Books tagged: modern

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 271 results (Try using more keywords)

Breaking a Sunbeam
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 127,000. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
how far will a man go to save the woman he loves? most would say all the way until the day comes when fantasy becomes reality. breaking a sunbeam is modern day action-packed thriller with a touch of horror, vividly describing how ordinary people can risk everything and put their own lives in danger when a loved one is threatened.
Black Tie
Price: Free! Words: 21,370. Language: English. Published: September 26, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » General, Fiction » Adventure » General
(5.00)
Trapped in the desert you must unravel the mystery of the obelisk. Follow a man into a strange and secretive world as he fights to survive and to solve the puzzle of his own imprisonment.
Channel Zero
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 74,850. Language: English. Published: August 26, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Infidelity, drinking, work, lovers, family and friends— Channel Zero is a novel that deals with all of the compelling, provocative issues that we face every day. In the tradition of Raymond Carver, G.H. Thomason has written a moving, realistic portrait of Charlie and Linda Rivers and their friends as they struggle to make the right decisions and live with the consequences, when they don't.
The Hole Between Mine and Yours: Liquid Logic from a Dirty Tumbler
Price: Free! Words: 9,710. Language: English. Published: August 14, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Entertainment » Humor and satire, Fiction » Anthologies » Poetry - single author
(4.33)
Waves of words about science and sin
Generation 2K
Price: Free! Words: 1,470. Language: English. Published: August 1, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational
(5.00)
A fictional speech given some 50 years in the future to an audience born in the last 10-15 years of the 20th century, this short piece reflects a vision of a better tomorrow created by the hard work and dedication of my generation.
Black Dress
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 34,210. Language: English. Published: July 26, 2011 by YellowBay. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
(4.50)
With black dress – the saga of a girl whose fantasies lead to her being stalked by a killer (london arts council prize-winning story) and greek fire – a bored teacher tempted to sell his wife to a Greek goatherd (first published in the third alternative), comes this exciting collection of seven urban myths and nightmares by best-selling author clifford thurlow.
Confessions of a Velour-Shirted Man: Collected Stories
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 53,700. Language: English. Published: July 26, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Literature » Literary
No matter what modern angst ails you, there is always the curative power of surreal, modern, short fiction. If Rod Serling and Patricia Highsmith had a bastard child (and who's to say they didn't?) and that bastard started writing... well, the feverish results might be much like these unforced "Confessions."
I am a legend that is feared
Price: Free! Words: 550. Language: English. Published: July 20, 2011 by Logophile Press. Categories: Fiction » Poetry » U.K. Poetry
The first poem from Mr Grimez collection of poetry detailing the life and times of the wonderful Mr Grimez. Go on tuck in, this is poetry as you have never read before.
Night Caller
Price: Free! Words: 3,010. Language: English. Published: July 9, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Sci-Fi & fantasy, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories
Gary appears to be a normal man, bit of a night owl but friendly with his neighbours. Gary, however is a vampire who spends his evenings trawling the city for just the right person to feed on. Returning to his apartment in the city to watch some television before retiring for the day. A new neighbour has moved in next door however, who intrudes into Gary's life a little more
Deadborn
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 215,580. Language: English. Published: July 7, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Paranormal
Denver can be a haunted place, especially when you have an undead collector stalking you and a shambling horror is snatching kids. Being a monster fighter is a thankless job for El Walton: The world thinks he’s a social menace, an escaped mental patient is sleeping in his kitchen, and being a locksmith isn’t paying the bills. Things can’t get any worse...right?