Books tagged: memoir

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 904 results (Try using more keywords)

Teen Wisdom and Other Oxymorons
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 39,150. Language: English. Published: October 6, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » Essays & Travelogues
An anthology of real life stories and 27 surprising truths you will not learn in school. After over 1,000 volunteer hours, visits to all 50 states, and explorations behind the closed doors of many religions, Seventeen-year–old Zoe Rose Harness has a lot of tales to tell; the best of these accounts are in Teen Wisdom and Other Oxymorons.
A Gift from The Enemy
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 164,800. Language: English. Published: November 12, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » History » War, Nonfiction » History » War
A compelling story set in Italy during World War II as seen through the eyes of an adventurous Jewish boy, this unique memoir is told with humor and grace. During the period of the Holocaust, when his mother fears the Nazi hunt, the love of the boy for his Mutti is ever present even when a new man enters into their lives. Hope, laughter and love will guide you through this book.
Memoirs for Love and Profit
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 5,790. Language: English. Published: October 7, 2013 by CPublishing. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Yes, Barbra Streisand sang it best, didn't she? Maybe those words bring a tear to your eye as they do mine. Perhaps those tears are tinged with just a hint of regret that those memories will be lost when you are gone. We all have them. Memories. We all have stories to tell. Most often they come to mind triggered by a song, a touch or a photograph. But, too many of them are lost to time.
Betty's Child
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
Sixteen Vs, Book Three, The Adolescent Years
Series: Sixteen Vs, Book 3. Price: $1.50 USD. Words: 130,300. Language: English. Published: October 12, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Amazing life lessons, broken bones, getting shot at, and several other ‘firsts’ in Victor’s life make this an exciting phase of learning. A typical experimenting teenager trying to dodge the pitfalls of life while having fun. Breaking his vow, Victor is forced to quit school. Several life-threatening events will keep you glued to the pages, holding you in suspense, as you search for the outcome.
Coming Clean (A Short Memoir): My Journey Through OCD and Post-High School Depression
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 17,200. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Self-improvement » Anxieties & Phobias
Troubled by a mysterious and disturbing inner voice as a child and thinking she would never do anything worthy in her life as a teen, the author opens up about her OCD and post-high school depression with raw depth and vulnerability. Her story is a quick read full of humanity, candor, hope and inspiration, and can help guide anyone on a developing journey of self-growth.
Swearing in English
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 51,510. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Joseph Mallon. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
Long before they were written down, these stories were told and retold many times: to family, friends, strangers, anyone who would listen with an ear for a story. They share one thing in common - they are all true. Events, people, actions taken, words spoken, have been faithfully reproduced no matter how "tall" the tale. They follow the dictum that truth is stranger than fiction.
Everything I Never Wanted to Be
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 59,810. Language: English. Published: October 14, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
Everything I Never Wanted to Be is the true story of a family's battle with alcoholism and drug addiction. Any story filled with alcoholics and drug addicts includes a number of horrific events, but in the end, this is an uplifting story that can change behavior and save lives--and make you laugh along the way. "Raw and funny." -- Joel Stein, Time Magazine "Like a maelstrom." -- ForeWord Review
Father and Son: Thirty Years of Growing Up Together
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 44,300. Language: American English. Published: October 15, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Parenting » Childhood development, Nonfiction » Parenting » Childhood development
A chronicle of Joseph Sutton’s relationship with his son Ray, giving a year-by-year account of his thoughts and feelings for Ray as he grew from an infant into a man. Sutton’s fatherly concerns, insights, imperfections and range of emotions are openly revealed. Whether you’re a father, mother, son or daughter, you can benefit from reading about Sutton’s 30 years of growing up with his son.
Daughters of Absence
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 44,140. Language: English. Published: October 17, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir
A collection of essays by daughters of Holocaust survivors. Despite the unique pressures of being the daughters of "survivors," the contributors have thrived and made the most of their lives, but not in stereotypical ways. Instead, they chose ways that combine compassion with courage, and success with celebration. The result is an uplifting and inspiring book from a group of very inspiring women.