Books tagged: child abuse and neglect

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 7 results

Mrs. Marigold's House
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 4,080. Language: English. Published: July 6, 2011 by Olo Books. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General
Every Hallowe'en, Mrs. Marigold invites only six children to her mansion. One boy, Adam, warns Ashley away, but her parents, desperate to get in good with the richest woman in town, force her to go. Trick or treat? Trick. Definitely trick. The question is if Ashley can get out alive. "Yuan-Innes delivers a Bradburyian shocker in 'Mrs. Marigold's House'.....Highly recommended."-Paul Di Filippo
Five Percent of Nothing
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 63,470. Language: English. Published: August 19, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Women's fiction » General
A catastrophic event turned gift puts a halt to Liza Parker living down the horror of her past and the mistakes of her present. An unapologetic journey that surfs through rip-currents of funny and heart-breaking events, Five Percent of Nothing explores fairy tale obliteration, why self-esteem should be an addiction and how any door, or window if you must, is the gospel according to freedom.
Live to tell (The lost child)
Price: $7.99 USD. Words: 42,290. Language: English. Published: September 24, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Parenting » Family tragedy
Child abuse remains a common fact to date. Ignorance, unawareness, carelessness, aiding and abetting, fear, complicity… The testimonials of children fallen prey to malevolent parents sheds light on experience and consequences which leave you with a new outlook on the darker areas of life…
Invisible Kids Marcus Fiesel's Legacy
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 66,050. Language: English. Published: December 3, 2011 by Transmedia Books. Categories: Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Parenting, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Child abuse
Every so often a story hits the headlines and for a brief moment people awaken to the plight of a child in foster care. These stories are not uncommon, they are just not often told. Invisible Kids reveals an insider’s view of foster care—the successes and the failures—and details how the foster care system can be improved. It tugs at the heartstrings and motivates action.
The Night Train
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 85,890. Language: English. Published: June 15, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General, Fiction » Literature » Plays & Screenplays
The Night Train exposes the abuse of 10-year-old Jayrod Nash, as seen through his eyes and the eyes of his father, the abuser.
Betty's Child
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
My Guarded Secrets
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 49,410. Language: English. Published: August 28, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Relationships and Family » Ethics & morals
Greg grows up on a farm in Charles City, Iowa. The son of alcoholic parents, neglected and left to fend for himself, Greg is drinking and driving at the age of thirteen. Never getting an allowance, he finds an easy way to access cash...once he masters his father’s signature.