Books tagged: historic

The adult filter is active; there may be additional content. To view this content, click the "Adult Content" button above to change your filtering option.

Found 74 results

Drafted Into Darkness
Price: Free! Words: 5,160. Language: English. Published: December 29, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Historical
(4.00)
What sets a man down the path to becoming an evil warlock? For Igon, it starts with an injustice, and making the acquaintance of a pagan shaman called Zaharo. Set in Moorish occupied medieval Spain, this tale shows revenge need not be a dish served cold. Properly cooked, it might even smell like bacon!
Saint Francis of Assisi Skiff Lake Shrine
Price: Free! Words: 3,050. Language: English. Published: November 13, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Religion and Spirituality » Catholicism
(5.00)
A true story of Joanne's wondrous memories of Shrine Sundays at the historic Saint Francis of Assisi Skiff Lake Shrine, New Brunswick, Canada. The author will take you on her spiritual journey there as a child in the nineteen fifties and into the present day.
Last Call
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 6,110. Language: English. Published: September 17, 2014 by Grey Cat Press. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
On a night when things couldn't get any worse, Roger West discovers that they really can when a bar fight claims the life of the stranger who got in the way of his frustrated fist. He learns the true meaning of "worse," however, when the man's wallet identifies him as a notorious public figure... a man with dangerous friends who may look unkindly at his untimely death.
Land Without Evil
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 41,240. Language: English. Published: July 12, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Colonial America, Fiction » Adventure » General
*Finalist - San Diego Book Award* Journey back two hundred and fifty years to a long forgotten world where nature speaks through plants and song pours forth from waterfalls as breathtakingly as a church choir sings Ave Maria. A place where the rhythm of a feathered rattle is believed to bring you closer to your creator. A world where mysticism and innate spirituality conflict with Christianity.
Sherlock Holmes: The Shadow From Beyond
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 59,910. Language: English. Published: July 3, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Traditional British, Fiction » Horror » Occult
Murder most foul!! Fans of Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes and H.P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos can rejoice as author Erik Branz has skilfully woven a rolling adventure that features the master sleuth and his trusty sidekick Doctor Watson confronting dark supernatural powers of the occult ! Horror awaits as the duo travel across Europe in attempt to save the world from the madman Count Lebda!!
Passing Storm
Series: The Sword and the Spirit Adventures, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,750. Language: English. Published: June 27, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Adventure
The threatening sky signals coming danger as a young boy is found dead at the pond’s edge. A terrible accident? What bizarre twist of a human mind is behind events? Will the grieving parents discover the truth they deserve? Bertram, Gautier, and Robert realize that all is not as it seems, including the fury of the passing storm. Passing Storm is Book II of The Sword and the Spirit Adventures.
Paxon Chute: A Novel about Life and Other Funny Things in the Texas Hill Country
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 81,740. Language: American English. Published: April 2, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary, Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
Renewed rumors of a lost treasure have brought more tourists than usual to the historic Texas Hill Country town of Paxon Chute and park ranger Edgar Rerd is overwhelmed. He’s also flat broke. Things look brighter when slick businessman Marlon Ezell returns home to pitch a chrome-plated development that could pay off big for Edgar, but at what expense to Paxon Chute and its quirky residents?
Change of Heart
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 56,420. Language: English. Published: March 7, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Romance » General, Fiction » Romance » Historical
The date is 1834. On his way home from work, Ethan a local farmhand, discovers a young girl lying on the road injured and unconscious and takes her to his neighbour Maggie to be cared for. When the girl awakes, they discover that she has amnesia and the mystery begins.
Millionaires' Row-The Legacy
Series: The Douglas Saga, Book 2. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 99,860. Language: English. Published: February 13, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA
(5.00)
America is in the midst of the industrial revolution and at the threshold of great social change. As Ian Douglas steers his empire into the modern age, he is forced to fight for his legacy. When a secret comes to light, he must fight for his family. This is a fast-paced tale of greed, corruption, and intrigue and the poignant story of a family that must come together to save an empire.
The Knight Behind The Pillar
Price: $1.49 USD. Words: 117,230. Language: English. Published: February 6, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Historical, Fiction » Adventure » Action
Tor, like the many other squires, he has a dream to one day become a knight. Yet today he was about to meet someone who would change everything, a similar aged squire who has just pulled a rusted old sword from some rock at a tournament and the crowd want a king! The start of a new life, new friendships and adventures as Tor discovers who he wants to be and if it is the life of a knight at all.