, Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests
A complete guide for everything you need to experience a great Long Weekend in Brooklyn, whether your trip takes you to Bedford Avenue in bustling Downtown, Gowanus, Williamsburg, Red Hook or any of the other fabulous parts of this town. “Can’t believe the burgeoning restaurant scene! This book isolated several restaurants we ended up choosing and we loved them all.” --- Andy C., online reviewer
Slavery on Stage: Black Stereotypes and Opportunities in Nate Salsbury’s “Black America” Show
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 3,140. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » American, Nonfiction » History » Social history
Following the final run of his Wild West Show, Nate Salsbury initiated a new production called "Black America." The new show, though somewhat patronizing, gave many African Americans a foot in the door for careers in show business, and increased public awareness of their many skills and talents.
Five of Us: Book 1 The Beginnings
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 83,180. Language: American English. Published: September 27, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Science fiction » General
Five teenagers from the rough streets of Brooklyn, New York discover a mysterious new power. Each of them wants to learn where the new power came from while being hunted by the NYPD, gangs throughout New York, and Secret Agencies.
Growing Up Golem
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 69,130. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Gay and lesbian
In the tradition of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Donna Minkowitz’s Growing Up Golem is a sharply funny memoir about growing up inspired by the Jewish legend of the golem. The author's mother told Minkowitz that she could do Jewish magic and, growing up, Minkowitz completely believed her.
Murder Takes Time
Series: Friendship & Honor, Book 1. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 112,220. Language: English. Published: September 3, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Nicky Fusco thought he knew right from wrong, living by an oath of friendship & honor with his three best friends. But life took them down separate paths, and the oath was broken. Secrets were kept. Years later they are reunited and the bonds of their friendship are brutally tested, putting them on a collision course set in motion long ago.
September in New York
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 54,770. Language: American English. Published: August 22, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Literary
Maggie Carson is a typical teenager in the year 2035. She rides to school on her mom’s heliscooter, and eats meals prepared by a robotic maid. One day she is transported in time back to her previous life in New York City on September 5, 2001 – with a conviction that she has been given the chance to alert the city and thus save the lives of thousands of innocent people.
I am a Dirty Immigrant
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 58,020. Language: English. Published: August 7, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Riots, revolution, invasion, this island boy thought he had experienced everything, that is until he migrated to the Kentucky mountains. Blacks, he could not understand, whites, well that mountain twang was another language to him. From state to state, big city to little towns being slapped by culture shock as he tries to assimilate.
Delaplaine’s 2013 Long Weekend Guide to Brooklyn
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,090. Language: English. Published: June 25, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests, Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests
A complete guide for everything you need to experience a great Long Weekend in Brooklyn, whether your trip takes you to Bedford Avenue in bustling Downtown, Gowanus, Williamsburg, Red Hook or any of the other fabulous parts of this town. “Can’t believe the burgeoning restaurant scene! This book isolated several restaurants we ended up choosing and we loved them all.” --- Andy C., online reviewer