Books tagged: northwest territories

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 7 results

The Lost Patrol
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 67,740. Language: English. Published: July 16, 2016 by AbsolutelyAmazingEbooks.com. Categories: Fiction » Adventure » Action, Fiction » Historical » Canada
Can men overcome their darkest nature and most compelling fears in this life, even if this struggle ultimately leads to their deaths? The wildly spectacular Arctic north of Canada is the setting for The Lost Patrol, a page from history Four men were led by Royal Northwest Mounted Police Inspector Francis J. Fitzgerald as they attempted to deliver annual reports and mail to the district office....
Oh! Canada!
Price: $6.49 USD. Words: 128,250. Language: English. Published: February 28, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » Camping and RVing
An American's three-month road trip through ten provinces of Canada and two territories. The adventures experienced, the wonders I saw and the people I met. I wanted to have fun and explore the country, but once I got there and took a good look around I realized there was much more there than scenery. The book relates the beauty of Canada and her people. I haven't met friendlier people anywhere.
Alaska by Motorcycle - are you sure you know what you are doing?
Series: Adventures of Airborne Andy, Book 1. Price: $3.95 USD. Words: 13,020. Language: English. Published: January 2, 2013. Categories: Nonfiction » Sports & outdoor recreation » Motorcycling, Nonfiction » Travel » Specialties & interests
A spirited motorcycle adventure that travels north from sunny California to the Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Alaska. “Alaska by Motorcycle – are you sure you know what you are doing?” is the daily journal of an avid motorcycle enthusiast who takes on a challenge that tests his courage, shapes his character and broadens his horizons.
A Wolf's Moon: A Helicopter Pilot's Story
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 58,520. Language: English. Published: May 10, 2012 by Agio Publishing House. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Personal memoir, Nonfiction » Biography » Adventurers & explorers
Set in the glorious mountains and plains of the Yukon, North West Territories, Alberta and British Columbia, A Wolf's Moon is a gripping account of Hank Sands' adventures during his 18 years piloting helicopters. Hank Sands joined the RCAF in 1956 and piloted the Canadian-built CF-100 all-weather fighter, before leaving the RCAF to fly helicopters for charter companies. He lives in Victoria, BC.
Vanishing Woman
Price: $1.49 USD. Words: 3,010. Language: English. Published: October 21, 2011 by Falcon Ridge Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Horror » Ghost, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
A man who loves a woman will always protect her. Even in death.
The Haunted Igloo
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 49,780. Language: English. Published: April 11, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions, Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
For someone afraid of the dark, living in the Arctic is a severe test of courage. Ten-year-old Jean-Paul struggles to hide his fear and adjust to life in the NWT, where he is taunted by a group of Inuit boys because of his lameness caused by a birth defect. Forced imprisonment in a "haunted" igloo proves to be one of the most severe challenges to face Jean-Paul in the harsh Arctic environment.
Spirit Lights
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 23,360. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Adventure, Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions
Spirit Lights is the second book in my Arctic Series and is the sequel to The Haunted Igloo, a middle-grade novel first published by Houghton Mifflin Company in 1991. It’s a coming-of-age story for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark, but discovers his best Inuit friend Chinook is terrified of the Northern Lights.