Books tagged: midwest

The adult filter is active; there may be additional content. To view this content, click the "Adult Content" button above to change your filtering option.

Found 116 results (Try using more keywords)

Rumrunners
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 74,850. Language: American English. Published: June 19, 2017 by Down & Out Books. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled
RUMRUNNERS by Eric Beetner. A McGraw Crime Novel (1st in series). “Eric Beetner seems to have a formula that he has used for every book he has published: Fun plot + believable characters + witty dialogue + breakneck pace = novel that knocks your socks off.” —Regular Guy Reading Noir
Grey Areas 3 & Grey Areas 4 (Box Set)
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 103,860. Language: English. Published: April 30, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Save money by buying Grey Areas 3 & 4 together! The story picks up where it left off in Grey Areas 2 and railroads ahead with each page turn, leading to an ending in Grey Areas 3 you will not see coming. Grey Areas 4 contains more drama and heartache but in the end the multiple storylines tie together, teaching some life lessons to everyone.
A Negro and an Ofay
Price: $8.99 USD. Words: 89,410. Language: American English. Published: May 15, 2017 by Down & Out Books. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Hard-Boiled, Fiction » African American fiction » Mystery & detective
A NEGRO AND AN OFAY by Danny Gardner. The Tales of Elliot Caprice. 1st in series. “Fans of Walter Mosley and George Pelecanos are going to devour Danny Gardner’s brilliant new book. A Negro and an Ofay breathes exciting new life into noir fiction.” —Jonathan Maberry.
Teratozoology 101
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,880. Language: English. Published: January 10, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Gay & lesbian fiction » Gay, Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
When lonely adjunct professor Nick moves from New York to a small, Midwestern town, he's trying to escape: bad relationships, bad dreams, and the city's monsters. He finds, though, that small towns have their own monsters. Real monsters.
Les Olibrius du Bongo Circus
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 50. Language: French. Published: November 6, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » Performing Arts / Circus
Dans les paisibles prairies du Midwest, le Bongo Circus enchaîne les spectacles avec toujours plus de succès. Le dompteur Harold et son lion Walter en sont l'attraction principale. Jusqu'au jour où débarquent Berthold et son tigre Waldo...
The Local Tourist's Guide to Navy Pier
Series: The Local Tourist's Guides to Chicago. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 10,150. Language: English. Published: July 27, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » By region
Chicago's Navy Pier is the Midwest's most popular destination, and for good reason! This playground for adults, kids, locals, and tourists offers 50 acres of dining, shopping, boating, theater, attractions, and so much more. It's no wonder that nearly ten million people visit every year! The Local Tourist's Guide to Navy Pier is the ultimate guide to Chicago's #1 attraction.
Western Chemistry: A Short Story
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 4,730. Language: English. Published: May 18, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Western
The morning breakfast table is the only place Karen expected to go before school. She hardly intends to end up in the Old West. How she'll get back to her quaint Midwestern life is this story altogether. AndrewStories proudly presents Western Chemistry, available now on Amazon and Smashwords.
Beyond the Gray Leaf: The Life and Poems of J.P. Irvine
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 20,600. Language: English. Published: June 1, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Literary biography, Fiction » Poetry » American poetry
Walt Whitman, John Burroughs, and J.P. Irvine all worked as clerks in Washington, D.C., after the Civil War. But Irvine, a small-town poet from Illinois, was the one selected to address President Grant and 10,000 spectators. Those words were lost, along with Irvine's legacy. Until now.
The Last Cowboy
Price: $2.99 $2.25 USD. (25% off!) Words: 61,230. Language: English. Published: April 8, 2016 by BWL Publishing Inc.. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Contemporary, Fiction » Romance » Western
Words mean things. And Samantha Turner should know that better than anyone. Associate editor of the Flanders Herald, she’s buried herself in word-smithing for the better part of a decade as she labors at her father’s newspaper.
Ohio Portraits Vol. 2: More Midwestern Micromemoirs
Series: Ohio Portraits. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 69,780. Language: English. Published: March 6, 2016. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs, Essay » Author profile
We are named after some two-bit nowhere of a place mentioned as an aside in the Bible. We are easily forgotten, but we are distinctive. We are shrinking. Our population is aging. Our schools are closing. We are falling apart. We are getting small. We are forgettable. But at least we still have NASA, our parents, the fairgrounds, and the Browns. It is a cheap place to live. A place to retire.