Books tagged: realism

The adult filter is active; content marked as adults-only by the author is not listed. To view this content, click the button below to disable the adult filter.

Found 51 results

New Age Psychopathy and Bourgeois Liberalism: A Socratic Dialogue
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 7,740. Language: English. Published: October 5, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Visionary & metaphysical
New Age Psychopathy and Bourgeois Liberalism: A Socratic Dialogue is a novelette, the bulk of which is a Socratic dialogue in which Steve, a man with an impeccable ability to understand the complex dynamics involved in mainstream society and fringe society today, paints a frightening picture of the unpleasant reality behind bourgeois mystical facades, and a possibly hellish future that may await.
The Tao of Flynn
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 12,010. Language: English. Published: September 30, 2011 by Imagination Fully Dilated Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » General, Fiction » Fantasy » Contemporary
Sometimes, a liar can be the most honest man in the room. Magic surrounds us all the time, but Richard wouldn't have believed it until he met Flynn, a self-avowed lying salesman who makes his way in the world by giving people what they want. A novelette: 12,000 words. Originally published in the April, 2004 edition of Realms of Fantasy Magazine.
Cooler than Jesus
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 53,370. Language: English. Published: September 27, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Relationships are rekindled and old friendships are tested when Boone unexpectedly returns to Oklahoma under mysterious circumstances after living in New York for a year and appearing on a reality TV show. In the tradition of Don DeLillo and Raymond Carver, Cooler than Jesus is a novel about twenty-something Americans who are detached and jaded, but also still searching for purpose.
Channel Zero
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 74,850. Language: English. Published: August 26, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Literary
Infidelity, drinking, work, lovers, family and friends— Channel Zero is a novel that deals with all of the compelling, provocative issues that we face every day. In the tradition of Raymond Carver, G.H. Thomason has written a moving, realistic portrait of Charlie and Linda Rivers and their friends as they struggle to make the right decisions and live with the consequences, when they don't.
Milestones
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 10,130. Language: English. Published: August 4, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Poetry » American poetry
Poetry by Gary Revel
Six Years in May
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 7,510. Language: English. Published: May 5, 2011 by FrostProof808. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » General
After the Inter-Arab War of 2139, there came The Purge. Now Jonathan Kirski, who believes his parents abandoned him, mines the mass graves in the Siberian fields for the bones of his ancestors, and the only clue he has to the truth are his recurring nightmares. In that frozen tundra, the bodies don't decay. The faces remain, staring, accusing.
Down and Off
Price: Free! Words: 1,540. Language: English. Published: April 28, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Literature » Plays & Screenplays, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
(4.00)
People are not always the people you thought they were. Life, never runs the course you had planned. If only you could turn it all off.
Strata
Price: Free! Words: 2,560. Language: English. Published: April 27, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Plays & Screenplays » American
Hampstead wakes with a clouded thought hanging from the precipice of his mind. It is unclear what it is. All he knows he must dig in his yard to find the answers.
Teenage Gunslinger
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 50,140. Language: English. Published: April 3, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Graphic novels & comics » General, Fiction » Plays & Screenplays » American
This is a story of a teenage boy who's father and mother were brutally murdered by renegade cowboys in the Old West. When he reaches age 18 he sets out to try to find the killers and on his five-year odyssey he becomes a noted fast-gun killer and runs info many problems in his multi-state manhunt.
Postmodernist Reality: Postmodernist Fiction, Realism, and the Representation of Reality
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 21,290. Language: English. Published: March 20, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Philosophy » Movements / Realism, Nonfiction » Philosophy » Movements / Critical theory
This eloquent introduction to postmodernism explores how post-war British fiction reinvents and re-evaluates the literary conventions of Realism. By focusing on the modes postmodern Bristish novelists approach the relations between past and present, the elusiveness of history, and the distortions of memory, the author shows how Realism is extended to portray multiple realities.