Books tagged: libraries

The adult filter is active; there may be additional content. To view this content, click the "Adult Content" button above to change your filtering option.

Found 41 results

The Library and the Lion
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 54,290. Language: English. Published: March 11, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy
A light fantasy tale of courage, adventure, and statues. Callin’s undergraduate life at Oxford University is full of study, clubs, competitions, and boy-troubles. But a dark secret within her college is about to change her world. Standing up for what is right will test her courage, loyalties, and friendships. That’s a lot to handle when exams are looming, and there's a lion involved...
Adventures in the Picture Book Collection: a Review of 25 Children's Books
Price: Free! Words: 3,410. Language: English. Published: February 12, 2014. Categories: Nonfiction » Reference » Personal & Practical Guides
Travel back to your childhood by enjoying 25 book reviews on items that can be found at your local library's Picture Book collection.
Information Literacy: A Gate or a Window?
Price: Free! Words: 19,330. Language: English. Published: December 17, 2013. Categories: Essay » Technology, Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Curricula
A collection of reflections about information and digital literacy practice in schools, libraries, museums, and informal learning settings.
Bibliotechnica
Price: Free! Words: 3,740. Language: English. Published: September 24, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Poetry » Themes & motifs
Bibliotechnica consists of twenty-five poems on libraries in a world of increasing change and automation, not always for the better, as observed by a bemused and not altogether unbiased participant. Read warily, or you might find them amusing — and read straight through. The effect is cumulative.
The Librarian's Daughter The Story of Abi VanHaven
Price: Free! Words: 58,880. Language: English. Published: September 21, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy, Fiction » Fantasy » Urban
(3.00)
Not All Books Were Meant To Be Checked Out… Magic scepters, enchanted wands, and poisoned darts aren’t usual implements used by librarians—unless you’re in charge of imprisoning bad wizards, renegade sorceresses and evil magicians into books. Keeping order among the enchanted community isn’t what nineteen-year-old Abi VanHaven had in mind of a career.
Get More Out of Your Fiction: A Mini Journal for Book Clubs, Libraries, and Book Lovers
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 260. Language: English. Published: August 28, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Romance » General, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
Learn more about yourself through fiction. This is a perfect companion guide to lead book club discussion and a wonderful guide for fans of Goodreads.com and Amazon.com. Perfect for all categories of romance, general fiction, young adult, and even mystery novels.
The Battle of the Books In Plain and Simple English (Translated)
Series: Plain and Simple English, Book 91. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 28,840. Language: English. Published: April 23, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
"The Battle of the Books" is considered one of the greatest political satires ever written. The essay is as hilarious today as it was hundreds of years ago...if you can understand it! If you have struggled in the past reading the satire, then BookCaps can help you out. We all need refreshers every now and then. Whether you are a student trying to cram for that big final, or someone just trying
Foley Russel and That Poor Girl
You set the price! Words: 22,660. Language: Australian English. Published: April 9, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Social Issues, Fiction » Children’s books » Health & Daily Living / Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries
When Foley Russel is assigned a book report and to meet a character from that book, he hopes for someone interesting like a circus midget or a Formula One driver. He's not anticipating a girl in a wheelchair, and he's certainly not expecting to like her. After all, she's not even normal, is she?
Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Information Literacy 
But Were Afraid to Google
Price: Free! Words: 28,200. Language: English. Published: December 18, 2012. Categories: Essay » Technology, Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Curricula
A collection of reflections about information and digital literacy practice in schools, libraries, support organizations, and informal learning settings.
Participatory Networks: The Library as Conversation
Price: Free! Words: 13,190. Language: English. Published: May 21, 2012. Categories: Nonfiction » Education and Study Guides » Organizations & institutions
Knowledge is created through conversation. Conversations can take place between friends and colleagues in the “here and now.” But, they can also take place over centuries, with the participants changing but the theme remaining the same, and the conversation being recorded in thousands of artifacts, like books, pictures, and digital files. In many conversations users need sophisticated processes to