Books tagged: neglected children

These results show books which have been specifically tagged with this keyword. You can also try doing a general search for the term "neglected children" .
You may also limit results to books that contain two tags.
Some content may be filtered out. To view such content, change your filtering option.

Found 9 results

No Gods, Masters or Drugs
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 11,830. Language: American English. Published: September 22, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Social Science » Sociology, Nonfiction » Social Science » True crime
This is a non-fiction book detailing the cyclical nature of substance abuse and child neglect/abuse that has happened in America for generations. Detailed inside are a brief explanation of each of the last three generations, a few brief looks into popular substances that are abused as well as a personal anecdote about my own family and how substance abuse has damaged it.
Don't You Tell
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 80,640. Language: English. Published: June 5, 2015 by Martin Sisters Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
In the course of her profession, social worker, Amber Walker, deals with tragedy on a daily basis. But when her own family is destroyed by a client she tried to help, she is tormented by guilt and loses faith in the goodness of humanity.
He.
Price: $5.00 USD. Words: 23,470. Language: English. Published: July 17, 2014. Categories: Poetry » Biography
"He." is a collection of experiences from the life of a young multicultural woman and the various men who influence the path her life takes.
A Fistful of Marigolds
Price: $1.00 USD. Words: 79,310. Language: English. Published: May 17, 2014 by Fishcake Publications. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
A new school term in 1973 and Kathy Johnson, thirty, unmarried and an overworked teacher in a primary school on a run-down council estate, needs a fresh start but is still haunted by a tragic secret from her past. However, the disadvantaged people of Becklefield have problems of their own and before long Kathy is irresistibly, compassionately and unwillingly drawn into their tumultuous lives.
Betty's Child
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 186,640. Language: English. Published: October 8, 2013 by Dream of Things. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
In the tradition of Frank McCourt and "Angela's Ashes," Don Dempsey uses "Betty's Child" to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist. "Heartrending and humorous." Kirkus Reviews
Behind the Curtains
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 42,660. Language: English. Published: August 31, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Inspirational
(5.00 from 1 review)
A novel about romance, family, and overcoming personal struggles, Behind the Curtains tells the story of a humble boy born on a small Caribbean island who suffered from abject poverty and was abandoned by his parents at an early age. Marked by the negative experiences of his childhood, he did all he could to overcome his past and follow the path to success. Based on a true story.
Pursuing Hope - A Journey From Sorrow to Triumph
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 60,050. Language: English. Published: January 28, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Christian » General
Follow the journey of a boy who faces an uncertain future of abuse and neglect. Abandoned at an orphanage Rick must learn to survive and ultimately finds faith, hope and healing.
I'm Prohibited
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 34,760. Language: English. Published: September 23, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Autobiographies & Memoirs
(5.00 from 2 reviews)
Enter the disturbing world of Syd, an innocent child plunged into a hell of domestic violence and abuse. Look through his eyes as he tries to make sense of mental illness, demonic possession and other taboos society would rather not confront. Carefully crafted together from the real life suffering of the author and two of his childhood friends, the narrative will grip you.
Once Upon a Summer
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 4,600. Language: English. Published: June 8, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Holiday » Humorous
Sissy, 6, and Jim, 8, have been sent to their father, the community drunk, for the summer, hoping to find food and a kind word from the man they barely know. Always hungry, obviously unwanted, Sissy repeats "Thank the Lord" at every meal, which their grandmother, aunt and uncle find obnoxious. When their father finally speaks to Sissy and Jim it is in the form of a strange goodbye.
Also check out some similar keyword tags authors have used: