Books tagged: washington

The adult filter is active; there may be additional content. To view this content, click the "Adult Content" button above to change your filtering option.

Found 193 results (Try using more keywords)

Burn Pile
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 22,680. Language: English. Published: June 23, 2011 by House of Lit. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author, Fiction » Anthologies » Horror
Twelve strange and creepy tales. A secret on the island. People vanishing in the night. Neighbors linked by an undying dog, a mysterious trailer, and something twisted hiding in the barley field. Your friends have a dark side. Do you smell what's smoldering in the burn pile?
My Administration
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 4,360. Language: English. Published: June 21, 2011 by Green Snake Publishing. Categories: Fiction » Humor & comedy » General
Forget 15 minutes of fame. What about 15 minutes of pure power? In the future everyone will have a chance to be president. The only catch is your term of office will last only one quarter of one hour. What can anyone, even the most powerful person in the world, do in 900 seconds? One man finds out and tells his whole glorious story to the world.
The Old One
Price: Free! Words: 18,300. Language: English. Published: June 16, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Horror » General
(3.78)
A man finds himself stranded in a small Pacific Northwest town when a landslide blocks the highway. Over the next few days he meets the locals, learns about the area's history, and discovers a terrible secret in the woods. A horror story in the tradition of King and Lovecraft.
The Normandy Appointment
Series: Mac, Book 2. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 92,620. Language: English. Published: June 10, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
(5.00)
2nd in the series. The war on terror was now a decade old with no further attacks on the US, but with growing suicide bombings. Pres. Matthews, in office for two years, is invited by the French President to attend D-Day ceremonies at Omaha Beach. A French terrorist group has resolved to assassinate the US president, and CIA operatives have only five weeks to stop it. Also, a surprise ending.
Grayfield
Series: Mac, Book 1. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 122,940. Language: English. Published: June 7, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
(5.00)
1st in the series. In an era of rising government entitlements, the executive branch takes a bold, sinister and secret move to develop a biological compound to convert America's gene pool from one of normal genes to defective ones, generating disease and eventual death. That goal, if reached, would reduce or completely eliminate entitlements being paid, since few would ever reach retirement age.
21st Century U.S. Military Documents: Army Military Intelligence History Sourcebook - Comprehensive History from George Washington to the Civil War, World War I and II, and Desert Storm
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 253,890. Language: English. Published: May 17, 2011. Categories: Nonfiction » Politics and Current Affairs » Terrorism, Nonfiction » History » Military
This is a comprehensive history of Army intelligence from George Washington (America's First Spymaster) through the Civil War, World War I and II, and Desert Storm. Some of the topics: Pearl Harbor; Indian Wars; Aerial Reconnaisance; Signal and Human Intelligence (SIGINT, HUMINT); Enigma; UAVs, and much more.
Widow's Row
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 83,930. Language: English. Published: May 9, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Breecie Lemay fears the gun hidden in her father's staircase is the same weapon that killed her mother. In search of the truth, she's thrust into a world of her father's only true legacy... lies. Warnings become death threats because she knows too much. She knows nothing. She can trust no one.
Widow's Row
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 83,930. Language: English. Published: May 8, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » General
Breecie Lemay fears the gun hidden in her father's staircase is the same weapon that killed her mother. In search of the truth, she's thrust into a world of her father's only true legacy... lies. Warnings become death threats because she knows too much. She knows nothing. She can trust no one.
The Parks of Washington
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 18,370. Language: English. Published: May 2, 2011 by Park Partners, Inc. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » National Parks
Award-winning author Nicky Leach's essays illuminate the extraordinary beauty of this evergreen landscape-a region that is both enticing and forbidding-providing the reader with a more complete understanding of this sublime landscape. Mount Rainier, Mount St. Helens, Olympic, North Cascades and the Columbia River Gorge are but a few of the highlights of this journey.
Mount St. Helens: The Rebirth of Mount St. Helens
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 15,080. Language: English. Published: April 29, 2011 by Park Partners, Inc. Categories: Nonfiction » Travel » National Parks
On the morning of May 18, 1980, one of the most perfectly formed volcanic peaks in the Cascade Range of the Northwest erupted. Nine hours later Mount St. Helens had lost 1,300-feet from its peak, 230 square miles of pristine forest had been destroyed, and a cubic mile of the mountain had been erupted 12 miles into the atmosphere. This is the story of that day, the mountain, and its recovery.